Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Shelby Griffiths

Shelby Griffiths
Shelby Griffiths  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
y


Reviews

2016 Bohème "English Hill Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-16-2020
Boheme's English Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir captures all that I love from the Sonoma Coast. Bursting from the glass with juicy, fresh black cherries and blueberries, it's elegantly balanced with notes of lilacs, forest floor, and hints of cinnamon. I am happy we are able to offer this wine at such an outstanding value. Bring it home and have it help elevate your dinner plans to a Michelin-level experience for the weekend.
Price: Hidden View Price

2019 Massican Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-15-2020
This Sauvignon Blanc immediately drew my attention in with its fragrant complexity of orange blossoms, lychee, lemon rind, wet river stone and hints of ocean brine. While the texture only solidifies even further the attention to detail and quality of this wine with the laser sharp focus, and mouthwatering brightness that supports how well this wine will evolve over time. Immensely fresh, and enjoyable now with some time to breathe. But you will definitely be rewarded for your patience if you can hold onto a few bottles over the next few years.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2019 Groundwork (Sans Liege) Paso Robles Picpoul Carbonique
Review Date: 07-12-2020
Picpoul is mostly known for its centuries old, indigenous roots down in the Pinet area of the Languedoc. A zippy floral variety that endearingly translates to "lip-stinger". When the LA heatwaves kick up, I always find myself turning to Picpoul to help combat the summer heat, and Groundwork has solidified that even more with this creative, refreshing, and incredibly crushable take on Picpoul. Skin contact helps bring out the the savory and floral notes like peony tea, cumin flowers, and acacia, and is balanced out with mouthwatering notes of white grapefruit & kumquat. This wine has such a unique nose that perfectly captures summer in a glass that I find myself revisiting it often, maybe a little too often, because before I know it, its time for another refill. Bring a bottle (or 3) home and make 2020 the summer of Picpoul & patios.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Carmel Road Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-09-2020
Carmel Road continues to be a standout producer from the Monterey area, consistently encapsulating the cool, foggy, coastal influences the region is known for in their wines. This selection comes from their vineyard based at the foothills of the Santa Lucia Mountains, drawing in the earthy structured minerality and warm sunny exposure the foothills can provide, all while maintaining its bright freshness from the fog kissed mornings. Dark berry fruits and zippy cranberries first jump out in the glass, with layers of warm earthiness, nutmeg, and vanilla drawing you in further. Carmel Road has become a staple in my home- it makes a great impression when entertaining friends, but is also a go to for curling up on the couch with my latest tv show.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2019 Giant Steps Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-01-2020
I decided to try a fun experiment while settling down with this wine the other night, by playing the album Phil Sexton was inspired to name it after, John Coltrane's 'The Giant Steps'. I was curious to see if I could sense the correlation he felt between the two. The bright and focused structure immediately drew in my attention, with playful notes of hazelnut, brioche, zesty citrus, and smooth wet stones dancing around in the glass. A pure expression of the cool tones that make Chardonnay sing in the Yarra Valley. There is a reason why Giant Steps stands out as one of the iconic producers in the region, and like Coltrane, I see them influencing generations of producers yet to come.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 J. Wilkes "Highland District" Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-01-2020
What I have loved about J. Wilkes wines over the years is how they showcase the fresh and vibrant side of Paso Robles that is sometimes forgotten when people think of the region. The 'Highlands District' Cabernet Sauvignon is a perfect cab to enjoy now with its fresh, juicy dark fruits, touches of fresh herbs, and hints of purple flowers, while still delivering that silky smooth texture a cab lover seeks out. This wine will easily become one of my patio sippers while grilling on these warm summer nights, and at a great price to keep stocked on hand at home.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dewey's "Barsotti Vineyard" El Dorado County Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 06-28-2020
I find the influx of attention that a new generation of winemakers is giving to the terroir rich vineyards of Sierra Foothills is an ecstatically energizing moment in California wine. Dewey hit the nail on the head with this pure expression of what high elevation Cabernet Franc can do. Sourced from the pink granite rich Barsotti vineyard, managed by sought after father & son team, Ron & Chuck Mansfield with an almost zen attention to detail, it is easy to see the correlation of intention & terroir in this wine. A nimble balance of red cherries, perfumed violets, fresh alpine herbs, green bell pepper, white pepper, and crunchy crushed rocks fill the glass while gracefully battling between its ethereal approach, and grippy finish. Those who enjoy spending a few hours watching how a wine evolves will be greatly rewarded with the subtle intricacies this Cabernet Franc reveals.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart

2017 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-04-2020
An incredible value for a solid Oregon Pinot. This wine is bursting with crunchy black cherries, fallen autumn leaves, wet stones, and hints of coco. Its sleek and smooth structure makes this inviting wine a perfect match to keep on hand at home for dinners throughout the week, or for unwinding during the weekend.
Price: $17.95 Add To Cart

2018 Haarmeyer "SRV" Clarksburg Chenin Blanc
Review Date: 04-04-2020
Growing up in the Sacramento area, many of my summers were spent with my cousins at their house in Clarksburg. A small river delta town no one has ever heard of 15 minutes south of downtown. Where at the time, the stretch of vineyards that crisscrossed the expanse were the mere backdrop for our day long excursions on our bikes. Until the powerful Delta breeze kicked up and brought us racing back home to fight the chill in our bones as night fell. For years 90% of the grapes grown in Clarksburg (Which has been an AVA since 1985) were sold to wineries outside the area, never allowing the region to fully take off and celebrate its heritage vines. But thanks to winemakers now, like Craig Haarmeyer, this hidden gem of terroir nestled in the delta is taking flight. Haarmeyer strikes gold with the old vine Chenin Blanc vineyards of the area, crafting powerfully expressive wines that resonate a sense of place.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 Irene "El Dorado" Sierra Foothills Mourvèdre
Review Date: 04-03-2020
Winemaker Brian Jessen immediately saw the potential in the Sierra Foothills with its cooler climate, high elevation sites & the unique volcanic, decomposing granitic soils the area had to offer. An ultimate match for crafting richly flavorful, intricately structured terroir driven wines from Rhone varieties. Irene's Mouvedre is a refreshing, bright expression of the variety that can be enjoyed now- with notes of crunchy red plums, strawberries, mountain herbs, touches of anise, and stony minerality that will leave your mouth watering for more.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2017 Precedent "Enlightenment Mountain Vineyard" Mendocino County Chenin Blanc
Review Date: 04-03-2020
The vineyards of Enlightenment Mountain are some of the oldest Chenin Blanc vineyards in California, dating back over 40 years! Planted within the City of Ten Thousand Buddhas, an international Buddhist community in Mendocino, the vineyards are organically farmed on Redvine sandy, clay loam soil creating a mineral rich and deeply textured style of Chenin Blanc. Aromas & flavors of melon, yellow apples, fresh fuzzy peaches, chamomile, and touches of herbs make this rare gem rival wines you might associate with parts of the Loire Valley.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Leviathan California Red Blend
Review Date: 03-25-2020
A lush powerhouse of a wine to curl up and get cozy with on a cool night. Filled with warm aromas of red plums, black, cherries, dried orange peel, lightly smoked rhubarb, and cardamom. The palate is inviting, adding rich, chewy notes of mocha, cola, and vanilla. This wine is the embodiment of coming home to a warm, crackling fire on a chilly night with the smell of fresh baked goods wafting throughout the home.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2018 Stoller Estate Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-25-2020
A fresh, juicy expression of Pinot Noir from Oregon. On the nose bright red cherries, raspberries, hints of blackberry bramble, & nutmeg, with a stony touch on the palate. An excellent Pinot to keep on hand at home for drinking now, this refreshing lighter wine can easily become your go to red for the warmer months ahead.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart

2017 Whitcraft "My Friend Matt's Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 03-25-2020
Drake Whitcraft's wines have acclaimed a cult following over the years, with particular attention to his Pinot Noirs, Syrahs, & Chardonnays. The wines carry an inherent attribute that can only be traced back to Whitcraft, an ethereal signature of Drake's true hands-off approach in his winemaking style. Mentored by Burt Williams, Drake learned "Buy good grapes, get them to the barrel and don’t mess it up." This Syrah carries airy notes of lavender, blackberries, black olives, black pepper, & wild herbs. Incredibly vibrant with a graceful body, and still packing a powerful structure one would seek in Syrah. Whitcraft wines are a true expression of the diverse terroir California has to offer, and this Syrah is no exception.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2018 Leah Jørgensen Cellars Southern Oregon Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 03-21-2020
Leah Jorgensen has captivated the attention of the wine world for her commitment & passion to Cabernet Franc, a varietal she endearingly refers to as her "Cinderella grape". She has put this variety on the map in Southern Oregon with many wine critics claiming her Cabernet Franc rivals the best expressions of the old world. I am certainly not one to disagree with any of them. This Cabernet Franc echos levels of depth with classic notes of jalapenos, strawberries, chalky minerality, but unique notes like marigolds, tajin, and sweet spicy habanero. These innovating wines will undoubtedly capture your attention and your heart.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Can Mayol Loxarel "Reserva Familiar" Brut Nature Classic Penedes
Review Date: 03-05-2020
This Spanish sparkler is one to give Champagne a run for its money! Incredibly crisp and finely textured. This brut nature delivers salty, citrus, apricot notes, with hints of nutty flor-like characteristics that add to its complexity. This wine has a lot of personality that foils the likes of the great grower-producer Champagnes, but comes to you for half of the price!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Epoch "Veracity - Paderewski Vineyard" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 03-05-2020
A textbook example of how Paso Robles is a shining star for Rhone varieties in California! This nod to traditional blends of southern Rhone sings out with its lush texture, and sleek tannins seamlessly integrated into its structure. Rich strawberries, blackberries, underbush, and spicy pepper aromas complement and add to the wine's stony minerality and hits of citrus peels found on the palate. Those who are admirers of wines from Linne Calodo, and Saxum- Epoch is one to be on your watch! Their "Veracity" is an stunning value that will lift the hearts of Rhone lovers alike!

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel "#4478 (Warehouse O, Floor 1)" Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-23-2020
I am always blown away by the complexity and value our barrel picks have to offer, and this pick from Old Forester is no exception! The nose offers uplifted notes of tangerines, cherry blossom & pith, with a touch of light brown sugar. The palate at the start is so plush and creamy vanilla, finishing with a snap of raw almonds and nutmeg. A barrel pick like this would make a great gift for any fans of Old Forester, or whisky lovers alike!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Bernard Lonclas Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Forget about White Claw this summer! It's all about Lonclas! This 100% Chardonnay has all of the elegance and grace you would seek from a Blanc de Blancs, but it also has some power that carries, like the precise, toned muscles of a ballet dancer. The touches of salinity married with the texture of that limestone minerality just beg to have this champagne be apart of the table. This wine is an absolute steal at this price, and it's going to be my first pick for many of my summertime cookouts.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2018 Diatom "Bar-M" Los Alamos Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-10-2020
This Chardonnay is incredibly fresh! My immediate thought was how well this wine would complement a light spring or summer supper. The wine gives vibrant notes of citrus fruits, green plums, lime leaves, orange blossom, and finishes with a crisp touch of salty minerality. This wine has me longing for the warmer weather to come, and will be the perfect companion for all of your favorite outdoor activities!

Ki No Bi Kyoto Japanese Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2020
The art of this Ki No Bi gin is the subtly of the building complexity on the palate. The nose at first gives the allusion of being a classic dry gin, but then the exotic botanicals slowly start to reveal- yuzu, cypress, bitter tea. There is a wholesome, round mouthfeel, bringing a sense of unity to the experience. I would enjoy this on its own, or as the secret ingredient for a refreshing, yet complex, cocktail recipe.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-06-2020
Imagine yourself on a sunny Spring day relaxing in a green field under the shade of a blossoming orange tree. You bite down into a juicy green pear, as a gentle cool breeze wafts over aromas of the recently drizzled landscape under your nose, refreshing, and clean, it invigorates all of your senses. In short, this is how I felt after tasting Hartford Court's Russian River Chardonnay, uplifted, alive, completely in balance.

Patrice Colin "Perles Grises" Methode Ancestrale Brut
Review Date: 10-25-2019
This is an incredibly fun and unique pet-nat made 100% from Pineau d'Aunis! Super crisp, with intense, mouthwatering notes of fresh red berries and salted plums, complemented by a savory pepper component, and rounded out with a touch of smokiness. I have never had a wine quite like it, and was overjoyed to be able to get my hands on this hard-to-find variety coming out of the Loire. This is one to show and share with your friends — that is, if you don't finish it all by yourself first.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart