Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Shelby Griffiths

Shelby Griffiths
Shelby Griffiths  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
y


Reviews

2017 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 09-19-2019
An incredibly complex wine at an even more incredible value! A nose of lantern cherries, almond blossom, wet river rock, with a little smoke and sourdough to really make this an extrodinary wine. Crispy and refreshing this wine is great to drink now, but this would also be a fun one to lay down and revisit in a few years.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Jim Barry "Lodge Hill" Dry Riesling Clare Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-19-2019
If you find youself enjoying the world of dry Rieslings and are curious to try what Australia has to offer, this is an excellent introduction! This wine is powerfully fragrant with notes of dried lime, yuzu, white blossoms, & melon rinds. It is quite juicy, but clean and focused with a nice zippy finish of minerality to close it out.

2018 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse Greece
Review Date: 09-18-2019
This wine makes me want to go out to the farmers market, get a bunch of fresh produce, and make a nice fresh veggie dinner. The wine has an incredible floral and savory rosemary component that is married by a kiss of salinity. So crisp and refreshing, I feel I could spend a whole lazy afternoon outdoors with it. I think I found my next picnic companion.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 RP 90

2018 Aurore Dezat Sancerre
Review Date: 09-04-2019
This wine is fresh to the max! Delightfully zippy, bursting with citrus, touches of wheatgrass & ending with that crisp mineral finish you expect from a great Sancerre. It's the prefect refreshment for the rest of the summer, and I think I might have just found my new post run treat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2013 Giesen 'Clayvin' Single Vineyard Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-30-2019
My eyes were truly opened when our New Zealand buyer Tom presented us with a side by side tasting of Pinot Noir from different producers coming from the Clayvin Vineyard. This Giesen stood out in particular, and in fact, immediately transported me back to a beautifully aged Pommard I had enjoyed earlier that week upon my first smell of the glass. Beautifully elegant with refreshing raspberries, and flowers, all while concealing touches of that rustic meatiness & raw coco expertly layered in. I would love to sit down with a bottle of this wine and watch it evolve over the course of an evening. What I derived the most from this experience Tom shared with us, is that myself and others need to be paying more attention to what New Zealand has to offer. Serious wines for an incredibly serious value.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bilancia "La Collina" Syrah Hawke's Bay New Zealand
Review Date: 08-30-2019
I will say it: I love Syrah. I have explored the world through glasses from the Rhone, the Barossa, and all the way to Amador, but I have truly never experienced a Syrah quite like this one before. This wine is intense and powerful! The structure sends your palate on thrill ride like a roller coaster, demanding your attention and keeping you on the edge of your seat. But at the same time there is a warm familiarity to this wine. Loads of savory spices, white and black pepper, fennel, mint... it brought me back to the much-anticipated dinners of my grandma's homemade fried chicken. And just like the chicken, my family and friends will be fighting for the last bits of this Syrah too.

2016 Xavier Vignon "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 08-14-2019
I was first exposed to Xavier Vignon through his Chateauneuf-du-papes during my time in restaurants. Even then I was amazed by the level of complexity and depth his wines delivered, and this Cotes du Rhone is no exception. The 2016 is incredibly vibrant with notes of fresh strawberries, savory underbrush, and an incredibly complex mineral component that leaves my mouth watering, and wanting more. This wine is begging for a nice home cooked meal to accompany it, and it's coming home with me.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2017 J. Wilkes Santa Maria Valley Pinot Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2019
I enjoyed the J. Wilkes Pinot Blanc during an outdoor dinner party with friends, and it was the perfect start to our evening. The wine is incredibly versatile and pairs well with an array of foods. It possesses a nice crisp, savory, saline character that gets your mouth watering, preparing you for the meal to come. But then evolves into a rounded, honeyed, stone fruit expression that carries you through your meal. Refreshing, and elegant, this will be one of my top wines for spending relaxing evenings outdoors this summer.
Price: $17.95 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Maillet, Pomerol
Review Date: 07-14-2019
Pomerol with power! The 2016 from Maillet is an elegant and plush wine with beautiful structure to carry it along across your palate. Delivering ripe black cherries, summer plums, with hints of violets and warm baking spices, this Bordeaux is set to capture your heart. This wine would make a great introduction to Bordeaux for any admirer of Napa wines curious about what France has to offer.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 92