Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Andrew Tobin

Andrew Tobin

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Domaine Vincent Carême Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 01-10-2020
Loire is easily producing some of the most interesting wines for the price anywhere in the world, and this is no exception. Full and almost tropical, the nose jumps out of the glass with green vegetal notes, guava and pineapple, grapefruit, and a slight flinty quality. The palate hits you like a wave with beautiful viscosity, the tropical fruit it up front but quickly fades towards bitter fruit rind, once again green vegetal notes, and the the flint is all over the finish. Vouvray for those who know is always an amazing buy for the money, this is a perfect example of the style and should be on everyone's "to try" list!

2016 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Garnacha Rioja
Review Date: 01-07-2020
Deep, dark, brooding, confident, these are all words that come to mind upon first approach to this lovely little number. I adore Grenacha for so many reasons not the least of which is it's unbelievable complexity for the price tags. Upon first whiff the wine is loaded with purple and black fruits, baking spice, sweet tobacco, and new leather. The palate is wonderfully medium bodied with some bright black fruited acid that gives was to black olives, pepper, a dusty overtone, with a bit of mushroom. Rioja is one of the great wine regions of the world for a reason, and here is all the evidence you'll ever need of that!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek 12 Year Old Small Batch 100 Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2020
Knob Creek has always been a great choice if you're at a bar with a moderate whiskey selection, spicy, nutty, easy-going, what's not to love? Never anything to blow you away, but a perfect little sipper...until this powerhouse was released. I picked up a bottle out of pure curiosity as it had a hefty age statement for bourbon at this price point and I think I finally understand Knob Creek. Dripping in rich spice and caramel, the mouth is round and luscious, there is a note of cherry wrapped up in the middle right between the spice and the nutty finish. I'm amazed that more people haven't jumped on this bottle!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos de Luz "Massal 1945" Malbec Rapel Valley
Review Date: 01-03-2020
Earlier today I was discussing the curious uptake in Malbec's popularity among my peers. Not curious in a displeasing way by any means as I love Malbec, but the fact that it seems to have become a staple above juicier, richer reds. Maybe it's the price, maybe it's that people are becoming more interested in less fruit forward wines, who knows. Either way I was thrilled when our South America buyer Kirk Walker poured me a glass of this and said coyly "what do you think it is?". Intensely forward the nose opens with red fruit that quickly turns dark and dense. Notes of black pepper, decaying violet, and tobacco followed. Equally intense, the palate has a rather salty cured-meat-like center with those lovely violet notes, fading into sweet tobacco with a hint of funky tar. This is why Malbec is becoming a fast favorite!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos de Luz "Massal 1945" Carménère Rapel Valley
Review Date: 01-03-2020
If this isn't the perfect storm of underappreciated wine that deserves everyone's attention than I don't know what is. It's a rare day that I don't bring up Carmenere with a customer or two looking for a bottle to try, and South America in general is not given the respect it deserves. Nowhere else int eh world does wine of this caliber come at this price. Opening with black and purple fruit, the nose is rich, full of violet, a slight meatiness of dry-aged steak, and delicate spice. Medium bodied, the palate is dark and concentrate with some salinity, fruit up front that quickly turns towards bitter baker chocolate, char, and elegant spice. This is a wine that should be on your radar!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Hugel "Schoelhammer" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Review Date: 12-18-2019
Wines like this really make the job that we're so privileged to do special. I will admit I am a massive fan of Riesling so a bottle like this makes me rubber neck every time I walk by. The nose is subtle but divine with hints of ginger, pear, golden apple and a touch of petroleum. The palate is lean and complex, the flavors start off with bright orchard fruit, quickly moved towards baking spice and ginger, and the the minerality grabs on and takes you for a ride. If ever there was an example of why Alsace is one of the great wine regions of the world this is it. You will savor every sip and find something new hiding behind every drink you take.

2007 Fine Pot Distilled Jamaican (Monymusk) 11 Year Old "Thompson Bros." K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-13-2019
This is one serious bottle of Rum. I can't tell you how long it spent aging in the tropics but I can certainly tell you that it spent some time in Scotland, and it shows! The nose is powerful and full with just a hint of the Jamaican funk we love so much but the palate, the palate really has something to say! Almost more like a single malt, this Rum makes me think less of rum funk and more of the Islay brine. Rum drinkers delight, you have another bottle that is a must for your collection and to all our Scotch drinkers out there, this will be a rum to turn your head!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Glenlivet 12 Year Old "Signatory Unchillfiltered Collection" 1st Fill Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-02-2019
What an outstanding Sherry Cask Scotch! Rich and lush on the nose with notes of plum and dates, hazelnut chocolate, and a hint of caramel. The palate does not feel like 125.8 proof at all, definitely warm but very balanced the fruit lingers, the malt is well integrated with the sweeter notes, and the finish is long and intense. This has to be one of the best single casks we have gotten in recently and I can't imagine it will last very long!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge "Les Echezots"
Review Date: 12-01-2019
I had a chance to sit down with a bottle of this today to write this review, and while I was taking my notes I shared a glass with one of my colleagues who's only comment was "Dang, that's really good" which quite frankly is the most succinct way to describe this wine. Full of fruit and rose pedals on the nose the wine is elegant and lingering. The palate is soft, vibrant and velvety with hints of cherry, blueberry, and rose water on the finish. For anyone looking for an elegant red burgundy without spending an arm and a leg this has to be on your radar. Great with food, easy to approach on its own, and just plain good!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Terroir al Limit "Torroja" Priorat
Review Date: 11-26-2019
For those of you in the know Priorat needs no introduction, but for the uninitiated this is a gem of a region that never seems to get the attention that its cousin to the northwest, Rioja, gets. This blend of Garnacha Tinta, with just a splash of Cinsault, has a nose full of strawberry and licorice candy, cracked black pepper, dust, and a note of redwood bark. Nostalgic, warm, and welcoming, this wine is so inviting! The palate is rustic. A bright hit of red fruit fades quickly into the pepper, and smoked wood notes come through with hints of cured meat. A savory finish. Medium-bodied reds like this are always so much more approachable and equipped for a wide variety of circumstances, it amazes me they aren't the most popular wines in the world!

2015 Galia "Clos Santuy" Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Every winemaker has a voice, a little something in all of their wines that, if you pay close attention, is there almost like a signature on a piece of art. Mr. Bougnaud has this in spades with this savory umami, soy quality that is just so enticing. Unmarred by unnecessary oak, the wine is beautifully balanced, bold, and velvety; with rich, dark blackberry, plum skin, and a hint of chocolate. The wine has seemingly no end, evolving to a warm and winter spiced note on the back palate with a touch of leather and tobacco. I have heard Tinto Fino compared to Barolo before and I now understand why. What a bottle!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Galia "Villages" Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Well, I have to admit I'm perplexed, the wine is amazing, but not at all what I was expecting upon first approach. The nose is spiced, beautifully so with rich dark fruit, muddled baking spice, and an enticing hint of an ever-so-savory something. The palate on the other hand is much bolder, live with velvety tannin, dark graphite, a hint of fruit, and a savory soy finish that lingers and softens into a warm inviting back palate, daring you to come back and explore further. Unique, but not unfamiliar, the Galia Villages is a must have for Spanish wine lovers!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Tamdhu 19 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2019
I find that I am a rather moody drinker, I appreciate many different styles of beverages but my preference changes daily. There are few spirits that I will ever turn down, but also few that I consistently find myself in the mood for, one of which is a dram of lighter, elegant Scotch. Whether as an after dinner drink or out to a bar with friends, it always seems to do the job and this new Tamdhu absolutely nails that space! A lovely nose of rich sweet rolls, hay, an underlying fresh grass, and vanilla the whiskey is warm and welcoming. The palate is round and light with a nice amount of yeasty bread, that vanilla, fresh cut hay, and sweet glaze. Add a splash of water and it tames down just a bit and softens up beautifully. This might be a new go to for me!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Navy Strength Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2019
This will definitely be finding a way into my liquor cabinet at home after tasting it. Exactly what you want from a good high proof dark rum, rich, spiced, ever so slightly tropical with just a hint of funk on the end this is delicious, and for the price needs to be in everyone's holiday selection. Whether for cocktails or for something higher proof to sip on, this bottle punches way above its price range!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1995 Caperdonich 24 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Unchillfiltered Speyside Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2019
Ghost distilleries are becoming a bit of a cult fascination in the last few years, so much so that even Johnnie Walker is cashing in on the idea with their Ghost & Rare line. With several famous distilleries being forced to close their doors in the late 70's and early 80's and we are seeing some of the last juice ever produced by these wonderful houses. Now the price is something to balk at until you consider the age and rarity of this whiskey, you won't be able to find it again. the nose is fruity with hints of orange peel, peach, cherries, and hazelnut chocolate. The palate bursts with chocolate, spice, candied orange peel and a int of coffee at the end. For collectors this is priceless, and as we approach the holiday season those looking for a gift that will be unforgettable for the whiskey drinker in your life, this is a sure winner!
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2004 Ardbeg 15 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Ex-Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Unchill-filtered Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2019
Once while out with friends I decided to order a dram of the ever popular Uigeadail with my dinner. I offered one friend a taste and they immediately followed with the note that "it tastes like an oil spill on the ocean", one which I will never forget. As I approached this glass that always lives in the back of my mind because Ardbeg is a personal favorite and has such a range of whiskeys and profiles. My first reaction is how sweet, soft and inviting the nose is with notes of fresh vanilla, baked scones, and clotted cream. Salted apple, baking spice and pie crust come out on the second and third wiff which makes me more excited for the palate. For it's proof this doesn't bit back at all, very warm clearly the palate is savory. spiced, and herbaceous like a roast. Salt and a bit of olive brine are present but fade quickly towards rich and round wood and with a lingering hint of smoked maple bacon. Ardbeg has always had my heart and palate, and this is a wonderful addition to their lineage!
Price: $239.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Antigua Classico Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-08-2019
Built on a base of Grenache (60% Grenache finished out by 30% Tempranillo and 10% Graciano) this Rioja Alta wine stands alone in it's production. Exactly what you would want from a Rioja alta the wine is beautifully dusty and savory with notes of fig, plum, but made entirely unique by the clear orange peel finish that can only be brought by truly great Granache. I am a sucker for Rioja and when something unique like this comes in that checks all my boxes and then keeps adding to it, I can't help but be excited! Whether you are looking for a medium bodied red for dinner or something to have on any old evening (that won't kill you with tannin) this has to be one you grab at!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-08-2019
We had the privilege of tasting with the winemaker of Antech, Francoise which is always a special reminder of how much work and care goes into every single one of these amazing wines. The Emotion Rose is not just a staff favorite here but one of our best sellers for a clear reason. Fresh, bright, full of strawberry but with the freshness of a white wine, I can not say enough good things about this bottle so I'll leave it at this: you need to buy this wine, you can't afford not to.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Napa Bench Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-02-2019
It's not always easy to find good Napa Cab for under $40 these days. What with growing popularity and price hikes everywhere, it sometimes feels like the entry level is getting pushed further and further up every year. When we first opened this we were all thrilled to find a truly delicious Napa Cab with a real personality to it! Rich plum and black currant are surrounded by notes of dark chocolate, fresh earth, and enough acid to balance out the richness perfectly. This is definitely a sleeper that won't last long once people catch on to it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-30-2019
If you're looking for a fun party Pinot that will catch everyone's eye and palate, Wonderwall has to be on that list. with a nose of plum, cherry, winter spice, redwood it's warm and inviting. The palate is light and brighter than expected from the nose with notes of dark cherry, damp earth, and a carry over of the redwood. As we approach the holidays and cooler weather this is the perfect light red both for quality and price!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Fusion Series" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2019
This is a Bourbon I've loved enough to take home multiple bottles since we started carrying it. It is as delicious as it is unique with loads of fruit, sweet vanilla, and just a hint of baking spice. Unique in that they include full details of the blend on the bottle, Bardstown have set themselves apart by creating an absolutely delicious whiskey without any of the secrecy, it's as simple as that!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Marqués de Murrieta "Finca Ygay" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-24-2019
This is tangible proof that you can spend $25 on a bottle of wine and get something of brilliant quality and complexity. This vintage is full of Black pepper, fresh turned earth, mushroom and dark fruit with a hint of black olive and the dusty, oaked finish of great Rioja. Murrieta has always been one of the best producers for the money, and he has come through once again with a heavy hitter. Give this a try and see for yourself!

2018 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 09-21-2019
Gruner Veltliner has to be one of the more underappreciated major white wines of the world. Being one of the best wines for pairing with Asian cuisines and most spicy foods, it's balance, subtlety, and round palate have always made it great! With a nose of ginger, Asian pear, and white blossoms, the palate is round and laden with spices, chalk, and pithy fruit. If you need a white to pair with food and can't quite find the right one you need to grab a bottle of the 2018 Kamptal!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine du Vissoux (Pierre-Marie Chermette) Moulin-à-Vent "Les Trois Roches"
Review Date: 09-10-2019
I first experienced this wine by walking in on our buyer Alex Pross blind tasting a few staff members on it, having them make a guess as to what they thought it was. This wine really does throw you for a bit of a loop when you first experience it. The Beaujolais fruit is there, but with an underpinning of spice savory nose that if not expecting it could lead you down a path towards the Rhone. The palate is deep and complex with notes of red berries, raw meat, cracked pepper, and an almost floral finish. This is a wine that will change minds about this region and give it the respect it truly deserves!

Foursquare Rum Distillery 14 Year Old "Empery" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark IX Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-03-2019
I had the pleasure of opening this beautiful bottle of Foursquare rum and spending some time with it, rather than just tasting, to know what it's about. Foursquare is well known for their high-quality and often unique blends, and this is truly no exception. On the nose, I noticed an interesting gunpowder note floating atop beautiful notes of redwood, stone fruit, and sweet vanilla. The palate is round and robust, with the wood notes really showing through beautifuly. The finish is laced with caramel, stone fruit, and woody tannin. This is truly a rum drinkers rum, which had me sitting back and thinking about it all evening. And I will consider that an evening well spent! Get one while they last because these Foursquare are not to be missed!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
As a staff we had a chance to taste with our Laurent-Perrier rep not long ago, but at the time they didn't have an '08 for us to try. Given how spectacular the year was an how the other wines were showing I couldn't wait to get my hands on a sample and was not disappointed! A 50/50 split of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and made of entirely Grand Cru fruit the wine shows beautifully with notes of lemon meringue, grapefruit and vanilla. The palate is just the right balance of acid with hints of graham cracker, bright citrus, and a wonderfully long finish. Wine like this will only get better with age so make sure you get some before it's gone!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Chateau de Bligny "Clos du Chateau Bligny" 6 Cépages Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
This is one of only a few bottlings of Champagne that includes the lesser-known grapes of Champagne. A six-way split between Arbonne, Petit Meslier, Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier, and Pinot Blanc. The wine is floral and fruity with a waxy note. The palate is beautifully balanced with notes of vanilla, cream, and stone fruit. There really aren't many Champagnes like this, and with the supply of these lesser-known grapes dwindling, we may not see this in the future!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
The first of the new line of numbered Grand Siecle to be introduced by Laurent-Perrier. It's a lovely multi-vintage blend that displays notes of clotted cream, stone fruit, and honeysuckle. Not enough good can be said about the Grand Siecle, and given the wines they are competing with they are truly holding their own!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
A true Multi-Vintage wine, Grand Siecle is always such a treat! This is the last bottling that will go unnumbered as they move towards a new bottling recognition. The wine is stunning with notes of stone fruit, iodine, apple blossom and a touch of cream. Get these while they last. wine this good doesn't stay around long!

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
100% Grand Cru Chardonnay This vintage of Black Ball is nice and toasty with notes of buttercream, a hint of popcorn and lovely meringue. With the deal we will be offering on this one I can't see a reason you wouldn't need a bottle or two!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
53% Pinot Noir and 47% Chardonnay this toasty champagne is a real winner! The nose is buttery with hints of butterscotch and lemon zest. The palate is round with enough acid to cut through the richness and balance out the wine. 2008 is written all over this one with that characteristic balance of acid and robust mouth feel!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Round and inviting, this is another beautiful single vineyard expression from Bonville. He produces the Pur Oger, Pur Avize, and the Pur Mesnil all the same way. All Grand Cru Chardonnay, all stainless steel, and all 2 grams of dosage to let you truly see what the vineyard is offering. Rich and robust with notes of graham cracker and a slight mushroom note that is more common in Pinot Meunier but chardonnay works wonders when treated with this much care! Don't miss out on these while we have them!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Somewhere in between Bonville's Pur Oger and Pur Mesnil this is really a "best of both worlds" wine. Not quite as bright and tart as the Mesnil, but not as round and robust as the Oger the Pur Avize is beautiful with distinct honeysuckle, beeswax, round orange and a light flinty quality Bonville has created something truly beautiful!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-30-2019
I loved the previous vintage of the Margaret River Cabernet, so I was very excited when our buyer, Thomas, brought in the new vintage for us to try. Like the previous vintage, the first thing that strikes me is the mint on the nose. But unlike the previous vintage, this combines beautifully with notes of chocolate, blackberry, and boysenberry, reminding me of high-end Swiss chocolate. The palate is lively, jumping out with mixed berry, plum, chocolate, fresh herbs, and that beautiful mint chocolate. This is an entirely unique Cabernet that for the price, everyone needs to experience!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Jean Michel Dupre is a masterful winemaker whose Beaujolais never ceases to intrigue. The aptly named 1935 (the year in which the vines were planted) is a wonderful example of how approachable yet complex his wines really can be. The nose is full of cherries, baking spice, rose pedals and plum that has evolved even as I sit writing this. The palate is bright and lively and the cherry has translated beautifully. With some mild tannin and rich spice this is always an easy choice in my book!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 07-16-2019
Olivier Leflaive seems to always bring some amazing wines to the table at all price points. His Bourgogne Blanc is lively and full of lemon meringue, crunchy green apple, and clean chalk minterality that leaves your mouth water. Infinitely drinkable and ever so food friendly this should be in everyone's cellar!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Woodford Reserve Batch Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) (ships in a magnum box)
Review Date: 07-15-2019
This is one crowd pleaser of a bourbon. Whether is be that occasion drink for the casual fan, or something fun and higher proof for the bourbon fanatic to share with friends this is a bottle everyone should considering having on their back bar as a perfect high end bourbon. The nose is full of cinnamon, nutmeg, graham cracker and chocolate. There is a little hint of orange on the palate that plays beautifully with the spice and chocolate notes, and I must say, for a bourbon that rings in at a whopping 123.2 proof, it drinks like a much softer and friendlier bourbon. If you're looking for something nice to add to your collection that has some name recognition to back it, look no further!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2007 Foursquare Rum Distillery 12 Year Old "Ex-Bourbon Cask" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark VI Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-24-2019
Foursquare is one of the legends of the rum world, producing some of the richest and most interesting rums in modern production. The 2007 is absolutely no exception. I picked up a bottle for myself recently and was floored the moment I poured myself a glass. Lovely notes of stone fruit, toffee, anise, and apple jump out. The palate is warm and round, the toffee turns towards a salted caramel hint with notes of guava, cinnamon, treacle and to my palate a rich coffee finish. If you are a whiskey drinker looking to get into rum, this is a no-brainer, and to our rum drinkers out there, this is a must have!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2012 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Now this wine is a bit of a math problem. It starts with 2/3 Chardonnay, and then they ferment 17% of the remainder as red Pinot Noir, and the remaining as white Pinot Noir giving it a pinkish orange hue. The nose is all strawberry and strawberry shortcake with hints of cherry. The palate has a biting minerality that is chalky and wonderful. The strawberry is there with light cherry blossom and white flowers.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
In the world of champagne, painfully few varietals are permitted to be turned into the lovely sparkling wine that we all love. When we got to try this bottle though, I was shocked to find that it is made entirely of Pinot Gris. Unlike almost any other sparkling I have tried, this will hold a place in my memory for its maple nose mixed with cherry, and slight sherry note. The palate is beautiful with a combination of bright green apple, and round spiced golden apples.I would recommend anyone give this a try, you are not likely to see much like it again!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
It's not often that you see a bottle this age laying around, and definitely not at the $100 range. After spending 22 years (yes years) on the lees what we have here is a delicious round and toasty bottle even though it hasn't seen any oak. The nose is of brown sugar and brown butter, almost reminiscent of cookie dough with a soft nuttiness. The palate has lovely notes of baking spice and graham cracker. This majority chardonnay wine is another winner from the co-op!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Here at K&L we are fortunate to have several direct imports from some really fantastic producers. Le Brun is a rather large co-op that we bring in, and that means we get some amazing wine for unbelievable value! The Authentique is a make up for 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir with a wonderfully nutty round nose, notes of ginger and baking spice that translates beautifully to the palate with a hint of stone fruit.

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Pulling fruit from vines planted in 1950, it is rare to find a 100% Pinot Meunier Champagne these days, which is a real shame as it is such an unsung hero of the region. With so few grapes approved to be in champagne, the almost total domination of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir (though delicious) seems like it might be limiting, so I am thrilled to see a producer of this caliber producing something truly unique. The nose is of cherry and marzipan, with notes of apple blossom, and fresh crushed apples. It has a tight and mineral driven palate with notes of apple, and stone fruit skin. Anyone who loves champagne really should give this bottle a try and see what can be done with Pinot Meunier!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I am a sucker for a good Blanc de Blanc. Something about the rich, round, honeyed quality that chardonnay based champagne can bring always puts a smile on my face. Franck Bonville is an exceptional producer, and when you can get your hands on a bottle of 100% Grand Cru fruit at a price this low, it's a no brainer in my mind. The nose is fot, with notes of cherry, vanilla, and white flowers. The Palate is laden with cashew, marzipan, and a long toasty finish. This is a beautiful wine made from exceptional fruit that for the the price, is going to be hard to beat!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The Faillet family have been known wine growers since the early 17th century, but it wasn't until the marriage of Gaston Faillet and Genevieve Dart in 1970 that the house of Faillet-Dart was formed. the Grande Selection is a blend of 70% Pinot Noir, and the and even split of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier to round it out. The nose is toasty with notes of white florals, browned butter, and apples. The palate is rich with notes of under ripe stone fruit, apples, and a round marzipan finish.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The Baron-Fuente family has been working in the vineyards of champagne long before the region started producing sparkling wine. The years of experience have lead to the production of some amazing wine at every price point, and the Grande Reserve is no exception. A blend of 60% Pinot Meunier, 30% Chardonnay, and 10% Pinot Noir, makes for a warm and round nose with notes of honey, sweet dough, and hazelnut. On the palate though it is bright, with a biting acidity, and notes of soft cherry. This is a beautiful bottle for any occasion!

2017 Lúuma (AKA Wine Co.) Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Chardonnay seems to be one of the most divisive grapes on the market today, and I regularly have customers tell me they don't like it because of how buttery and oaked it is. While there are those Chards out there, it can also fall on the exact opposite end of the spectrum. The Luuma is a wonderful example of how bright and complex the grape can be. Sourcing fruit from Scribe, the wine only sees 20% oak, 10% of which is new. The rest is aged in stainless steel, making for a Chardonnay with notes of bright green apple, lemon, tropical pineapple, and white flowers. This is a perfect summer wine that regular chardonnay drinkers will love, and might change some minds if you're willing to give it a try!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Fournaux"
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This vintage of Aux Fournaux is beautiful, the nose opens with lovely ripe red and purple fruit mixed with purple flowers, harkening back to memories of summer and sunshine! Warm baking spice and cinnimon follow, reminding me of blackberry pie. The palate is bright and vibrant, with notes of cherry, blackberry, and gripping minerality. The back palate fades towards a metallic iron quality, telling me that this is a wine that will love food, and if decanted, will soften up and be perfect for a cheese plate with friends! Drink it now, or let this be an inexpensive way to grow your collection, and let it lay down for a few years, it will only get better with age!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2017 Kumeu River "Maté's Vineyard" Chardonnay New Zealand
Review Date: 04-16-2019
We had the pleasure of tasting three different Kumeu Chardonnay's in a row to really get a full grasp of what they are doing. The consensus among the staff was a resounding "wow", especially the "Mate's Vineyard". The nose is round, with notes of buttered popcorn, honeysuckle, green apple, and lemon meringue. The palate is bright, with a biting acid, lovely salinity, and finishes with rounder notes of honey, popcorn, and lemon rind. If you are a California Chardonnay fan who is looking to branch out, you need to try this! For any fans of new Zealand, this is a must have!

Mortlach 16 Year-Old "Distiller's Dram" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
Mortlach Distillery, nicknamed "The Beast of Dufftown," is a very unique whisky for Speyside. Many of its neighbors produce elegant, softer Scotch; Mortlach comes to the table with familiar Speyside qualities, but it brings the weight of Highland Scotch. The nose opens with notes of raisin, roasted apples, nutmeg and cinnamon, dates, and light chocolate. The palate is rich and weighty, with notes of apples, baking spice, dried fruit, and OlorosO Sherry (likely due to its aging in ex-sherry casks). This is one of my favorite standard release (not that any Mortlach is standard) Scotches I have had in a long time. If you are a whisky lover at all, this is a Scotch that needs to be experienced.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next