Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jackson Lee

Jackson Lee

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Mal Bien Green Tape "Felipe + Ageo Cortes" Batch 0618 Tepextate (A. Marmorata) Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
After spending decades in the ground, tepextate’s are a wonder and privilege to enjoy. The nose on this comes off way hotter than how it drinks. Notes of pinewood, honey smoked ham, freshly cut flowers, and watermelon rind ride the fumes out of the glass but sipping it is a different experience entirely. Smooth and sweet, this is a bottle that could go down dangerously fast if you’re not paying attention. Ice plants and smoked honey are the large players here that compete against a fruity sweetness that just keeps you wanting more. At this price, you’d be hard pressed to pass up owning this bottle.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Mal Bien Green Tape "Victor + Emmanuel Ramos" Batch 0218 Verde (A. Rhodacantha) Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
To be fair, this sample had been in a 50ml bottle with a bit of air in it but damn is it smooth. I had to double check the proof to be sure but at 52% this is way too easy to drink. Mal Bien seems to have found a way to produce quality, single species mezcals at a great price. The nose on this Verde followed its namesake. Very green notes of fresh poblano pepper and pine dominated with a sweet hickory undertone and a cement minerality. Sipping this was like candy, smooth and sweet with notes of quince and white pineapple. The finish has a bit of spice to it, which contrasted nicely with how clean and soft the juice was. This verde does not disappoint!
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #6" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
Trying our two barrels side by side was a fun experience and clearly highlights the effects different staves can have on the whiskey. While barrel #5 had fruitier esters, #6 has more oak influence and baking spices, raisin box, umeshu, peanut brittle and demerara sugar dominate the nose. The palate is ridiculously soft as notes of brown sugar, orange peel, and rice crispy treats mix with a sweet herbal note and a slow burn building up to the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #5" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
This pour needed some time in the glass before diving in. After about five minutes the spirit settled down and the aromas started to make their way out of the glass. Notes of clove studded orange peel, angel food cake, toasted caramel, and baked apples reminded me of a cool autumn afternoon. The daydream continues on the palate as this wheated bourbon warms you up like a soft sweater with fruity tones of candied cherries and brown sugar with a sweet herbal note of something like sassafras. The finish is incessantly long and unctuous, leaving a tingling sensation on the tip of the tongue and sweet sassafras and black plums linger.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-1108" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-07-2019
The WT Russell’s line may be some of my favorite consistent single barrels we’re able to get. This barrel hit a lot of high tones for me. The nose was a bit tight under the proof but I got strong herbal hints of sassafras, fennel bulb contrasted by sweeter notes of brown sugar, maraschino cherry, and green apple skin. The palate was bright and very sweet, with baking spices, caramelized yellow peaches and brown sugar ginger cookies. The textural component was nice as well, it was soft with a light kick and the finish was long and just a touch waxy. A beautiful dram of bourbon I’d be happy to work on through the holidays.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
After sitting in a covered glass, this wine really seemed to open up. Nosing the pour, I initially got a light black pepper and cranberry note but the more I went back to it the more it offered. Notes of red currant, black mission fig skin, and a sweet toffee like note was somewhere in the background. Once this juice hit the palate, I immediately was drawn to it. Texturally it’s got a medium body with a good acid balance to it, something that would have me going back for additional glasses at a holiday dinner. Black raspberry and watermelon jolly ranchers made the experience even more fun, and the finish definitely doesn’t detract from that. This is a bottle I would be happy to bring to any holiday dinner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 SK 95

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-345" (Rickhouse CN F, Floor 6) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-17-2019
Another wonderful offering from WT. Similar yet different from the other private Russell’s barrels 19-345 hits with purple plums, chocolate covered raisins, vanilla, and sarsaparilla on the nose. The palate starts off a sweet demerara sugar note, with a velvety texture and moves into cherry punch, plums, and purple NERDS candy. The finish presented more of a maraschino cherry note mixed with sweet herbs and lingered for quite a while. Solid bourbon for the price!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#18-439" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-15-2019
I’ve enjoyed all our Russell’s Reserves private barrel picks but this one in particular was such a fun bourbon to pour into a glass; so many interesting things going on and one of the more, “tropical” bourbons I’ve come across. On the nose I got cola and sarsaparilla, fennel seed, and then a strong whiff of coconut, vanilla, cherry, and chocolate came through unexpectedly. This is a nose you could contemplate for quite a while as things tended to move around and change. The palate expressed a lot of the cherry that was evident on the nose but added flavors of Hawaiian fruit punch, oak spice, candy coated fennel seed and demerara sugar. The finish was long and left me with a numbness in the center of my tongue, reminding me of how I’ll sometimes feel coming out of the dentist’s office. Along with the fun tactile ride, cherry notes and baking spices left their footprint on the finish.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bunnahabhain Staoisha Heavily Peated 4 Year Old "Signatory Unchillfiltered Collection" Dechar/Rechar Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-15-2019
For being so young this scotch seems to have an old soul. A lot of character coming from this young Islay offering. A soft and warm mesquite wood smoke is immediately noticeable on the nose, with mowed grass lying beneath. Other aromas of iodine, mixed apple salad, charred fennel and serrano pepper seem to be playing musical chairs and never quite show up the same way. On the palate, you get hit with a sweet maltiness on the tip of your tongue, which then moves into a smokey lemon peel and a nice spice before the finish. At the end I was left with a waxy, lanolin flavor/texure along with smoked honey. The finish was long and pleasantly smokey.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
Barrel #12 expressed more of what I would consider to be classic Potrero rye notes, almost hitting some from their 18th Century Style Spirit as well. On the nose, the combination of oak and kola nut reminded me of their original bottlings, but deeper aromas of black raisins and brown sugar melted in butter were also in the forefront. The palate was a bit tight and fairly spicy compared to Barrel #13. Again, brown sugar made its appearance but it intermingled with the spice and a faint note of cinnamon. With the addition of water, the spice was toned down and more fruit notes surfaced, including something that reminded me of purple gobstoppers. The finish was interesting and definitely reminded me of the Old Potrero 18th Century Style Spirit, which always had an RC Cola note to me.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
Barrel 13 had a little more fruit notes going on and a roasted/toasted/malty/toffee/coffee thing going on that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. But loved it. The nose had strong influences of oak, dried dark plums, and sweet cherries. It really reminded me of Panettone, the Italian holiday cake. Turbinado sugar and hints of that roasted coffee undertone seemed to be the last ones on the trail. The palate carried over from the nose, with Panettone again being the big player. Other notes of spiced cherries, prunes, and just a touch of toasted caramel were also prevalent and quite delightful. The finish on this one was long, and where I picked up on a lot of the roasted/toasted etc. flavor that was hinted at in the nose and palate. I also got a bit of cinnamon cookie at the very end.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

El Samaritano Mexicano (Ambrosio Martinez Blas) Santiago Matatlan Artesenal Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
To get a wild agave expression, made in small batch, at this price, is becoming more and more rare these days. Mexicano is one of my go-tos when recommending a mezcal beyond the standard espadin, and if espadin is all you’ve tried, this is a fantastic bottle to pick up and to explore other sub-species of agave. The nose is sweet and green, like fresh pressed sugar cane juice (which I recently got to experience in Vietnam), followed by sweet roasted agave, dusty gravel, grilled pineapple and white sage.

The palate is a roller coaster, building you up with smooth and sweet fruit notes, with pineapple playing a major part of that. Then you get hit with cayenne spice and mildly pickled jalapenos (de-seeded), then the sweetness starts to come back and a roasted strawberry note rounds things off on the palate. The finish was mild, sweet with a bit of that cayenne spice riding it out.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-04-2019
I was surprised with how mellow the rye is, sitting at 100 proof with its bottled-in-bond designation. The nose is herbaceous and spicy with notes of anise seed and liquorice but balanced with sweeter notes of dark brown sugar, vanilla, and cola nut. The palate was soft for a rye, with light liquorice notes showing back up mingling with Whoppers and allspice; I could see this going down way too easily. The finish doesn’t help that, alluring me back to the glass with sweet oak spice and warm cinnamon flavors rounding things out. A no-brainer for any rye lover.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2019
Herbaceous, earthy, yet sweet on the nose, the bottled in bond bourbon gives off notes of sarsaparilla, fennel frond, fresh cut grass, demerara sugar and candy corn. At 100 proof, this is way too easy to sip. It slyly sneaks onto your palate with a supreme smoothness and welcoming sweet notes of dulce de leche, diet cola, and brown sugar. The finish adds a nice spice and a little heat to balance everything out while there’s still a note of rock candy. A solid bottled-in-bond bourbon for the price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur "Peaty Overaged" K&L Exclusive Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2019
Nosing this in the glass was addicting and I had to stop myself before becoming in danger of singeing nerve endings. A sweet hickory smoke softly emanated from the glass with a bit of brine behind it. Working my way past the sumptuous smoke, I got notes of apple skins and barbecued yellow nectarines. The palate was round and soft; I felt no need to add water to this one. Black pepper and honey smoked ham, combined with charred canned pineapple, almost made me feel like I was at a luau. The finish was pleasant, not too long, but had a waxy, spicy play going on, and once everything felt like it was over, a bit of leftover charred pineapple showed up to do one last curtsy.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 10-01-2019
For me, this is summer in a glass, sitting at a beachfront eatery enjoying the sounds of the ocean as tropical aromas of guava, pineapple, a hint of passionfruit and grapefruit dance with the sea breeze. The palate is well rounded yet refreshing and crisp, reminding me of white nectarine, lemon zest coupled with a subtle limestone minerality and great acid structure, giving it a very clean feel. Perfect at dinner parties or picnics on the beach.

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2019
This would be a great Scotch for anyone looking to try to get into the Islay flavor profile. It was so approachable, I smiled as I smelled and got the warm and fuzzies (and maybe some audible expressions as well). Sweet leather, bacon wrapped apples, and brine remind me of other Islays but with a lot of the medicinal qualities toned down. Sipping this was a very pleasant experience; smooth, balanced with notes of apple, light peat smoke, chocolate covered toffee and sweet grass, which follows you into the finish. This dram is dangerously delicious for the price and something I could see myself going through multiple bottles with a group of friends.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Rezpiral Tepeztate "Series 4 - K&L Exclusive" (Berta Vasquez) San Baltazar Chichicapam Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
:::Cue Homer Simpson drooling:::
Nosing this for the first time, I may have unintentionally let a noise resembling the famous Simpson's character's moment of bliss when there's something delicious at hand. Tepeztate’s are indeed a treat to taste given the decades the plant spends in the ground, and the patience of the magueyero to harvest them. Rain water, river stones, unmistakable cooked agave, quince and pineapple, smoked honeysuckle blossoms and crushed ice plants emanate from the glass. The palate is unbelievably smooth at 93.2 proof, and resonates the crushed iced plant note I got on the nose. Sweeter candied notes also complement the soft vegetal quality while still retaining its clean, freshness. The finish is a bit tingly with light spearmint and raw artichoke leaves. You should definitely pick up this time capsule of agave spirit.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Juniper and citrus aromas jump out of the glass with an underlying malty sweetness. The palate mirrors the aromas almost to a T; juniper with lemon peel with a sweet background as a little bit of heat hits you on the way out. Perfect in G&T's or a Negroni!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-27-2019
A great mixing rum at $14.99; sweet with a dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2019
This was truly a unique bourbon for me. Admittedly, I haven't tried too many of the Barrell offerings but am quite familiar with the level of demand, so when I saw the sample come in for this I was quite excited. This bottling has also passed inspection by not one, but two discerning buyers (first those lovely people at Barrell and subsequently our own K&L buyers). On the nose I got stale cherries mixed with subtle pear, oak spice, clove, light orange peel and fig newtons. The palate was surprising smooth for the proof, blending spiced cherry crisp with a sweet, purple hard candy note that reminded me of Willy Wonka's Gobstoppers. The finish was a bit nondescript but had a subtle sweetness and smooth, almost cooling ride out.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "Juveniles" Limited Edition Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-17-2019
Pours out a pale gold color and you are immediately hit with peat smoke, dill, and green apple with the slightest hint of toffee and oak spice. A cinnamon spice hits the palate first, then fading into vanilla, nougat, and wet grass. The finish has a nice minerality to it and slowly fades out. The aesthetics of the label does a fine job of matching the juice inside.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 90

Kilkerran (Glengyle) "Heavily Peated" Batch No. 1 Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
Sweet, oaky, and peaty, this expression has it all. Salted caramel apple, chocolate truffle, pencil shavings, and preserved kumquats waft from the glass and enthrall your olfactory senses. A literal, “mmm” escaped my vocal chords when I first put this to my lips; it was like drinking a sexy bbq. Light, exotic wisp of smoke entangles with soft layers of caramel chews and bbq potato chips without the cloying sweetness some can have. A mild sweet mint comes in towards the finish and just leaves you with a warm, pleasant tingling that keeps me coming back.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
The uniqueness of this bottling should not go overlooked. First, solera method bourbon…what? Secondly, private barrel of solera method bourbon…huh? Hillrock uses older sourced stock and combines with distillate they are making themselves in their solera style system, over time, the average age gets older and older in the bottle. From what I hear about this K&L selection is the juice is around an average age of 13 years. The nose is sweet and fun, albeit a little hot- giving off notes of French Toast and brown sugar, oak, baker’s chocolate, and dried plum. The heat does not translate to the palate and is texturally very pleasant. There’s a good depth of flavor with notes of cherry pit, brown sugar, anise seed, and raw almonds. The finish tapers off quickly but you are left with a single, long, spiced cherry flavor. This would make a great gift to any bourbon lover and definitely worth trying since the expressions will only get older with time.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-09-2019
Never have I had a whiskey that reminded me so much of a candy I used to eat as a kid. Growing up, my grandmother always had pieces of Chan Pui Mui (preserved plum candy) in her purse to bribe me with. Something about the sweet, salty, sour "candy" really did it for me and this dram reflects a lot of those flavors. On the nose, peach pit, sherry, and brown sugar all combine to create that preserved plum candy aroma and even more so on the palate. With a light body but plenty of depth and not too hot, again, this tasted like liquid childhood candy dreams. This is definitely one of the best rice whiskies I've encountered, tasting more like whiskey and less like sake. I wanted a little more out of the finish but it did leave with a nice baking spice note that seemed to stick to my tongue like a magnet and a soft nougat-y sweetness.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Destileria Los Danzantes Los Nahuales "Metodo Antiguo" Mezcal (750ml) [Cannot ship]
Review Date: 06-26-2019
With almost no heat on the nose (so weird at 52.4% abv), I was getting the stemmy, white part of a strawberry mixed with lemonade, a pool surrounded by pine trees, and sweet black licorice and honey baked ham. There's also an unmistakable roasted agave note that's resting under the other aromas. The palate is almost as smooth as the nose kicking off with sweet, briny spearmint and pine mixed with a whisper of vanilla, and under-ripe tropical fruits. The spirit has a cooling texture and extremely long finish of cinnamon bun (no glaze) and under-ripe pineapple. This was a surprising pour and a fun one!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2007 Don Q "Limited Edition" Single Barrel Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Initially I scored this a little lower on the nose but after revisiting over the course of ten minutes, I had to change my score. What was initially a single note turned into a revolving door of different aromas. From banana and Asian pear to burnt rubber, fresh struck match, charred brown sugar, nougat and toasted marshmallow, at some point I just had to stop as new adjectives kept rolling in. The palate is smooth and almost cooling with echoes of burnt rubber, hazelnuts, and caramel milk, with baked apple and chocolate on the finish. This would be a great mixer or just on the rocks on its own and a steal at this price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Fusion Series" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
This new distillery started producing in 2016 and quickly started laying down some of their stock. With equal parts 11yr 7mo Kentucky sourced bourbon, 2 yr old high rye estate bourbon and 20% estate wheated bourbon, this bottle expresses what the distillery is aiming to be and gives some good insight into the juice they're making. The nose was rich and sweet and full of spices like cinnamon and cardamom mixed with mascarpone cheese. The palate was smooth and sweet with notes of banana creme and more cinnamon. If you're looking to venture into something produced outside of the bourbon belt, definitely give this bottle a shot.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Woodinville "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask #1307 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
This was a fantastic surprise coming from a craft distillery in Washington. With full sized barrels and grain to glass production, you can taste that no shortcuts were made. The nose elicits notes of roasted coffee with raspberry syrup and a hint of fennel while the palate is silky, smooth, and has a sweet corn note, which plays with a cinnamon flavor very well. The finish is long with anise and brown sugar leading you out. A fun and different bourbon whiskey from what's making it out of Kentucky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
With a name like Blanc Des Millenaires, I already felt like I was sipping above my pay-grade and I wouldn't be wrong. The nose gave off notes of the most perfectly baked croissant and french bread toast with a very light hint of vanilla. The palate took it to the next level with pain au chocolate, baked pear crisp and a fantastic texture that made me wish that I wasn't at work sampling and spitting this amazing wine but instead on a luxury yacht in a white robe imbibing on this beautiful bubbly.

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This was such a fun wine to smell. Very pretty on the nose with notes of white flowers and pear jelly bellies (my favorite). The palate was clean and soft with lightly minerals from a crispy pear.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
If you've ever gone to Japan, you've probably seen the mind boggling white strawberries. This wine smells of that fruit mixed with the tart, almost tannic quality of yellow peach skins. The palate is refreshing with a nice fruitiness and slightly underripe strawberries.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Aged for a whopping 22 years on the lees, this champagne could buy its own champagne (in the U.S.). This is such a fun and expressive wine that's on a totally different level. Umami notes and buttered chanterelles and umeshu plum bombard the nose and are almost perfectly mirrored on the palate. This is definitely a bottle you want to have with rich, fatty, umami laden foods.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
2008 was a great year in Champagne and this Grand Cru is a fantastic example of that statement. At 97% Chardonnay and only 3% Pinot Noir the blanc de blanc designation goes out the window but the aromas and flavors seemed to be worth it. Notes of apple blossom honey tickle the nose on a triangle of light toast, while a nice acidity mingles with unripe nectarines. This would be a great wine to pair with spicy Asian foods or great on its own as it finishes with beautiful orchard fruits.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This is a great wine to buy. Not only for the fact that its aged five year on the lees on cork (not bottle cap), smells of orange blossom honey and green apples, and tastes like a green apple jolly rancher (without the cloying sweetness)- but also because you're helping small producers survive among the bigger houses. If you're into good wine and fighting against, "the man," this is definitely a label you should pick up.

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This is a unique wine, both in the fact that they were some of the first vines in Champagne to be grafted, as well as being 100% Munier. The nose is earthy and has that indescribable umami aspect, while the palate is bursting with great acid, sweet tart candies and a certain elegant, je ne sais pas. The finish is long with fantastic notes of white fleshed orchard fruits.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Once upon a time this was one of my personal staff picks and I loved drinking it as much as I loved recommending it. There's so many great things to say about this producer and his wines aside from the fact that his average vine age is over 40 years old and he keeps his favorite fruit to produce under his own name. With equal parts Chardonnay, Munier, and Pinot Noir, I got notes of sweet meyer lemon peel and honeyed bisquits on the nose. The palate tasted of freshly harvested peach blossom honey, a very slight airy bisquit and more white flowers. Three years on the lees did this wine well and added to the flavors on the finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Franck Bonville constantly tops the staff picks charts and this blanc de blanc is no exception. The nose is clean, with a nice minerality and subtle floralness that opens up the palate with its balanced acidity with a peach blossom note. The finish is what takes the cake for me amongst other wines at this price point. Long and mouthwatering, this is a must for parties and celebrations.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
You just can't get much better with over seven years on the lees with estate grown fruit and a 17th generation grower. With notes of toast with pear jam on the nose and a nicely balanced palate with orchard fruit and pineapple upside-down cake this is a great wine to share with friends. The finish is soft but lingers and keeps reminding you to tip that glass back. A truly great value for under $35.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
There's a reason there's so many staff reviews backing up this wine. This review is another rock in the quarry but I thought I'd throw my two cents in and be in good company. Easy drinking, crowd pleasing with white peach skins on the nose with a light note of bisquit. The palate mirrors the nose but with a great tart acidity and sweet tangerine peel. Do yourself a favor and go for the magnum on this one (Shhh, don't tell anyone).

Four Roses Small Batch Select Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
I typically adhere by the saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." It seems Four Roses disagrees. With three solid core offerings, they decided to double down on the small batch, offering this great, mid-tiered whiskey at a higher proof (you won't hear me complaining). On the nose I get sweet notes of candy corn and golden raisins with a slight hint of ripe green plum. The palate is definitely kicked up a notch from the regular small batch (which incidentally was my gateway bourbon). Sweet apple notes, with a bit of saigon cinnamon spice make their way forward and leave my tongue tingling with a bit of oak and a small hint of vanilla and finishing with sweet white peaches. The regular small batch got me into bourbon and Four Roses whiskey, and this new Select offering brought me back.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
Super aromatic and just plain pretty. This muscat based Bolvian brandy gives off aromas of tropical fruits, sweet green apples, and night blooming jasmine. The palate is soft and sweet and reminds me of a tropical fruit punch jolly rancher but with a dry finish. A fun, summery spirit that would work great in a number of cocktails (think cucumbers, limes, basil, and punches) or would be great in a spritz or just on the rocks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Radley & Finch Pinotage, South Africa
Review Date: 05-02-2019
This is a fun and lively Pinotage that’s just screaming, “Take me to the park! Take me to the beach! Enjoy me next to a body of water on a warm day! Take me to a bbq and share me with all your friends!” This is an easy drinker for sure but not overly juicy. Straight out of the bottle the nose comes off as charred cherry wood and cherry skins; as it airs off, a sweeter red berry note starts to shine through. The palate only emphasizes that note, with lower tannins and a nice acidic balance, dark red cherry flesh and mingles with raspberry and finishes with a dry zippiness that made me keep coming back to the glass. For the price a nice, summery wine can’t get much better than this.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1998 Chateau de Vacquié 20 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2019
The younger sibling to the 27 year old from the same house shows a bright and fruity characteristic while still expressing nice wood interaction. On the nose I get dark caramel apple, sundried peaches with tangelo peel, and dried tobacco leaf at the very end. Smooth and sweet on the palate, bright notes of summer orchard fruits hit you while a semi-sweet chocolate note slowly creeps in. The finish starts sweet and silky and then develops a nice spiced pear note. This was such a fun and interesting Armagnac and one that I would recommend to friends and family.
Price: Hidden View Price

1991 Chateau de Vacquié 27 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2019
Oily in the glass and easy on the nose, whiffs of wet tobacco leaf intermingled with vanilla and clove oil. Brown sugar and roofing tar also seemed to tango together but as the dram opened up, the chemical note from the tar slowly dissipated. The initial texture on the palate was creamy and approachable, with a spiced poached pear note coming through followed quickly by red hots and oak. As the liquid receded, a waxy, tannic texture took over and the oak and brown sugar notes seemed to find each other on the dance floor. A fun and easy Armagnac.
Price: Hidden View Price

1988 Fitte et Laterrade 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Chaou" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2019
As I uttered, “oh wow,” under my breath, I was getting aromas of dark brown sugar, fermenting black plums, antiseptic, and dark chocolate covered raspberries. The palate was smooth and starts off with sweet dried berries but then showed heavy wood influence, which mixed with a lidocaine sensation and mint in the finish.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Legent Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-26-2019
The power of suggestion can be extremely influential, so when I heard about this new Beam/Suntory project, I of course had a predetermined thought on what it might taste like. A bourbon blended by a Japanese blender; like a beautiful Venn Diagram combining the flavors of bourbon with the preferences of a Japanese palate. It’s two worlds I thought would never cross but they did. And it works. On the nose, you get the big expressionistic aspects of bourbon with red cherries, candy corn, and dried plums but then there’s a sherry and marzipan note that kicks in and is reminiscent of an older scotch. The palate has a silky smooth texture with wood tannins drying out at the end. Notes of dried orchard fruits mingle with cocoa powder and orange blossom honey. There’s a soft elegance throughout the dram that captures (in my mind) what people want and look for in a good Japanese whiskey. As a huge fan of both Japanese and American whiskies, I can say this one absolutely did not disappoint.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Mezonte "Raicilla Japo" Jalisco Spirit Distilled From Agave Uncertified Jalisco Raicilla/Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 03-23-2019
Produced by Hildegardo Joya, this Raicilla expresses the techniques and traditions accumulated over the lifetime of this master distiller. At 75 years old, Heldegardo still walks his agave fields, his trusted machete in hand, looking over the plants as if they were his children. That care is reflected in the distillate he produces from the Amarillo agave. On the nose I get Camembert cheese, or a lightly smoked Gouda, gravel, honey baked pineapple ham and sweet mint. The texture really got me on this one; like drinking a mouthful of fresh river water, this pour is smooth while giving off flavors of sweet cooked agave and blue cotton candy. On the finish, the cooked agave still shines while a little peppery spice leaves your mouth with a pleasant tingling sensation. Sadly, there’s no steward to take Hildegardo’s place when he decides to retire so be sure to get this offering while it’s still being made!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-14-2019
While I typically think of whisky “terroir” as being the barrel aging process (temperature, humidity, char level, wood type, atmosphere, and so on), Glenmorangie highlights the yeast strain. Naturally occurring on the barley used to produce the whisky, the yeast strain was cultivated in order to express the flavor of the environment where the grain was grown. On the nose, prominent oak spice comes through but as it fades, honey graham cracker, apricot crisp, toffee, and cut grass become more apparent. The texture is soft and creamy, with light brown sugar and vanilla being the star players, while there is also a hint of sweet orange citrus juice. The finish is just as sweet, with a medium length, giving you a dry, sweet cereal grain note and texture at the very end. A fun whisky to drink while contemplating the magical role yeast plays in our lives.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 92

2010 Caol Ila 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Islay Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-10-2019
What a crazy offering from Caol Ila! First off, the color is an off-clear; I guess some would describe it as “champagne,” and it looks very pretty in the glass. The nose immediately emanated smoke, but had a sweet, summer melon tone underneath and a caramel note right as you tilt the glass to your lips. Tasting it made me feel like there was a cartoon scuffle going on in my mouth, with limbs briefly appearing out of a cloud of dust and the competitors vying for the win. Sweet oaky notes and Fuji apple seemed to appear and recede just as quickly under the guise of smoke and what I can only imagine is a cask strength abv. The finish is looooooong, and encapsulating, starting with a silkiness that quickly fades into a dry, grippy texture with a flourish of smoke that sticks to your tongue like campfire smoke to your clothes. A very fun and exciting dram that would probably play well with a few drops of water or a nice, clean cube.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next