Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Will Blakely

Will Blakely

Reviews

2019 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) "Cuvée Raphael" Ventoux Syrah
Review Date: 08-16-2020
Last year, I was blown away by the previous vintage of this wine (though it went by a different name at the time), and this iteration might be even better than the last. Generous wafts of mixed berry scents emanate from the glass, and the palate delivers those same notes along with fresh-cracked pepper and a bit of smoked ham. Perhaps what differentiates this vintage from the last is a remarkable sense of polish in this surprisingly inexpensive bottle; less wild and spicy, veering more toward ripe, inviting fruit. Once again, this marks one of the best values in red wine available today, and I emphatically encourage keeping several bottles on hand at all times.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 08-16-2020
I never pass up an opportunity to extol the virtues of Vacqueyras wines. The first examples I tasted were sold to me as "baby Chateauneuf-du-Pape," though I think the flavors here tend more toward the dark fruit than in its next-door neighbor. Nonetheless, Ganse's offerings serve as a reminder that you don't need to spend a lot to get a seriously sophisticated wine. This latest vintage boasts an array of brambly berries picked at perfect ripeness, rich mocha, rose and violet, all achieving exquisite balance and heightened by touches of rhubarb and marjoram. With lively acid and a savory finish, there's a lot to love in this brilliant bottle.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2020
Another outstanding release from one of the last family-run Champagne houses. I must confess that I was wary of a 2014 release, as the vintage showed explosive flowering in the spring followed by a rainy, treacherous summer. But Roederer has once again exceeded expectations and delivered a carefully crafted cuvee that shows the pedigree of their house. Lemon cake and sweet blossoms on the nose segue into a rich palate of strawberries, raspberries and clotted cream. Hazelnut biscotti provides body and balance to the lush fruit and generous acid. Notes of ruby grapefruit and blood orange add further dimension, and savory lees on the finish round out this decadent quaffer. Truly a triumph, and one wine I can't wait to drink again.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2012 El Coto "Coto de Imaz" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-06-2020
Despite its years aging in bottle, this wine presents an uncanny, youthful vitality indicative of strong cellaring potential. With an incredibly inviting nose of Valencia orange peel, bright cherry and sweet strawberry, it effortlessly commands your attention from the first pour. The remarkably structured palate shows all the dusty tannin and oak character of well-crafted Rioja along with an array of ripe fruits and some flavors that may be a bit less traditional. I could swear I got boysenberry and hibiscus on one pass, mocha and merguez on the next. With some air, it softens and broadens, yielding truly mouthwatering acid and backed up by savory earth and floral vanilla. For an exceptional wine it comes at an unbelievably low price, and I urge everyone to get theirs while supplies last. Very excited to see how this develops.

Hombo Shuzo Mars Shinshu Komagatake "Limited Edition 2019" Single Malt Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-05-2020
I will never forget the first time I tasted a Komagatake. Like most people, up until that point my exposure to Japanese whisky centered around Suntory and Nikka, and I had only recently seen Mars' Iwai label hit shelves. That first bottle changed my perception of Japanese whisky forever, and I am so happy to reacquaint myself with this line. Looking at the label, you can immediately see this is something special, and the liquid inside truly lives up to the expectation. A striking nose of lemon oil, cut hay, peach blossom and pine sets the tone. The palate presents a refined and fully realized amalgam of gorgeous flavor- grilled peach, marzipan, creamy vanilla, nutty toffee, mountain herbs and barrel spice, all beautifully intermingling with a whisper of smoke and black tea. The craft is evident in how these components come together, perfectly integrated, to create something almost deceptively simple, yet intricate and delicate and complex. These bottles are always a special treat, and I implore you to plumb its depths, savor its full array of flavors, and experience the tranquility that can only come from this divine facility tucked into the mountains.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Foursquare Rum Distillery 14 Year Old "Nobiliary" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark XII Single Cask Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-26-2020
I am always excited to see new Foursquare releases, and this one might be my new favorite. All that time in bourbon barrels gives it impressive weight and richness while maintaining the freshness and sweet caramel of a more youthful rum. On the nose, a jubilant carnival of cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and chicory make the most noise; beneath that, however, a quiet but steady beat of wild cane and fresh thyme adds dimension. Despite its impressively high proof, this is unbelievably soft and inviting. Rich, deep molasses, roasted Brazil nuts and a wealth of vanilla make up the bulk of its flavor with ripe banana and papaya tinged with clove playing background roles. All these intense pieces coalesce into something truly harmonious and beautiful even without water, though you could add a drop or two to cut the spice a touch and ramp up the fleshy fruit. Personally, I can't get enough of it straight out of the bottle - its concentration and decadent texture keep me coming back again and again. It seems uncanny that two more years in barrel would translate into such a more complex, fleshed out flavor profile, but here we are. Easily one of the most well-crafted and enjoyable spirits in this or any category.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2019 Antidoto "Roselito" Rosé Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-17-2020
As we hit peak rosé season, I'm always on the lookout for my next obsession. The Roselito is my new favorite, and it's easy to see why. Brimming with fresh, wild berries and subtle melon flavor, this is a wine I would greedily gobble up as quickly as I could. But if you take a step back, you can appreciate the full extent of its brilliance. Stony minerals and a lime skin tartness add to its lip-smacking goodness, and its texture is also tremendously enjoyable, thanks in part to the inclusion of Albillo in the blend. The white grape that was only recently allowed for use in classified Ribero DO wines brings vivid tropical aromatics and provides a rich mouthfeel. This might be one of the most exciting wines of the year in an already competitive category. Get yours before they're gone.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seavey "Caravina" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-17-2020
What a delightful and surprising bottle this turned out to be. Though not a total outlier among Napa Cabernet, it definitely carves out its own niche. Lively and honest, its tannins have begun to smooth out, but it retains its vibrant, youthful feel. Black and boysenberry puree combine beautifully with the firm tannin and superbly integrated oak to create a wonderful, expressive wine. I cannot wait to see how this continues to develop as it ages, and I look forward to future vintages.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Whitehall Lane Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 04-03-2020
This makes a strong case for how great and underappreciated Merlot is here in the states, and might just be the best representation out of Napa for the price. Bursting at the seems with juicy blackberry, it counters with high-grade cacao and creamy vanilla. By no means lazy or flat, it provides ample lift to keep those decadent flavors in focus. Finishing with exotic wood, baking spice and hint of plum pudding, this compelling number should find a place in everyone's collection. You honestly can't afford *not* to try it.

2016 Bootleg Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 04-03-2020
Striking packaging and evocative name aside, this is serious wine. Imagine a team of dedicated professionals willing to do whatever it takes to deliver proper booze to a receptive audience, and you basically have the whole story. To compile a noteworthy blend of purely Napa-sourced fruit would seem unthinkable, but they've succeeded admirably. Ripe blueberry, raspberry and cherry at the front, followed by nutmeg and a touch of black pepper. It's rich, but not overly extracted, riding a fine line on its well-honed acid edge - nothing flabby or gummy like other blends I won't call out by name. The finish brings cozy tones of mocha, but with a bitter herb quality. Is it rhubarb? Quinine? Both? Though the specifics elude me, the total package sets a new high bar for wines of its kind.

2006 Deanston 13 Year Old Cream Sherry Finish Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2020
I have long been a fan of Deanston's sherry selections since I cut my teeth on a 10 year-old Pedro Ximenez finished bottling of theirs. What that release lacked in complexity this makes up for several times over. Unmistakable whiffs of Oloroso on the nose - roast walnut, dried fruit and woody syrup - perfectly frame Deanston's earthy malt. Dark fruit and healthy spice abound, wrapped up in the caramelized sugars of the cream sherry. Not as dessert-y a dram as one might expect, this alludes more to the nutty character of Emilio Hidalgo's Morenita than to the Bristol Cream from Grandma's cupboard. It's a serious sherry finish for a serious whisky, though with a satisfyingly sweet finish. Delightful to drink.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box Great King Street "Artist's" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2020
I think blended Scotch gets a bad rap these days. It may lack some of the distinctive traits of the more coveted single malts, when you consider how much cask blending occurs in the massive production at big-name distilleries, you might reconsider any prejudice you may have for the category. Especially because some of it is damn delicious. Enter the Artist's Blend from Compass Box's Great King Street line. Though it's perfectly suited for a wide variety of cocktails (I recently used it for the base in a batch of Penicillin) it's endlessly enjoyable on its own. Vanilla, sweet cream, stewed peach and golden grain meld seamlessly with savory malt, ample spice and a hint of minty peat. The name of the game here is balance - something the blenders at Compass Box are exceptionally skilled at maintaining. That same artistry is at work in all the nationally available single malts, but you can get a bottle of this for a fraction of the price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Corner Creek 10 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-25-2020
A delight to drink, and a stunning value for a 10-year age statement. Sure it lacks the fire of Elijah Craig's barrel proof, but it by no means lacks flavor. Plus, it's one you can feel confident giving to someone not as experienced with cask strength offerings, who just likes it neat or with a single ice cube. Easy-going and fresh, it delivers a soft, corn-focused nose - sweet and delicate, almost floral. But there is serious weight on the palate, with sticky salted caramel and savory herbs. Oak and vanilla give it richness and satisfying texture, while the surprisingly long finish offers a dry, mineral quality that offsets the sweetness upfront. I think even the most fickle bourbon fans will find a lot to enjoy in this humble bottle. It's a sleeper, if I ever saw one.
Price: Hidden View Price

Château de la Grangerie K&L Exclusive Armagnac (1L)
Review Date: 02-21-2020
This bottle is consistently one of the best values in the store. Any customer in need of a versatile cocktail brandy, especially for batches, I point to La Grangerie. Delicate and oh-so drinkable but by no means simple, expect to find layers of flowers, stone fruit and almond with a pleasing texture and a honey-like finish. Whether using it as an ingredient or looking to end your day with a spirit that's not challenging, you cannot find a better, easier brandy for this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-20-2020
Another stunning example of Chateauneuf du Pape, the 2017 Giraud delivers on every level. Sticky black fruit, sumptuous and decadent, balanced by sufficient spice and river rock minerals. The oak is present without feeling overwhelming thanks to concrete aging on a sizable portion of the final blend. Though this could age for years to come, I would encourage anyone crack it open right now, make some cassoulet and go to town.

2011 Chairman's Reserve 8 Year Old "Master's Selection" K&L Exclusive Barrel #151 John Dore Pot Coffey Column Blended Single Barrel St Lucia Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2020
What a treasure this fiendish bottle is. Expect a hell of a lot of rum for the price, but keep in mind how volatile and oily these tropics-aged barrels can be. Exquisite vanilla, toasted almond, fleshy coconut and a touch of baker's chocolate waft across the sticky, funky molasses of the John Dore distillate. Combined with the column still juice that provides an almost crystalline sweetness, layers of complex fruit and spice rise and fall in waves. This sip shows baked banana dipped in sticky brown sugar; the next, caramel coated nuts crumbled atop charred banana leaves with a sprinkling of acetone. Remember also that air and water are best friends for these types of brooding, impossibly deep spirits. They prop him up, remind him of his best qualities, and let the rest of the world appreciate the beauty inside.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Equal Parts Baked American Pure 2 & Maker's 46 Barrel" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2020
Every day, I encounter folks looking for the big-name, low-volume bottles that cause all of us whiskey fans to salivate and shake in anticipation or anguish. So often those seeking one or two particular bottles that long since sold through our tiny allocation will leave empty-handed without giving a second glance to our freshly stocked shelves. Yet bottles like this Private Select continue to deliver the quality and endless drinkability of the coveted few, only with sufficient availability that you don't feel guilty when you find your bottle empty. This thing is so soft it's almost criminal. Caramel and baked apple tussle with tons of well-integrated vanilla, forming a rich, enticing palate. There's plenty of salted nuts, ripe banana and cinammon spice on the back to keep things interesting even after multiple glasses. Anyone can enjoy it, but wheat lovesr will absolutely devour this with abandon. What strikes me is how it seems so unpretentious and wholesome. Like slipping under a cozy blanket with a fire going, this makes me feel safe, warm and nurtured. Sure, it's no Pappy, but what else is? Do we really need Pappy? I'd rather have a 6-pack of this - just wake me up when it's all gone, because I will have slept through several alarms.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Quinta Vale do Meao "Meandro" Douro
Review Date: 01-30-2020
This might be the best vintage of Meandro that I've tasted yet, a prime example once again of the quality and value in Portuguese reds. The quintessential Duoro razzleberry flavor is ever-present, but lifted this time by perfumed aromatics and vibrant acid. A touch of oak spice and gentle tannin make this extremely versatile for pairing with food. At this price point, you don't have to feel guilty about opening it at a party, but you may want to pour yourself a few hefty glasses before you share.

2019 Brokenwood Sémillon Hunter Valley New South Wales
Review Date: 01-30-2020
If any wine could convince you to drink more Semillon, this is it. Brimming with acid, it creates brilliant tension to support a complex array of flavors, holding everything in perfect suspense. Fresh grass and meadow flowers, subtle peach skin, mandarin orange and pristine, stony minerals achieve beautiful balance. Completely dry, but with sufficient weight, I could easily see this pairing with roast chicken, rich seafood or pork, but I would gladly drink this on its own any day of the week.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Malmont Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 01-16-2020
The 2017 Malmont offering from this underrated village is quite possibly their best version yet. A dry growing season led to low yields and tough conditions, but the resilient grapes that survived through ripening resulted in exquisite flavors and sublime structure. The ripe Grenache and Syrah truly shine here, with bright strawberry and lush blackberry, balanced beautifully by mocha and garrigue. I'd wager this gives Beaucastel's Côtes-du-Rhône a run for its money.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 01-16-2020
Every time a new vintage of this arrives in our stores is like a second Christmas. I am admittedly a huge fan of French Syrah, but this wine will appeal to most any palate. An enchanting nose of jasmine, lilac and freshly tilled earth leads to an equally pretty palate boasting ripe boysenberry, stewed meat, dried herbs and pristine acid. It's such a joy to taste that I could not resist the impulse to revisit this bottle several times over the course of the day. I highly recommend stocking multiple bottles to avoid the disappointment of running out.

1988 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Frêche #17" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2020
This is one of the most pretty and nuanced Armagnacs I have had the great pleasure to taste. It takes a deft hand to so perfectly combine power and grace, and I still have a hard time wrapping my head around it. Mandarin orange, berries & cream, exotic woods and fresh tobacco float out of the glass, and the palate delivers those same flavors on a bed of fresh red berries, cola nut and mocha. The finish here is insanely long and displays tremendous finesse, with coriander, cardamom and cinnamon gently reaching the far reaches of the palate. A touch of water creates an explosion of strawberries and cranberries, soft and bright, combined with peach and more spice. I just can't seem to get enough of this one.
Price: Hidden View Price

2007 Fine Pot Distilled Jamaican (Monymusk) 11 Year Old "Thompson Bros." K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-08-2019
It is an increasingly rare treat these days to find properly aged pot still Jamaican rum, and this provides the perfect example of what that age can do. Like a fruit salad someone lit on fire, the aromas are intense, varied, and wild. It triggers an impulse in some primitive part of my brain that is at once terrified and enchanted. Waxy funk carries cherries jubilee, cinnamon stick, eucalyptus, and Thai basil across the palate, unabashed and unrepentant. It assaults all the senses and takes them prisoner, and I find myself succumbing to Stockholm Syndrome. A healthy dose of water reveals delicate citrus, banana and pineapple, as well as subtler sage and teak flavors, showing that this beast does have a tender side. No matter how you drink it, this a fantastic rum, and it won't last long.
Price: Hidden View Price

Rock Rose Premium Scottish Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 12-08-2019
This is dangerously good. I would drink a full glass of this neat without hesitation. Though juniper-forward in the traditional English style, it is superbly balanced. Bittersweet citrus peel, fresh herbs, cinnamon, and a touch of cardamom complement the piquant juniper flavor perfectly. But perhaps most impressive is the quality of the base spirit. With an immaculate sweet grain note, it shows the expert craftsmanship at play here. Truly a masterpiece.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel "#4478 (Warehouse O, Floor 1)" Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-08-2019
These barrels always represent some of the best values in bourbon. Complex, full-flavored and endlessly drinkable, it makes for the perfect introduction to Old Forester's style as well as a great gift. Caramel corn, a touch of citrus and elevated spice form a strong first impression, but the finish smooths out with almond sandy and creamy vanilla. I just want to sink into a plush armchair and nurse a healthy pour of this all night. In a word: superb.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Veronica Ortega "Quite" Bierzo
Review Date: 12-01-2019
Veronica Ortega has quickly become one of my favorite wine-makers in the region because of bottles like this. Pristine fruit, savory herb, and refreshing acidity achieve sublime balance. There's dark, fleshy berries and a touch of smoked meat reminiscent of Northern Rhone reds, but with far less weight on the palate. Instead, high tone floral aromatics and the aforementioned acid provide ample lift, culminating in a lasting, satisfying mineral impression. The whole way through, black and white pepper play in the background, leaving a tingling sensation on the tongue that enhances the flavors rather than taking focus from them. Altogether, this is superbly crafted wine, and I cannot wait to share it at gatherings going forward.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

5 Sentidos K&L Exclusive Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2019
This exemplary mezcal shows how time, dedication and impeccable technique can acheive some of the highest quality spirit imagineable, certified or not. Careful cultivation and handling of this Espadin yields something altogether different from the overcooked and ruddy tastes of high-volume cocktail-only mezcal. The flavors are immaculate and fresh, snapping into focus from the moment the liquid leaves the bottle. Piquant lime zest and mellow roasted roots up front transition seamlessly into chamomille, fresh herbs and green agave. On the back end, a meaty char and the requisite savory smoke give the feeling of serious weight, but all of it is held in perfect balance by a lingering mineral character that leaves the finish just as dry and crisp as the start. Honestly, it's dangerous how easily this goes down; pace yourself, but don't be surprised if you have to buy several bottles before this batch is gone.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2017 Susana Balbo "Signature" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 09-13-2019
If ever I need to explain why Susana Balbo is such a celebrated winemaker, I simply point to this wine. Dark, perfumed, and voluptuous, it might appear at first sniff to be a dense beast of a wine. Not so: silky tannin, exquisite fruit, and high-toned acid paint a perfect picture of Mendoza Malbec that is at once easily approachable yet remarkably refined. Endlessly drinkable, this is one you'll want to revisit again and again.

2007 Foursquare Rum Distillery 12 Year Old "Ex-Bourbon Cask" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark X Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Foursquare was the first rum that captivated me and led me down the lengthy rabbit hole that is sugarcane spirits. I used to say these static-aged ex-bourbon barrel releases drink like cask-strength bourbon made from molasses instead of corn. While there's an element of truth to that with flavors of caramel, toasted oak and woody spice, these rums show distinctly tropical qualities you don't find in Kentucky whiskey. Hints of ripe banana and papaya play off the dark sugar tones, though the finish remains perfectly dry. The concentration and density are unparalleled as well, a result of time spent ageing on the island.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Leopold Bros. "Summer" Limited Edition Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-09-2019
Personally, I remain adamant that if you're going to use a gin in cocktails, it should be perfectly palatable without adulteration. Leopold's Summer Gin accomplishes that feat with aplomb. It smells like a summer breeze through a picturesque garden complete with citrus trees on the outskirts. The juniper here is ever-present, but by no means aggressive. Clean, fresh, and right on the mark in every respect, it carries its weight with poise and finesse, but there's nothing pretentious about it. This gin would do just as well with a single ice cube as in an extravagant cocktail that looks like a peacock in a Collins glass and costs you an arm and a leg in Hollywood. I highly recommend picking up a bottle before it hibernates for the winter.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
A wave of sticky nectars and brown sugar rushes from the glass, betraying the decadence therein. Looking past that, however, one finds subtler aromas akin to fine armagnac, and perhaps a whiff of flor as though from serious aged sherry. Stewed peaches, cherry compote and crème brûlée achieve an effortless harmony without feeling too heavy. A youthful undercurrent of sweet corn and fresh grass does remind you that this is, in fact, bourbon, but one could easily mistake this for fine brandy. Be sure to pick up this one-of-a-kind bottle before they're gone.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "Story of the Spaniard" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-18-2018
This latest release from Compass Box reflects the mastery of their blending techniques in a bottle everyone can enjoy. Cozy scents of sea air, marzipan and apricot greet you immediately, imploring you to sit and savor the dram. Though relatively light in body, it provides impressive concentration of flavor. Its complex charactger pairs candied citrus and salty caramel with delicate spice and a savory finish. I consider myself fortunate to sample such a friendly, generous whisky; I encourage you to treat yourself to a taste.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Another example of why they call 2012 "The Miracle Vintage," Roederer's 2012 Brut boasts gorgeous structure and an elegant, long-lasting finish. Marrying light brioche toast, orange marmalade, soft floral aromas and pleasing minerality, it is easy to see why this house commands such respect. Their vintage bruts serve as a bench-mark for champagne year after year, and this iteration could be the best yet. A credit to the winemakers, the wine feels impressively deft on the palate despite the weight of its pinot-heavy blend. This bottle is a consummate companion to any celebration, as it is a celebration in and of itself.

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
An easy pick for any fan of Blanc de Noirs, the Cuvée​ Tradition presents opulence at a beyond reasonable price. The smell alone conveys the Pinot Meunier's richness exuberantly. Unctuous flavors of dried fruit and candied almonds envelop the palate but finish cleanly. Instantly appealing for anyone who wants more body in their bubbles, this makes a strong case for being one of the best values in Champagne right now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Auchentoshan "Three Wood" Lowland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-22-2018
The Three Wood beautifully showcases the movement away from age statements and toward creative cask finishes. On the nose, it immediately offers enticing aromas of dried fruit, orange peel, caramelized sugar and ample spice. On the palate, it tastes full and complex despite its three distillations. Vanilla and dry sherry dominate at first but give way to soft tones of toffee and raisins. Typical of lowland malts, the finish brings a lingering nutty sweetness, but with a hint of charred wood. Altogether, it makes for an endlessly enjoyable dram that satisfies most any palate. I highly recommend this bottle for fans of bourbon or Irish whisky trying to break into Scottish single malts. It's also a great pick for scotch drinkers looking for something new in a sherry-focused style.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart