Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Kaj Stromer

Kaj Stromer

Reviews

2012 Domaine de la Vivonne Bandol
Review Date: 08-10-2020
This is one of the coolest wines I've tasted recently. We all love the deep brooding wines of Bandol but frequently avert our gaze as the wines need years to soften. At eight years of age, the La Vivonne has turned into a silky elegant red wine with a perfect streak of maturity. There's all that dark blue and red fruit delivered over the palate in a satchel of old saddle leather. It's like pulling a bottle out of your own wine cellar that's been resting peacefully for soon a decade. This is a must buy at a ridiculously low price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Sous la Montagne Fitou
Review Date: 08-10-2020
This Carignan dominant blend from the southwest of France really hits the spot for me when I'm looking for an intense, palate coating, best buy red blend. The appellation of Fitou sits contiguously south of Corbieres and offers a landscape of rocky mountains and arid valleys. Not surprisingly, this region has transitioned from a sleepy back water to prime vineyard land. Rounding out the blend with equal parts Syrah and Grenache you get a brilliant robust red that has plenty of mouthwatering fruit with just a touch of the rusticity reminiscent of the rugged terrain. At $14 I'd say this one of our best buys in red wine. It's delicious.

2016 Bohème "English Hill Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-31-2020
I have limited experience with Kurt Beitler's wines but this single-vineyard, Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir has made a believer out of me. Kurt comes from a long line of wine royalty; Chuck Wagner (Caymus) is his uncle. But Kurt stands on his own far out on the Sonoma Coast wilderness sourcing fruit from top vineyard sites. I savored this bottle over a three night period and the wine just got better and better with each taste. It is exceptionally complex on the nose with a bouquet of black cherry, green leaf, forest floor, and a touch of wood smoke. There's flesh on the palate accompanied by an intensity that just doesn't quit. Ultimately, that leads to a long, lingering finish that it most pleasing. This is a very limited production Pinot Noir and we're able to offer it at a very attractive discounted price. I'm confident this will sell out in short order.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-27-2020
The 2016 Oakville Cab from Liparita stands as one of the most successful Cabernet offers we've ever done. First of all, the 2016 vintage is considered one of the best in years. Napa Valley Cabernet producers and critics alike were all in agreement about the amazing quality of the vintage. Secondly, few AVA’s can hold a candle to the roster of wines that hail from the Oakville sub-appellation. From pioneers like Mondavi and Heitz to powerhouse brands like Groth, Far Niente, and Opus One, through “cult Cabernet” producers Dalla Valle, Harlan Estate and Screaming Eagle; tells a condensed story of Oakville. This is 100% pure Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon. The wine is gorgeous displaying all the tell-tale Cabernet characteristics of black currants (cassis), blackberry, black cherry, dried herbs and a touch of cedar. This is a premium, top-tier Cab that delivers on every level. We were sold out of this wine for some time now but the winery once again opened up their cellar for us to grab another cache. Enjoy while it lasts.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Westwood "Annadel Gap Vineyard" Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-22-2020
Renowned winemaker Philippe Melka has been a mainstay of the premium Napa Valley Cabernet scene as long as I can remember. After making so many of the valley's most sought after wines, I figured it was just a matter of time before his interest drifted to Sonoma County and the regal Pinot Noir grape. His Westwood wines have been met with great critical acclaim by the press and gradually building a fan base with consumers as well. This wine is about as seemless and charming of a Pinot Noir I've tasted in some time. A brilliant combination of ripe red cherries and roses rises from the glasses and follows on the palate. This is a gorgeous mid weight Pinot whose finish lasts for a minute plus. I'd pair this with duck breast cooked to perfection. A perfect match.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Sullivan Family "Estate" Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-21-2020
Following on the heals of our extremely successful offer for the Sullivan Bordeaux style red ("Couer de Vigne") we were able to grab a parcel of their Estate Cabernet Sauvignon direct from the cellar. This winery may not be on your radar yet but it sits squarely in the heart of Napa Valley’s finest terrior. Located between Oakville and St. Helena, Rutherford is hallowed ground for lovers of Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. As soon as I put the glass to my nose, I immediately got a sense of the pedigree of this wine. After my first taste, my initial impressions were confirmed. The tell tale Rutherford dust was front and center. I was particularly impressed by its seamless quality. It’s nicely packed with fresh picked ripe berries and compote. There’s good textural appeal with ripe and round tannins framing the long polished finish. While approachable now, this will benefit from a touch of age.

2019 Massican Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-15-2020
If I could only drink three white wines ever again, I'd select; Chardonnay, Riesling, and Sauvignon Blanc. The Sauvignon Blanc from Massican is the kind of wine that informs that decision. While the world is full of easy and satisfying Sauvignon, there are enough examples to argue how this is one of the most noble of all the white grapes. Dan Petroski puts his heart and soul into crafting top shelf wines inspired by his Italian heritage. This reminds me of the best bottlings of Quarz by Terlan. Few wines give me as much satisfaction and the Massican is a dead ringer from the new world. It takes a few hours to fully open up at this young stage, but once it's there, you're greeted by a symphony of finely tuned flavors. There's sexy waxy lemon rind, green leaf, and a distant hint of tropical fruit. The wine is both taut and expressive (given some air). It's textural and shines with a complex streak of both passion fruit and honeysuckle. I'll be squirreling a few of these away in my locker and maybe a few in the home cupboard. It's a winner!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2016 Carmel Road Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-09-2020
Following a string of successes with Carmel Road winery, we're now able to offer you their 2016 Santa Lucia Highlands bottling. For my taste, this may be the best wine I've tried from them. It's all about the terroir and the Santa Lucia Highlands are about as good as it gets along California central coast. Pisoni, Roar, Lucia, Kosta-Browne, Siduri, and more all source grapes from here. But none of those wines can be had for anywhere near this price. This wine is absolutely gorgeous with captivating aromatics and succulent fruit on the palate. It's creamy and silky and slides across your tongue with a minutes long finish. I'm not sure how we keep getting these amazing deals from Carmel Road but I'll count our blessings while we do. Buy up, buy now. Every offer of Carmel Road Pinot Noir has sold out.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 J. Wilkes "Highland District" Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-25-2020
I've been a big fan of winemaker Wes Hagen ever since his days crafting brilliant Pinot Noir at Clos Pepe. Now he's deploying his skills at J. Wilkes, the sister winery to the Bien Nacido Estate. I liked this wine at the original $30 but I'm loving it even more at $20! Paso Robles has turned into a reliable source for fresh and juicy Cabernet Sauvignon built for early drinking. For the price, the wine is remarkably polished with classic hints of blackberry, cassis, plum, with a touch of oak. It's velvety smooth on the palate and simply a joy to drink. I dare say you could even put a light chill on this and make it your "house" Cab when grilling up trip-tip and barbecue. It's a remarkably versatile Cabernet Sauvignon with just a dollop (5%) of Lagrein.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ponzi "Reserve" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-02-2020
In case you haven't experienced the enthusiasm for Oregon Chardonnay lately it's time to get on board. After decades of trial-and-error the fruits of their labor is paying off! Based on my tastings in 2019 and early 2020 I consider this one of the most exciting trends in the entire wine world. So when Ponzi offered us the chance to scoop us the last of their 2016 Reserve bottling we jumped on it. The Reserve bottling is sourced from a few important LIVE certified and sustainable vineyards in the Willamette Valley and several sub AVAs. It leans towards the richer style with hints of fresh apples and toasted nuts. It's medium bodied with a bright core of vibrant acidity and a just a touch of oak spice. To entice you even more, we have a very attractive price for you. It's hard to say "no"...so don't!

2017 Holus Bolus "Franc de Pied" Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 05-13-2020
Two of my favorite and most respected winemakers are the husband and wife tandem of Peter Hunken and Amy Christine MW. Peter has been mastering his craft since 2001 making wine at Stolpman Vineyards and Piedrassasi. Amy earned the title of Master of Wine back in 2013. That makes her only one of thirteen women in the US to achieve this remarkable goal. It's safe to assume that she's really smart and incredibly dedicated. Together they've been making small batches of wine under both the Hocus Pocus and Holus Bolus labels. I've been selling their wines since the early days and I can assure you that the quality trajectory has been meteoric. The Franc de Pied my be the finest wine I've ever enjoyed from Holus Bolus. The wine possesses all the tell tale characteristics of own rooter, old-vine Syrah planted in the perfect terroir. Dark blueberry, creosote, spice, olive notes, and just a touch of funk tell you that this is a pure expression of Syrah. I urge you to take advantage of special offer now. Bravo to Peter and Amy.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Seavey "Caravina" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2020
This micro-small family winery has been quietly making gorgeous mountain-grown "estate" Cabernet Sauvignon for a small but adoring league of fans for 30+ years. This historic property was purchased in 1979 and replanted by Bill and Mary Seavey. Together they carved out a gorgeous little "wine oasis" up the mountainside above the Silverado Trail, just north of Pritchard Hill. The "Caravina" bottling, with its supple tannins and youthful intensity, represents an expression that is more forward in its youth than their more muscular flagship Cabernet Sauvignon. Jim Duane leads the winemaking team having joined Seavey in 2011 after stints at Robert Mondavi Winery and Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars. He works in tandem with super-consultant Philippe Melka. These guys "get" Cabernet Sauvignon. For a limited time only, we're able to make you a very special offer on this classic Napa Valley beauty.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2018 Sante Arcangeli "Integrato" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-04-2020
John Benedetti produces a half dozen different wines sourced primarily from the Corralitos region of the Santa Cruz mountains. His focus is on creating both nuanced and approachable Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. He grows some of his fruit and sources the rest from select coastal mountain vineyards. This is a micro-small production winery with most releases not exceeding 500 cases. The "Integrato" represents a best barrels from his several different parcels. Like the best Pinot Noir, the wine is light on its feet with rather pretty floral aromatics. The wine is nearly translucent but don't be fooled by the color. There's plenty of intensity here. The wine leans more towards flowers and wood spice with a tinge of strawberry and a hint of tart cranberry. I quite like this wine and it is represents great value at this price.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Ridge Vineyards "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-03-2020
One of the most memorable wines I ever tasted was the 1990 Ridge Geyserville purchased and drank upon release. Growing up in NJ I was mostly exposed to inexpensive European wines which were oftentimes middling Rhones or poor excuses from Italy served at my favorite restaurants in Little Italy. But when I first put my nose in that '90 Geyserville, it nearly blew my mind. I had never encountered so much luxurious fruit. Well, this Pagani Ranch Zinfandel reminded me of that earlier wine. It's such an excruciatingly delicious wine just packed with fresh brambly berries with a mile long finish. I could smell this amazing fruit bowl bouquet all day long. Simply lovely.

2016 Whitehall Lane Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 04-03-2020
If there ever was a wine to put an end to the foolish notions regarding Merlot, this should be it. This is one serious Napa Valley red. The wine is packed with a brood of glorious berries, cocoa, leather, and spice. It reminds me a warm vintage Pomerol. One of my first trips ever to Napa Valley included a stop at Whitehall Lane to visit with owner Tom Leonardini Jr. I was impressed then and I continue to be impressed now; perhaps more than ever. I recently tasted through the entire lineup and this Merlot turned out to be a serious head turner. Three cheers.

2016 Bootleg Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 04-03-2020
Everyday we get customers asking for a "red blend". While that is a wide ranging category, there are a few wines that define the genre. The Bootleg Red might just be be the prototypical "red blend". Its pedigree is without question as it is sourced from top Napa vineyards and made from classic Napa red varietals. While the blend changes from vintage to vintage, it's usually a mix of Merlot, Syrah, Petite Sirah, and sometimes Cab. There's beautiful red and black berries on the nose followed by some toasty oak, vanilla, and wood spice. This wine is full bodied, rich, and complex. I'd gladly recommend this wine to all fans of "red blend" category.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 GKG Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-04-2020
This is an amazing opportunity to grab the last batch of this gorgeous Napa Cab at over 25% OFF the original winery price. The 2015 Cab is aged 18 months in 100% French Oak of which 60% is new. This is 96% Cabernet Sauvignon rounded out with a touch of Cabernet Franc, Merlot, and Malbed. It offers incredible purity of flavor and elegance. There’s plenty of blue fruits, cassis, graphite, and violet tinged-aromas and flavors. This is classic, full-bodied Cabernet Sauvignon with polished tannins, no hard edges, and a great finish. This multi-dimensional Cabernet Sauvignon can be enjoyed over the coming 10+ years.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Turtle Rock "Westberg Red" Paso Robles Zinfandel-Tempranillo
Review Date: 02-19-2020
This exuberant red is bursting with flavor. There’s plenty of classic Zinfandel fruit; brambly and briary, punctuated by the elegance and grace of Tempranillo. It’s truly a remarkable combination. The nose emits a wild array of berries and flowers. Though it skews towards being a bigger style wine, enthusiasts will be impressed by its sleek and seamless nature. If there’s a BBQ or Tri-Tip in your future, be sure to pour a bottle of the Westberg Red into a decanter about an hour ahead of schedule. The pairing will silence the room. Drink up!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Turtle Rock "Claude's Cuvee" Paso Robles Red Blend
Review Date: 02-19-2020
The Turtle Rock wines are turning heads in the wine world. Not since the early days of Saxum and Linne Calodo has a winery sparked such a round of enthusiasm for Paso Robles. While most closely similar to a Rhone style red, this blend is pure Paso. For lovers of bold, rich, and robust wines, the Turtle Rock wines are a must have. At about $60 a bottle they’re actually a steal when compared to peers. Don Burns and his Turtle Rock winery have kicked it up a notch and this is clearly the most important new Paso winery to watch. I give this a strong “buy” recommendation.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bien Nacido "Estate" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-05-2020
The fruit for this esteemed wine is sourced from 5 different blocks within the Bien Nacido vineyard; including Block Q, the oldest parcel. Each parcel is specially selected to give the wine an extra added dimension. They use 30% whole cluster to bolster the aromatics and the wine is aged for 18 months in 30% new French oak. The commitment to excellence along with the best raw materials leads to a Pinot Noir of exceptional complexity and charm. The wine possesses an exceptional array of red fruit and spice notes indicative of the most prized vineyard sites. It’s silky on the palate and the finish goes on for 30+ seconds. Simply gorgeous.

2018 Diatom "Bar-M" Los Alamos Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-05-2020
The most inspired part of Greg Brewer's wine making philosophy is simplicity. His goal is to capture the purity of the fruit without any adornment. It's an approach that embodies traditional wine making with an emphasis on precision and restraint. Greg will reference the finest sushi chefs when he describes his approach to creating wine. The vineyards are planted in ancient marine sediment unique to the western Sta. Rita Hills. The saline quality adds a savoriness to the succulent citrus fruit profile. The Bar-M personifies purity of fruit like few others. This is another example of why Greg is so revered as one of the masters of Chardonnay and the Sta. Rita Hills soils.

2018 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-29-2020
I had the opportunity to taste all the new Hartford Court releases with winemaker Jeff Stewart. We began with their Russian River Valley Chardonnay. As soon as I brought the wine to my nose I knew this was special. After tasting it the smile on my face must have revealed my enthusiasm. Jeff remarked as he smiled, “I think it’s the best one I ever made.” Put the name Kistler on the label and this is a 96 point wine! For Chardonnay lovers, this is perfection in a glass. There’s plenty of spiced apple and pear along with just a touch of lightly toasted oak. The wine is opulent and expressive and there’s plenty of acidity to keep it light on its feet as it glides across your palate. This is another world class effort from our friends at Hartford Court. Bravo!

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Bonneveau" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-23-2020
I found the “Bonneveau” to be the most accessible of the three Lieu Dit wines. It possesses all that classic northern Rhone Syrah character. To be sure, this is still a structured and brooding wine. But, there is a freshness on the palate that gives the wine enough lift to be drunk young. There’s plenty of minerality, spice, and blue fruit to entice the drinker. I suggest you hold off on this one for 3-5 years to catch the wine in a most perfectly integrated state. But, if you don’t feel like waiting; a long decant and a hunk of beef ought to do the trick. Really lovely stuff.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu-Dit Patou" Cornas
Review Date: 01-23-2020
Of the Ferraton “Lieu Dit” series of wines we tasted, the Cornas is the most brooding and structured of the trio. There’s real pedigree in these steep slopes of decomposed granite. This south facing site is able to capture enough sun in order to fully ripen the grapes resulting in wines of outstanding purity and richness. The grapes are macerated in concrete vats and aged in oak (10% new) for 12 – 14 months. The wine is dark red/purple. There’s ripe currant and blueberry aromatics followed by a powerful and dense structure on the palate. Lock this one away in your cellar for a good 7-10 years. If you can’t wait, decant for a good hour or two in advance. It’s a lot of wine for the money.

2018 Fundamental Wines (Tensley) Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 01-15-2020
The highly talented Joey Tensley has crafted an outstanding white wine inspired by the amazing value-driven whites he’s long cherished from the south of France. At first you’re greeted with hints of honey and cinnamon poured over freshly cut seasonal peaches. The aromatics are exotic and wild with plenty of orchard fruit, orange water, and middle-eastern spice. There’s plenty of bracing acidity to keep the wine fresh and bright on the palate with a solid fruit core. This Rhone-style white is arguably the best version at this price I’ve come across in quite a while.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 12-10-2019
I have the great pleasure of tasting more wines on a weekly basis than I care to admit; and this was easily one of the most impressive I tasted at a recent session. I love the complete package of blue fruits, stony minerality, the hint of roasted tar, all dusted by a touch of Asian spice. The wine possesses opulence but it’s kept quite compact on account of the very impressive structure. Syrah enthusiasts would be well served loading up on this one. Very impressed!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

2017 Domaine des Rémizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 12-10-2019
The wines of Crozes-Hermitage have improved so dramatically over the past 20 years that this is now your go-to source for world class Syrah; and best of all, at a user friendly price. Thanks to the efforts of producers like Domaine des Remizieres, this appellation has undergone a radical upgrade in quality now producing some of the finest Syrah sporting all that classic northern Rhone character. While this may not quite be Hermitage or Cote-Rotie, you can pick up a case of this wine for what you might pay for one bottle of its better addressed neighbor.

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 12-10-2019
The Chateau de L'Ou Infiniment is a very pleasing hybrid style of old and new world Syrah. There’s plenty of fruit up front, from blueberries to blackberries with a distant hint of cassis. But for the all the forward fruit, there’s also a charming old world backdrop of wood spice, forest floor, and a floral note. This wine isn’t shy but it’s quite polished so as to not overwhelm the taster. This would make for a nice after work glass of red and would absolutely be a wonderful compliment to savory stews and roast meats.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Galia "Villages" Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 12-05-2019
This is the first wine I’ve had the pleasure to try from this producer. The wine is darkly hued with gorgeous aromatics of plums, black cherries, and wood spice. I like the brooding aspect of this wine. It’s firm, hearty and robust in one very complete, seamless package. The wines of the region are assertive and bold. Yet this wine has a velvety texture that makes it a true pleasure to drink. I’d pair this with grilled lamb chops.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2018 Tensley "Colson Canyon Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 11-24-2019
Explosive aromatics of dark berries, flowers, and forest floor charge from the glass. The wine is full-bodied and densely packed but it all rides on a firm structure of ripe tannins and elevating acidity. The wine screams across the palate like a fine-tuned precision race car. I’ve been a fan of this bottling for the last several years and this is their best offering yet. We managed to lock up a healthy parcel of this wine in order to get it out to you during the holidays. This is a perfect holiday/winter wine that you should not miss out on. And if you forget a few bottles in the cellar for several years…all the better. This is a best-of-show award winning Santa Barbara Syrah. Bravo to Joey Tensley and team!

2017 Seabold Cellars "Olson Vineyard" Monterey Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-04-2019
The Olson Vineyard is considered one of the coolest wine growing sites in all of California. As a result, the grapes achieve and maintain a bracing acidity along with perfect phenolic ripeness. Like a fine Mosel Riesling, the wine's complexity rides on the streak of racy acid. There’s much to love here. The aromatics are complex with traces of Meyer lemon, ripe peach, white flowers and a dusting of spice. This is a perfect accompaniment to briny oysters or succulent lobster. I’d guess that the wine could be even better with just a couple of years in the cellar as it gets a chance to stretch out its legs. This is a noteworthy effort and a winery to watch.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-26-2019
Few wines scream summertime more than fresh squeezed New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. They are the perfect pool party or happy hour wine. There is so much bright zesty fruit here that you can use it to slake your thirst or use it to wash down fresh crudo or a shrimp salad with mango. We’ve had tremendous response with Astrolabe and this wine carries the tradition. It’s packed with both juicy tropical and stone fruit. The fruit is complemented by the fresh cut herbs and bright acidity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Westwood "Legend" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 06-19-2019
The “Legend” in the name must be referring to the one and and only, winemaker extraordinaire Philippe Melka. Philippe has made a career out of making other people famous. He has created some of the most sought-after, top-scoring wines from California for over two decades. With this inaugural release, he’s doing it for himself. This fascinating hypothetical meeting of Bordeaux and Chateauneuf-du-Pape is really quite intriguing. The flavor profile is an amalgam of red and black fruits with a hint of leather and earth all framed by ripe, soft, dusty tannins and quite a long finish. It tastes like the perfect steakhouse wine as I cannot image a more perfectly suited wine. I anticipate that this will be making lots of new friends once the corks get pulled.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart

Inverroche Classic Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
This dead ringer for a dry London gin is actually from South Africa. The particular blend of local botanicals creates a near-perfect gin that leaves the drinker with the envious challenge of deciding whether to make a refreshing G&T or a classic martini. While the olive will work fine, I would recommend you go with the cocktail onion. Ultimately, either choice will serve you well. This bottle will be featured in my liquor cabinet for the summer. Gin & Tonics or martinis anyone?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Brockmans Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
This particular gin really caught me off guard. It’s not your typical juniper-driven martini gin. There’s a entire panoply of tropical fruits and red berries in the glass. This would be a workhorse for countless cocktails, though I imagine some might just like it on ice, or with a splash of soda and a twist. This is fun in a glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Stolpman "Para Maria" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-07-2018
There may not be another reference point wine for Syrah & Petit Verdot blends but the talented team at Stolpman Vineyards pulls this one off with flying colors. The deep and sultry blue fruits of Syrah are given additional structure, depth, and complexity when combined with Petit Verdot. To offset the potential brooding nature of this wine, they employ the use of whole-cluster carbonic maceration. The net effect of this is to give the wine lifted aromatics and greater freshness on the palate. I’m really impressed how this one came together. I’ll be serving this at my house for the next several months or as long as we have stock. This is another exceptional achievement from team Stolpman.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
In the middle of a substantial line-up of Bordeaux, the ’16 d’Arche was a stand out for many of the staff. I had to double check my tasting sheet for the price. $20 is a wonderfully low tariff to pay for a wine of such quality. This is the kind of wine that’s going to win over an entirely new generation of fans to Bordeaux. The wine possesses good structure (consisting of 90% Merlot) but it’s still accessible enough to drink now. The 10% Cabernet Franc lends a helping hand adding a secondary level of aromatic complexity and flavor beyond the gorgeous primary red berry fruit from the Merlot. I strongly recommend this wine.

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-12-2018
I’ve been a fan of this wine for the last couple of years. It’s an excellent alternative to Chardonnay for when you want something a little different but still slightly familiar. Lovers of Rhone-style white wines appreciate how this mélange of grapes come together to create something much bigger than the sum of its parts. The Viognier brings the wild aromatics, the Roussanne a touch of nutty earthiness, the Grenache Blanc with its bright melon fruit flavors, and finally the Chardonnay ties it all together. The wine is complex, balanced, and lively. It is amazingly food friendly but will serve as an aperitif just as well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-12-2018
I agree with my esteemed colleague Greg St. Clair that this wines savory character is proudly on full display here. This is a particularly strong showing for Fontesteau. This is the perfect opportunity for the uninitiated to wade into the Bordeaux waters while not spending too much money or getting a wine that needs 10+ years in the cellar. The wine is well-balanced and can hold a light chill making it a summer-time sipping Bordeaux. Don’t over think this wine; it’s delicious, it’s accessible now, and would pair perfectly with a cheeseburger off the grill. This is my kind of Bordeaux.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List