Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Robert Cash

Robert Cash

Reviews

2013 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-17-2020
This wine represents a tremendous value and would be the perfect transition into Rioja wine for the California red lover. The nose is very fresh with subtle oak, ripe red and black fruits, cloves, black pepper, and subtle spice. Medium-bodied and perfectly balanced on the palate with a silky mouthfeel and fresh minerality. The finish is very long with a pleasing spice component. Drinking beautifully right now with 4+ more years of aging potential.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Kopke Dry White Port
Review Date: 12-30-2019
Tasting the Kopke dry white port was a very pleasant surprise. Not at all what I was expecting. I thought it would be cloying and one-dimensional and it is anything but. The nose offers up beautiful stone-fruit as well as tropical fruit notes and white flowers. Very fresh! The palate is fresh, soft and clean, with a lovely unctuous texture, with enough acidity and a touch of sweetness to perfectly balance out the finish. Tremendously delicious!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Emilio Hidalgo "Villapanés" Oloroso Jerez
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Being a relative newcomer to the world of Oloroso, I had the distinct pleasure to recently taste what many consider to be one of the premier examples of the style produced today. It has a nose, I would describe it as elegant, with hints of butter toffee, figs, almonds, and a hint of orange peel. Dry and full on the palate, with nuts, dates, and toffee evident. Very complex, with a very long finish. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2016 Yering Station Estate Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 11-19-2019
I was very pleasantly surprised by this delightful Chardonnay. The nose is focused and taught with notes of lemon curd, pineapple, and subtle tropical fruit. On the palate, the wine is round and creamy without being heavy-handed, with fresh acidity and a subtle smoke element that reminded me of a white Burgundy. Tremendous value. This drinks well above this price point.

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Putting my nose in the glass I immediately knew this was something special. Such lovely aromas of subtle spice, dark fruit, and hints of bakers chocolate. Very aromatic. Balanced and effortless on the palate, it is light in body yet at the same time deep in flavor and complexity. Very approachable. The finish here is very long and lingering. Exceptional Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Tamdhu 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2019
I recently had the pleasure of tasting the 12-year offering from this iconic Speyside distillery. Tamdhu uses only the best Oloroso sherry oak casks from Spain to mature their whisky. The nose is rich and delightful with notes of raisins, caramel, hints of cinnamon, and stewed citrus. Smooth and balanced on the palate with hints of dried fruits. Absolutely delicious! The finish is long, and the only word that came to mind to describe it was "pretty." Natural color with no caramel coloring added. This is such a well-made Scotch.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2015 Marqués de Murrieta "Finca Ygay" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-25-2019
This was a joy to taste! The soft nose offers up aromas of leather, plum, dried red fruit, cigar box, and subtle, well-integrated oak. Medium-bodied on the palate, the wine is quite balanced with silky tannins and a long finish. Like liquid velvet! Definitely enjoyable now, but will certainly continue to age beautifully over the next several years. This is an eminently elegant wine from a legendary producer. Don't miss out!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2019
A high-quality Pinot Noir under $20 is not easy to find, Pinot Noir not being the easiest varietal to grow. But the folks at Talley are known for their renowned Pinots, and their many years of craftsmanship and expertise are evidenced here in their Bishop's Peak offering. The nose is beautiful, with a dynamic interplay of bramble, cherries, strawberries, and a touch of white pepper. Very balanced on the palate with notes of cherry, orange rind. Smooth, balanced with medium acidity and soft tannins and good length, this is a knockout value Pinot!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 du Vallier, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Comprised of 60% Merlot, 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, this delicious little Bordeaux is drinking beautifully right now. On the nose, it reveals dark fruits, some cedar and a touch of earth. Tannins are well integrated and soft. I was pleasantly struck with how well balanced the wine is on the palate. Seamless. A delicious red with a very wallet-friendly price!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2019
This is a gorgeous white Burgundy that delivers far more depth and quality than its Bourgogne Blanc appellation would suggest. Beautiful aromas of white flowers, lemon zest, and subtle wood greet you on the nose. On the palate, the wine is round and firm with a great balance of fruit and acidity. and a long dry finish. Absolutely delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 06-26-2019
The nose is quite pretty, with melon, dried flowers, baked apple, tropical fruit as well as stone fruit. On the fuller side in body and nicely balanced on the palate. Round with refreshing acidity, this is the perfect accompaniment for seafood, light pasta dishes, salads and white meats.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Four Graces Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-18-2019
The nose has a wonderfully inviting mix of dark cherry, bramble, and earth. The palate follows up with subtle spices, raspberry notes, dark fruit, medium tannins and a good backbone of acidity. Very inviting and quite delicious. This keeps getting better the longer I have it open. Very well made!
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Ridge has been one of my favorite California wineries for many years They produce wines of exceptional craftsmanship and elegance at all price points. I recently had the pleasure of tasting this 2016 Estate and was left thoroughly impressed. Very dark purple, almost opaque in the glass with a deep powerful nose of dark fruit, cigar box, cassis, and forest floor with a seamless wrapping of oak. Frankly, there are just a plethora of lovely aromas to be discovered. Truly wonderful. On the palate, it's rich, complex, layered and full without being overbearing or heavy handed. I tasted the flagship Ridge Monte Bello many years ago and the impression it left is still with me. The Estate ticks all the boxes that the Monte Bello did for me at a more affordable price point, and requiring less aging. Drink now and over the next few years with any grilled meats. To me, this is the epitome of great California Cabernet.

2017 Diatom "Katherine's" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-01-2019
This is an extraordinarily elegant, focused Chardonnay of grace and structure. The marine influence on the vineyards is subtly present on the nose as well as the palate. The nose offers up a plethora of citrus and tropical fruit aromas that seem endless. With no oak and no malo in the way, the quality of fruit and winemaking skill shines forth with minerality and a great acid structure. Medium bodied on the palate with a generous mouthfeel and long finish. This is a wine of tremendous quality!

2017 Rippon "Rippon" Mature Vine Riesling Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
Planted in schist laden soils, this hand-picked wine has a pleasingly expressive nose of lime/citrus and petrol. The palate follows with lime zest, flint, and lively acidity with a richly textured mouthfeel. it is dry and long on the finish. Quite age-worthy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-12-2019
A delicious Napa Valley Cab with an impeccable pedigree for under $30!?? Yes, please! The nose is full and rich with notes of leather, cigar box, anise, and dark fruits. On the palate, this is classic Napa Cab with cassis, pencil lead, forest floor, well-integrated oak, complimented by silky tannins. This should continue to develop and evolve for several more years. Simply outstanding at this price!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

Wódka Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2019
Dollar for dollar, this is hands-down the best vodka we sell. Tasted neat, on the palate it is very clean, soft and smooth, with no burn. No fancy packaging, just a very high-quality spirit here. This should be a staple in everyone's bar. Absolutely ridiculous price/quality ratio.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-09-2019
My first exposure to the Bastide Miraflors was last year with the 2015 vintage and I was floored at how so much wine could cost so little. I immediately stocked up and it became my house red. I tasted the 2016 vintage last night with Korean BBQ and I still say that this is one of the greatest wine values I have ever tasted. Ripe dark fruits, garrigue, spice, earth - they're all there, all in perfect balance With silky tannins as well. Absolutely delicious. Buy this by the case! It's that good!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Seghesio "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-20-2018
I have been a big fan of the Seghesio family Zins for many years now. Their wines are elegant and sophisticated and the 2015 Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel continues the tradition. While the nebulous term "Old Vines" gets bandied about a lot these days, Seghesio sets a minimum age of 50 years for this wine with some vines being 70-100 years old! This is a drier, more mature style of Zin with a beautiful nose consisting of cassis, spice, cigar box, and red fruit. Rich fine tannins with a wonderful balance of acidity combine to make this an ideal wine to pair with steak or BBQ. Terrific Zinfandel expression! Great wine!