Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-14-2019
The rich aromas are hints of spice, minerality with Meyer lemon undertones finishing bright and balanced richness on the long finish. It's got all the qualities of a delicious chardonnay that could stand alone or be paired with food.

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-14-2019
With 3 year aging on the lees and 1/3 reserves used to make this bottle, the Baron Fuente Grande Reserve is by far the great value champagne anyone will enjoy! On the nose there's good amount of lees-y and toasty notes and subtle bright pear undertones. Bright acid, ripe green apples mid-palate and mineral undertones finishes off this delicious bottle of bubbles. It is seriously a steal for a great quality of bubbles!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90 W&S 90

Damien Hugot Brut Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2019
To offer another Grand Cru direct import is very exciting and Damien Hugot does not disappoint in quality and flavor profile! The nose is rich with brioche and golden apple aromas, and finishes with a balance of weight and a nice zing of lemon zest on the chalky finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2019
A new direct import we recently added to our line-up and I'm so excited for our customers to try them out! The profile is bright, vivacious, with great texture, fine beads, toasty aromas, and finishes elegantly. An easy Champagne to sip before or after dinner.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2019
To offer another Grand Cru direct import is very exciting and Damien Hugot does not disappoint in quality and flavor profile! Concentrated strawberry aromas, beautiful weight, and a nice long finish. If you're looking for a refreshing champagne with restrained richness, this is it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Review Date: 09-16-2019
Full bodied, rich and velvety.

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The Old Vine Chenin is bursting with lemon zest intertwined with honeysuckle and ripe stone fruit. On the palate, it displays rich texture and powerful acidity, while still keeping a sense of elegance and complexity. This is in large part due to the fact it’s produced from older vines ranging from 35 to 40-plus years old, which naturally produce grapes at lower yields but with a higher concentration of flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 08-21-2019
Looking for a nicely layered and not too plush Barossa Shiraz?...look no further! We are lucky to carry the 2017 Duval Entity not only because it recently was rated 99 points by James Halliday, it's also a fantastic bottle of Shiraz we're all excited about here at K&L for so many reasons. Aromas of chocolate powder undertones, with dark ripe fruit nicely intertwining with the savory undertones on the palate. It's elegant and ready to be paired with your favorite beef dish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99 WS 94

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
Ripe fruit aromatics with a good amount of acid and hints of vanilla custard notes on the palate. Bright, fresh and a nice texture, this champagne would be a great way to start a fête! A great value for a high end champagne.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
The 2008 Lanson Gold Label is a lean and complex style of champagne. Fresh and intense, this is a very elegant, pure and refined classic champagne with a beautiful mineral expression. It has refreshing citrus notes on the long finish. Another great '08 vintage to add to your collection.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 93

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
A great example of a 2008 champagne! Toasty and nutty aromas followed by bright green apples, almonds and focused acid. With all Grand Cru fruit, this Laurent Perrier bottling is not to miss at this price.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Franck Bonville released three 2012 Grand Cru "Pur"series Blanc de Blancs based on where the vineyards are located in the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil. We were lucky to taste all three side by side and had the opportunity to distinguish how each are different based on the location. In the case of the Avize, the stone fruit aromas and bracing acidity really do balance each other out along with the texture on the finish. The more I read my notes, the more I realize all three should be tasted side by side and not to be missed!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Franck Bonville released three 2012 Grand Cru "Pur"series Blanc de Blancs based on where the vineyards are located in the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil. We were lucky to taste all three side by side and had the opportunity to distinguish how each are different based on the location. The 2012 Oger is the rich and lees-y of the three, with hints of fino sherry-esque aromas and beautifully aromatic minerality. It finished with mineral and chalky notes with hints of brioche toast intermingling throughout and delightfully lingering on the palate. Of the three, the Oger is a good balance of restrained richness, minerality and balanced acid.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-25-2019
The 2014 Leeuwin Art Series Cabernet is a complex and elegant wine.The nose is plush and aromatic -crushed raspberries, baking spices, hint of vanilla- while the palate offers layers of blackberry, cassis, hint of cranberries subtle tones of acid, balanced tannins and medium bodied. When you try it you'll find it hard to believe the quality of wine you get at this price. Grab a couple extra to cellar for future enjoyment!

2018 Villa Maria "Taylor's Pass" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-25-2019
This is not just another sauvignon blanc from New Zealand. I've had my fair share of tasting sauvignon blanc from NZ and have to say that the Villa Maria Taylor's Pass is a stand out. I get aromatics of stone fruit and white flowers with a hint of guava finishing with good balanced acid, grapefruit zest, salinity undertones, fresh and clean. This wine is bound to please any discerning palate!

2014 Greywacke Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 07-17-2019
If you're looking for a nice, bright and fresh chardonnay look no further! Greywacke's 2014 chardonnay from Marlborough ticks all of those boxes and then some. Aromas of stone fruit and minerality intertwining together while herbal, lemon citrus and a balanced acid hit the palate quite nicely. It's crazy how fresh this wine tastes even after 5 years and believe anyone looking for a white other than a sauvignon blanc from New Zealand will not be disappointed with this wine.

2002 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2019
The one hectare of this particular parcel is enclosed with pinot noir grapes (the first to be planted on the vineyard) and a winemaking facility on site. It's quite impressive and this bottle shows how complex a single-vineyard cared for in a painstakingly manner shines through. Ripe fruit, honey and spice aromas, intense texture and notes of citrus acidity and minerality speak to the concentration of a single vineyard style of wine. It's a very different style of champagne I've tasted (and I've had many!) and am entranced with how different and delicious the 2002 Le Clos Saint Hilaire expresses itself. This bottling is not released every year and a must for any champagne collector.

2008 Billecart-Salmon Vintage Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2019
2008 is a great year in champagne and to have the Billecart Salmon Brut in this vintage is quite exciting! Toasty/brioche-y aromas, intense minerality coming through each sip and finishing elegant and refined. Billecart Salmon takes pride in their craftsmanship with each champagne they release and this 2008 vintage a fantastic example of their style. A must try for all champagne lovers!

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-01-2019
We have several top-notch quality champagnes in the grower-producer section that are under $35 and the Maillart Platine Brut Champagne is a top contender. It's got everything - cherry and stone fruit aroma notes intermingling together with a creamy mouthfeel and finishing bright, fresh and elegant. I remember thinking how can this possibly be a champagne under $35 when we first tasted with Gary and was happy to hear it is one of our newest direct import! If you're looking for a nice bottle of bubbles to bring to a dinner party, this is a definite crowd pleaser!

2016 Craggy Range "Te Kahu" Bordeaux Blend Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 06-27-2019
A tasty and crowd-pleasing under $20 Bordeaux Blend...you can't beat that! Plum, fennel, undertones of minerality all coming together with elegance and complexity. What a remarkable value! Perfect for events or weeknight dinners.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 93

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-26-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
You don't see many 100% Pinot Blanc champagnes out there (a unicorn if you will) and if you're curious to try something different (and delicious!) then the Jean Jacques Lamoureux champagne is perfect. You get pretty white flower and elegant fruit aromas paired with racy acidty, toasty notes and finishes with the perfect amount of minerality. As we say in the industry, "...it just keeps going!" We only get so many of these so I'd say try it and stock up before we run out.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I never knew a complex and flavor-packed sauvignon blanc existed until I tasted the 2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc! The aromas are -what I like to call a fresh bouquet of fruit (in this case stone fruits), white flowers and finishing dry, crisp with a tinge of savory notes and citrus acid. Super-balanced and refreshing, this wine certainly delivers so much for so little. You will not be disappointed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-04-2019
Tobacco, dark fruit, and subtle floral aromas paired with plums, pepper and finishes with hints of herbal earth tones and lush dark fruit. The body is dense but with all of these components, it truly is balanced somehow and one I’d pair with BBQ or grilled steak.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 93

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2019
Le Brun is one of our best-selling top grower-producers at K&L and has become a staff and customer favorite. On the nose there’s this intermingling of both bright and sweet fruit - a tinge of pineapple- and creamyness. On the palate, bright acidity and green apples dance on your tongue. Rich texture, yet restrained with the acid backbone. I cannot express enough the fantastic value you get with this bottle. So good!

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
I drink champagne often and don't wait for a special occasion because life is too short for such things. However, this 1995 Charles Heidsieck bottle is one I'd save for a special celebration. It's got all the right notes: spicy baked apples, super toasty on the nose, hazelnut and subtle tones of honeysuckle. Yet, it's got great acidity and freshness that compliments it so beautifully.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Savory, big and rich are three words I'd use to describe this fantastic champagne. On the noes you get red fruits and apples while on the palage there are bright red fruit and apples, brioche and a long, dry finish. Love bringing this bottle to parties!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Our favorite champagne DI Fallet Dart never fails with each bottling I've tasted. This Grande Selection ages 7 years on the lees, which in turn produces the small bubbles. The beautiful aromatic notes with lees-y and toasty aromatics paired with a balanced acid backbone, notes of granny apples mid-palate and a lemon citrus zest on the finish, this champagne is a great value at this price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-13-2019
100% Pinot Gris champagne? Yes it's a thing and yes it's really tasty! About 300 years ago, 50% of Champagne was planted with Pinot Gris (aka Fromenteau). It's not as popular in the modern times, however, we are lucky to gain one of the few producers who continue the tradition of using the grape in their champagne. Aromas of white flowers, tropical fruit along with citrus zest. The finish is long and dru with minerality notes, it makes this champagne great with your next sushi meal or alone with a cheese plate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I am so happy we carry Alexandre Le Brun's champagnes. He produces champagnes with laser focus and complexity with top quality fruit and the Cuvee Revelation does not disappoint! On the nose you’ll get a very balanced lees-y and red fruit note while on the palate both acid and bright fruit intermingle with a hint of smokyness throughout. This is a special bottle anyone will enjoy without breaking the bank.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I cannot express how amazing this bottle of Grand Cru champagne for this price. There are aromas of white flowers, golden apples, a hint of toast and finishes fresh, refined, with a touch of acid which is just enough to compliment the subtle rich and mineral texture. It's created with 50% reserves, which is a good amount to have in a bottling and aged just under 3 years on the lees. With all of these elements put together, it is really a top notch "gateway" Grand Cru champagne!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
A great example of a clean, crisp and refreshing white wine without overpowering the palate. The nose has aromas of tropical fruit and subtle hints of citrus zest while the palate is upfront with acid, hint of lime on the mid-palate and finishes with subtle notes of ripe tropical fruit. It's balanced in a way that all of these elements work so well together. At this price and flavor profile, it should certainly become a staple in your white wine selection this summer!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 VN 90

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2019
Krug has the reserve blending down and the 167th cuvee edition is no exception of their exemplary craftsmanship. The 167 edition is based on the 2011 vintage with blended reserves spanning through 1995. While the 2011 may not be known as an ideal champagne vintage, the folks at Krug created their magic once again with this edition. In my experience, Krug requires some time to sit and open in your glass or be laid down for some aging, but the 167 is ready to drink as soon as you pop the cork. Toasty, rich with tropical fruit, minerality, and a long finish that keeps on going. This champagne is so balanced and elegant, it's undeniably a Krug creation and one you should get your hands on before we sell out!

2017 Lambuena "Roble" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-16-2019
The flavor profile of this wine is full and rich, yet there is a restraint, in that it’s not so plush on the palate. The color is a very intense cherry red, and the wine shows floral, licorice, and ripe black fruit aromatics. With aging for only four months in new and semi-new American (70%) and French (30%) oak, the wine is sufficiently structured, complex, and fleshy. The toasty notes from the barrels come through beautifully integrated, too! I would easily pair this with a lamb or beef dish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pinna Fidelis Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I had the opportunity to taste our fresh arrival of the Pinna Fidelis wines with our beloved Spanish buyer Joe. The fruit is ripe but not too heavy on the palate paired with great minerality undertones. The tannins provide an interesting layer with notes of black fruit intermingling. It's full-bodied, well-balanced and bound to please any palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Senor Ezequiel Garcia, known for his talents at Cvne, aka “El Brujo”, did his magic again with this blend of 82% Tempranillo, 8% Mazuelo, 8% Garnacha, 2% Viura. With aging in seasoned barrels (8-10 years old) along with top quality grapes, you get a well-structured and a truly traditional style of Rioja. As with the 1st bottling, the late El Brujo had a hand in this 2nd bottling and it truly speaks to the winemakers well-known wine. Aromatic, dark fruited with hints of leather , cedar, cranberries - the wine itself is a magical potion. I could easily pair this with a nice grilled steak.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2019
There is so much going on with this bottle of champagne it's hard to know where to start. The blend is from fruit aged between 2007-2014 and considered to be from some of the best grapes from the vineyards. The nose is powered with hazelnut and sourdough toast with floral notes intermingling in between. And it keeps going.. rich with a good amount of acid, green apples and an airy mousse-like texture. It's definitely on my top 10 of champagne I cannot live without!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Modern Times "Ice" Pilsner, California (16oz Cans)
Review Date: 04-12-2019
This pilsner embodies a balance of hops with some texture on the palate with a not-so-overwhelming floral aromatics on the nose. A summer favorite of mine!
Price: $2.59 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 04-12-2019
What a treat to try this champagne! There are only 5,000 Clos Du Mont bottles produced and not released every year. This bottling is from 2004 and feel it highlights the climate very nicely - ripe fruit with deep concentration. My first impression of this champagne was the brioche and light fruit (think cranberries) on the nose while the finish was bright with a hint of savory, mineral undertones and nice clean finish. This bottle is for the serious champagne drinker wanting to explore a fantastic bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 11-26-2018
A white blend mostly Vermentino (45%) in a French white wine (45% Viognier and 10% Roussanne making up the rest of the blend) would have anyone curious. The fruit is ripe and with cold-pressing and stainless steel aging, it balances so well with a backbone of balanced acid. It's medium-bodied, which to me can easily pair with food (poultry or hearty fish) or drink well on its own. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Review Date: 10-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
My first taste of the Clef du Recit Sancerre was the 2016 vintage. It was my first exposure to sancerre blanc wines ever and it certainly set the bar high. The story goes, Anthony Girard grew up in his family’s Sancerre winery but decided to travel throughout the world to learn about wine production. When he returned home he decided to create his own project, purchasing a plot near the town of Recy where the limestone is rich in the soil. This type of soil is ideal because it gives the sauvignon blanc grapes an opportunity to retain its acidity particular to sancerre wines. What you get is a super balanced –in minerality, acidity and freshness- and refined sancerre that you’ll enjoy alone or with food. Personally I’ve had it with roasted chicken and goat or camembert cheeses. My go-to white sancerre!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
By far the best Cava I have ever tasted! Mineral and green apple notes with a crisp and dry finish. A perfect bubbly option for any occasion, especially for upcoming holiday gatherings.So much greatness at a fantastic price. Stock up for the holidays!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99