Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2012 Nicolas Maillart "Franc de Pied" Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Meaning "of the French foot", this wine is a tribute to the French rootstocks that sit on the base of the vines. They survived phylloxera in their sandy soils and did not need to undergo grafting to American rootstocks. There are very few ungrafted vineyard Champagnes available today and quite a rare occurrence. 100% barrel fermented Pinot Noir with zero dosage, this comes from a single plot and is very limited in its production. Truly a beautiful, artisinal wine from our newest direct import, this is a special bottling.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Nicolas Maillart "Jolivettes" Grand Cru Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Made from what was one of the warmest vintages Champagne has ever seen, this is a rich, creamy style of wine, with serious weight and length. Made from 100% Pinot Noir from the esteemed Grand Gru area of Bouzy, this wine is 100% barrel fermented with only 1 g/L of dosage. If anyone really wanted to deep dive into the world of Champagne and widen their glance a the region, this is a great example of what Champagne can become in warm vintages. It manages to achieve its richer, more opulent style with almost no help from the winemakers.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Nicolas Maillart "Les Chaillots Gilles" 1er Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Coming from a single plot and single press load, this is a very small production Champagne with a not so small flavor profile. 100% barrel fermented and made of 100% Chardonnay from vines planted in 1963. I was shocked to find out the dosage here was 0 g/L as I assumed much higher from its richer, sweeter-fruited texture. Most full-Chardonnay, zero dosage Champagnes would be quite zippy at this stage, but in warm vintages such as 2012, the wines shine full of flavor and concentration. This is an example of very good winemaking.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
The bright acidity on this guy is palpable, surprising given that it spends 4 years on the lees and is 40% barrel fermented. This new direct import producer may be the one I'm most excited about this year. Everything I've seen from them has been beyond expectation, and at this price point is sure to stand alongside Launois and Baron Fuente in near-future as must have's at K&L.

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Most people would not take the risk of doing a vintage Champagne in the warm year that 2009 was. That's what makes Alexandre Le Brun's wines so fun and interesting, he makes such a small production that he can experiment and create something incredible like this rosé. He gets great concentration in this wine, thank to the addition of 15% still red wine as well as old vines. The 116 year old vines produce fruit with great concentration and length and add incredible complexity. The Chardonnay keeps this wine fresh and lifted and an elegant, medium body Champagne.
Price: Hidden View Price

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
This is a unique take on Blanc de Blanc and one of the more complex and intriguing ones on our shelves. Grown in very pure chalk, this wine retains a natural freshness and high acidity. The winemakers does a great job of balancing that by aging his Chardonnay in barrel, to round it out and lend some lovely toasty quality. When Bollinger buys he majority of your fruit, it must mean you are going something right as a growers. He is doing something very right as a winemaker as well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Cuvée Magnificence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
If you are looking for a truly unique style and story of Champagne, look no further than this bottling. Made from 60% 2010 reserve wine aged in barrel, and 40% 2011 reserve wine aged in stainless steel tank, this is the ultimate marriage of multiple styles coming together. The barrel aging plus at least 6 years on the lees makes this a rich, textured, creamy style of Champagne and would pair pretty phenomenally with any holiday meal plan.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Trudon "Cuvée Instantannée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Having blocked 80% of the malolactic fermentation on this sparkling wine, the chalky, mineral-driven acidity is front and center in this wine. That proves to be the correct decision with a vintage wine such as this which develops a beautiful, toasty, rich character from the extended time on the lees. This Champagne is complex, and intense in its length, and coming from a bigger Chateau would be 3X the price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
With a Diploma of Enology, Jermone Trudon could make pretty good money working wherever he wants. He chose to start his own project and aren't we lucky for it. The 70% Pinot Meunier is on full display here with rich berry notes shining, though there is a slight creamy chanterelle mushroom quality here also. Jerome also chooses to block 60% of malolacic fermentation, preserving freshness and bright citrus flavors. The perfect balance of fruity and savory, this would make the ultimate food Champagne.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
I've never known Champagne buyer Gary Westby to bring in a direct import wine that wasn't absolutely phenomenal and this one is no exception. The quality here for $30 is somewhat unbelievable. Formerly selling to Charles Heidsieck, Thierry decided to keep the fruit for themselves and make some pretty killer Champagne with it. Made with 30% reserve wine, there is a lovely toastiness here, balanced out by fresh acidity from the 33% Chardonnay. Fans of our direct import Champagnes such as Launois, Aspasie, and Baron Fuente should not miss this one.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Lanson Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Though this wine carries the exact same breakdown of varietals as the Lanson "Black Label", the two wines could not be more different. The addition of still red wine gives infinite body and length, a great fruit presence, and a gorgeous salmon color. Capable of cellaring for years thanks to its bright acidity and lack of malolactic fermentation, Lanson has shown what a great, long-lived house can truly be capable of.

Lanson "Black Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Lanson has taken the past few years to vastly improve its quality and practices, and its efforts have certainly paid off. With 4 years of aging on the lees and 30% reserve wine going back to 1998, one would think this would be a very toasty, rich Champagne. That is not the case. Because this wine does not go through malolactic fermentation there is a beautiful line of acidity here, thought the brioche and slightly yeasty characters still peak through. One of the original Champagne houses, dating back to the 1760's, Lanson needs to find its way onto your radar as a very affordable, delicious, powerhouse producer.
Top Value!

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-345" (Rickhouse CN F, Floor 6) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-13-2019
Creamy vanilla, sponge cake, and candied fruit shine on the nose here. This is rich and luscious, but not heavy, as it has higher tones and brighter notes to it. This would make the ultimate pre-dinner bourbon either alone or mixed with its punchy and fresh flavors.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#18-439" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2019
The nose on this guy immediately comes across to me as sticky toffee pudding. The butterscotch, date, and vanilla characters and front and center and it feels warming and immediately comforting. The spice notes carry over to the palate, and are punchy and bold in the flavors. This would make for the ultimate after dinner Bourbon heading into the cooler weather months as the flavors just scream the holidays to me.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-1108" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2019
The herbs and anise notes jump off the nose as soon as this hits your glass. The aromatics are insanely lively and unique. Tea, pepper, and orange rind come across on the palate, but there is sweetness in the form of toffee and vanilla to give some balance. Any opportunity we get, K&L likes to get our selected barrels bottled at cask strength so the customer can decide how they want to enjoy them. While you do get some heat on the tongue, this one isn't overwhelming, but has just a high enough proof to make the finish go on and on.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Privateer Rum "Distiller's Drawer - K&L Exclusive" Bottled-In-Bond American Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2019
There is a fair amount of wood spice on this bottling, with definite notes of nutmeg, cinnamon, and clove. Drier in style, but still rich and velvety, this isn't as opulent as the Queen's Share from Privateer, but equally delicious. It's fantastic to be able to support a craft American distillery, and a no-brainer when their products are as high quality as Privateer's. If you are serious about your rums or are looking to expand your repertoire, this bottle should be in your collection.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Privateer Rum "The Queen's Share - Smuggler's Cove Cask #P393" American Rum (7 50ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2019
We don't see a huge quantity of rum being made on the east coast of the USA, and even fewer of this quality. Sweet notes abound with molasses, maple, and coconut at the helm, but the cask strength gives it a bit of a bite also. With a creamy mouthfeel and vanilla bean accents from the oak, this feels like a hearty, spicy rum perfect for heading into the chillier months.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
This is a straight rye whiskey to the max. Definitely not lacking in spice and power, this reminds me a lot of the "Red Hots" candies we dared to stuff in our mouths as kids. The charred American oak barrel influence is more present in this whiskey than Barrel #13, with dark chocolate, coffee grounds, and leather notes dominating. The versatility of 100% rye is astounding. We ended up with two very different barrels, each fascinating and delicious in their own right. If you like the heat and a bigger style whiskey, this guy is for you. If your a little trepidatious or like you booze a little softer, go for the Barrel #13 offering. Or try both side by side to compare. Both are high impact and bold on flavor, but in very different ways.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
I'm always super happy to support our local distilleries, and even more so when they put out a product like this! Old Potrero is consistently high quality. and I love to taste 100% rye whiskeys, as you don't come across them all that often. It shows a lot of skill on the producer's part to ferment 100% rye into a whiskey of this caliber. This is on the sweeter side for a straight rye, and the classic rye spices are slightly more subdued in this cask, though I'm certainly not hating on that. It shows the versatility of the grain and the skill of Old Potrero to coax something this smooth out of a brasher initial product. At 63.21%, this isn't shy on the heat, but the sweeter fruit and spice profile help tame the burn.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #5" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
Marker's Mark's focus has always been on producing quality whiskey vs simply pumping out quantity. In this unique single barrel designed by our K&L Spirits team, you get something that is totally one-off, special, and won't be seen again. Boasting more bold, rich, true to bourbon flavors of butterscotch, biscuit, and vanilla bean, this whiskey is everything you would want in a classic American spirit. Very smooth and a little sweet with a creme brulee-like character.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #6" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
While Barrel #5 may play into a more classic, true-to-form style of American bourbon, this Barrel #6 hits you with a lot more exotic spice and lifted character. Pretty, with fewer American oak notes, this is a fun break from the classic Maker's Mark profile. This is a phenomenal example of how much flavor the combination of staves can add to a whisky. A true one-off, single barrel that won't be back once it's gone.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Koyama Pinot Noir Waipara
Review Date: 10-03-2019
This is a brand new producer to me and I'm so thrilled out New Zealand buyer Thomas came across them. This Pinot is incredibly bright with punchy red fruits and velvety, fine tannin. Medium weight, but very concentrated, I found this wine had a lot to offer. This is definitely going to be on my list for Thanksgiving wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 94

2014 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
Review Date: 10-03-2019
There is no better place to find quality Bordeaux blends in New Zealand than Gimblett Gravels. The soils set themselves up perfectly to put just enough stress on the vines to makes the fruit here punchy and incredibly flavorful. Trinity Hills has been a producer we have been working with for years now because they are truly one of the best. This wine has the perfect amount of Cab Franc for me, which gives it that savory, herbal tone, making it the ultimate compliment to steak dinners. Cab Sauv and Merlot give depth and soft fruits and the varietals as a hole manage to find perfect balance. Pick this one up for your next Friday steak and Claret night.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 SK 95

2015 Matias "Sierra Mar Vineyard" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-01-2019
To be honest, I had never heard of the Matias wines before they landed at K&L, but after tasting both the Sierra Mar and Soberanes Vineyards, I can tell you these will be at the front of my mind for a while to come. Each one I've tasted I've been extremely impressed by and the Sierra Mar most definitely does not disappoint. Bright and crunchy with fresh red fruit flavors, this is a top notch SLH Pinot Noir. The non-vineyard classified Chardonnay went fast, and I expect the Pinot Noirs will do the same.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2013 Varner "Hidden Block - Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-01-2019
Our favorite twin winemaking brothers have done it again with a local treasure of distinctly Santa Cruz Mountain Pinot Noir. Unfortunately, even though the Varner brothers have been making wine from this vineyard for 15 years, they have since lost their lease, making this one of the last vintages of Spring Ridge. Dusky and earthy with soft fruits and a medium body, this is one I will be reaching for again and again heading into the Fall. This is going to make a great Thanksgiving wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Robert Craig Howell Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Farmed at very low yields (1.8 acres/ton) and high elevation (2,300 ft), this is certainly an intense, spicy, dark fruited Cab Sauv. Pepper, espresso, and wild berries are the standouts here, thought there is a high-toned element as well with bright flavors from the cooler high elevation weather. This is deeper and darker than the Robert Craig Spring Mountain Cab Sauv, but both would be fantastic choices for heartier dinners heading into Fall.

2015 Robert Craig Spring Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Coming from steep slopes on the Mayacamas Mountain Range, this is a high elevation wine (around 2000 ft), which gives it a ton of character. Picked at low yields (2.1 tons/acre), this is a nice medium weight Cab Sauv which shows a little spicy and crunchy with dark red fruits dominating. The elevation and angle of the slopes causes the vines to struggle and they certainly inject a lot of flavor into their small berries. Blueberry, plum, and cassis show elegantly and the finish is long.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 VN 93

2017 B.R. Cohn North Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-20-2019
This wine is a fantastic choice for weddings or parties as it hits the little bit of everything note that gives it mass appeal. It has a light textured body with smooth, sweet fruit on the finish. It's not overly complicated or intense, which makes it an easy choice for a warm evening or fun night with friends.
Price: $16.95 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Matias "Soberanes Vineyard" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Familiar and yet exotic, this Pinot is crazy interesting. With a medium body, slightly woodsy character, and dark red fruits, it possesses a long finish and a velvety smooth texture. This is definitely one of the best Domestic Pinot deals I've seen this year and proves the Santa Lucia Highlands can certainly hold their own in quality wine.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2015 Matias "Soberanes Vineyard" Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Managed by two long-time wine families, the Pisoni and Franscioni's, the Soberanes Vineyard is proving itself a great place to get quality Chardonnay and Pinot Noir out of Santa Lucia. This Chardonnay is slightly nutty and rich with notes of apricot and peach, but a bright flash of acidity on the back-end keeps it lively and interesting. Well-balanced and well-made, this is a fantastic deal and worth adding to your weekly rotation.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2016 Aequorea "Seafarer" San Luis Obispo County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-06-2019
A blend of four unique vineyard sites, the Aequorea "Seafarer" Pinot is the breakout wine of the summer. Beautifully balanced and expressive Pinot Noir, this is the result of dedicated searching to find the most terroir-driven sites in San Luis Obispo. Medium-bodied, with bright, juicy red fruits, soft tannin, and a hint of saline and dried herbs. If you're looking to bust out of a Pinot rut and try something unique and delicious, this is the one to go for.
Price: $32.95 Add To Cart
VN 92 JD 90

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
The Fallet-Dart house has a mind blowing history with 17 generations behind the line to perfect their Champagne and perfect it they have. With majority Pinot Meunier and four years of aging sur lees this bottle shows a richer, toastier style while still showcasing brightness and freshness hard to achieve with this blend. I love that Fallet-Dart is not afraid to experiment with a Pinot Meunier heavy blend, though it is not by chance it turned out phenomenally with the clear dedication and hard work in the craft they put in year after year.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 BOLD Wine Co. Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-27-2019
I loved the rusticity of this wine. It's not polished to within and inch of its life and nothing is added to mask the flavors of the fruit. This is a pure expression of fruit and site. Bright and expressive, this is a great everyday offering, with just a touch of savory, dusky tannin to take it from porch wine to the dinner table.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The winemakers at Rhys have spent years in Burgundy trying to learn the farming techniques and winemaking methodologies that result in a truly great bottle of wine, and I believe they have harnessed that knowledge in this bottling. Long a wait-list only winery, this exclusive brand is now available to the general public, and K&L is the first and largest single retailer of this producer. They are experts in both Anderson Valley and Santa Cruz Mountains varietals. This particular bottling definitely carries the classic Burgundy flavor profile. Medium-bodied with dusty tannin, well-incorporated minerality, and soft red fruits, this wine feels shy and so expressive at the same time. It's not punchy and in your face, but subtle and incredibly complex. One of the best Pinots I've had this year.

2015 Chateau Ste. Michelle "50th Anniversary Edition" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-21-2019
This is a beautiful bottle in honor of the 50th anniversary of Chateau Ste. Michelle. While this is not the most complex bottling of Cabernet we have on the shelves, it is delicious and easy drinking and a phenomenal deal for this large format (especially when the winery sells it for $50). This is a great choice for a party or a weekend away. Columbia Valley is consistently producing some great Cabernets and is the place to watch for affordable, quality wines.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
DC 93

2018 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Consistently one of the staff favorite Domestic Chardonnays, the 2018 Hanzell "Sebella" wowed us again with its right down the middle flavor profile. This is one of the few Chardonnays on the shelf I would feel confident giving to any customer because it hits all elements so perfectly without skewing too far in any direction. With fermentation being completed in stainless steel tanks and aging done in neutral barrel, there is no oak profile for this wine to hide behind like many other wineries rely on. Hanzell also blocks malolactic fermentation, giving the super bright, fresh profile that the K&L staff really gets excited about. I almost hate to admit it, but I like this offering better than their more expensive "Estate" bottling because it so approachable and delicious simultaneously.
Top Value!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Xanadu has been in the winemaking game in Margaret River for decades now and really has got a great hold on what it means to make a Cabernet that is distinctly that region. The eucalyptus plays a huge role in the taste of these wines and gives it a unique flavor very specific to this site. Very few places can claim the influence of terroir like Margaret River can. Fine tannin and fresh acidity give this wine nice structure and length, and while there is some dark fruit notes you expect of Cabernet, this is not a soft, jammy, ripe-style wine. It is bold and savory and a fantastic example of this phenomenal region.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 08-02-2019
The amount of labor and devotion the owners of Sesta di Sopra put into their wines is unbelievable. These are always some of the most exciting wines coming out of Brunello and I'm psyched we have an unclassified one from them for 2018. Raspberry and strawberry dominate the nose, but the palate carries hints of moist earth and leather typical of Montalcino. Lighter in body and style than the Rosso or Brunello, this is a perfect weeknight dinner wine ready to drink now. It shows itself best with food, but can be drunk on its own if open for a day.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Not only has TWR long been my favorite producer out of New Zealand, but this Toru is the ultimate summer sipper to carry you through the warm days. The Gewurz, Riesling, Pinot Gris blend makes a light -bodied, but super flavorful wine, with fresh flavors and low alcohol for those warm weather evenings. Made in an off-dry style, this wine pairs particularly well with Indian and Thai cuisines, but makes a fantastic apertif as well.

Douglas Laing's "The Gauldrons" Batch #1 Limited Edition Campbeltown Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
This particular bottling really inspired me as an ode to what an amazing region Campbeltown is. A "Blended Malt", the whisky components in this bottle come from the three Campbeltown distilleries. Once nearly declassified for having so few distilleries, Campbeltown represents a very unique area of Scotland and its whiskys taste like none other. The sweet, smooth body, light iodine and saline notes, accompanied by just a touch of peat smoke is something special, and I'm proud of Douglas Laing for showcasing this beautiful spot.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
This is the perfect rum for cocktails. It does have a touch of natural sweetness on its own, but thankfully can mix well with many cocktail ingredients without becoming sickly or overwhelmed. A classic-style white rum, there is nothing over-complicated or funky here. This would be fantastic for Daiquiris and fruit-forward beverages.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

The 86 Co. Cabeza Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The inexpensive tequilas are normally that way for a reason, as they need a lot of cocktail ingredients to cover up their mediocre taste. This is not the case with the 86 Co Cabeza Tequila. This is the ultimate cocktail tequila, though I wouldn't be opposed to serving it on its own. Super bright and fresh with tons of citrus notes on the nose, this has margarita written all over it. The mouthfeel is quite creamy and a little rich, with nice weight and a slightly spicy end. I wish this one was hanging around longer, but I will definitely enjoy it while it lasts.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This is one of the most phenomenal bourbons I have ever tasted. With a brand-new, state-of-the art-facility and the reputation as the premier "custom crush" distillery in the area, the Bardstown Bourbon Company has spared no expense in bringing us an epic whiskey. The BBC even prints its mash bill on the bottle, which is very uncommon in bourbon, where many try to keep their recipes secret. The nose is a blend of mint and perfume and the palate is incredibly smooth and slightly candied. The new frontier of bourbon is here and Bardstown Bourbon Company is leading the way.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2019
Bottled exclusively for K&L and made at George Dickel, this Bourbon is a great addition to our Tennessee whiskeys. Bottled at cask strength, this guy shows lots of chocolate, muscovado and apple crumble notes on the nose. Though it is rich and sweet in the mouthfeel, the cask strength nature keeps it from being cloying and offers a toasted sourdough element. The 14 year aging process has help it to blend seamlessly and given spice and length. A touch of citrus at the end gives it an unexpected lift and leaves you wanting just a little bit more.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2016 Marietta "Game Trail" Estate Yorkville Highlands Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-11-2019
There is a lot more power and structure to this wine than I expected. I can see why my colleague Ryan Woodhouse thought it would pass for a Howell Mountain Cab. I have always been a fan of the Marietta wines, but am used to drinking the more fruit-forward Zin's and Rhone blends. This is great new side of the winery for me to explore and I will definitely make sure this is put in front of as many customers as possible, especially at this price point. In a world where CA Cab has become crazy expensive, this a refreshing and fantastic find!
Top Value!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 94

Suntory "Hibiki Japanese Harmony" Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I was particularly excited to try the 'Hibiki Harmony' since it seems all of the Japanese whisky's are becoming so popular they sell out before most people get a crack at them. There is a definite sherry note present on the nose, and the palate is light, yet rich simultaneously. The Japanese whisky's generally seem to show as more elegant and prettier than those from other countries and this one fits that description perfectly. Though we did receive good stock this time, it won't last with the following the 'Harmony' has. Don't miss this opportunity because it probably won't come again and it's only going to become harder to acquire.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WA 90

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I was really impressed by this bottle. Even though Russian River is traditionally one of the cooler climate growing sights in Northern California, producers have been making riper and fatter wines lately. Not so with Hartford Court. This wine is very fresh and pretty with a medium weight palate and great expression of fruit. I think the understated nature of the label often sees this wine overlooked when compared to some of the garish cartoon labels that might capture attention these days, but luckily the nature of this wine speaks for itself. I will definitely be adding this one to the top of my list for my recommended Russian River Valley Pinot Noirs.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
With most Gin's sitting in the $30+ price range these days, it's really nice to see one of this quality at an affordable everyday price, because I will be drinking it everyday this Summer. Super smooth and full of citrus, jasmine, with a slight sweetness from the wheat, this may be the best London Dry Gin on our shelves.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-05-2019
Bois Malot has become one of our top-selling Bordeaux's at K&L and for good reason. The quality of the wine you receive for this price point is mind-blowing. Still family run with a small and humble winemaking team, this label showcases the best of Bordeaux fruit. While the 2015 is still a little tight and not yet as approachable as the 2009 and 2010 were, this is sure to be stunner before too long. And at this price point, you can feel good about buying it by the case to hold onto some and drink some now.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Keller Estate "La Cruz Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-05-2019
The Keller Estate is a long established vineyard site in the Petaluma Gap. I've always found the site to hit that perfect balance of expressive fruit, chalky minerality, and refreshing acidity. I loved these vineyards so much I purchased fruit from here when making wine under my own label. This offering from the "La Cruz Vineyard" hits all the right notes for me and I think far exceeds its price point. This is great California Chardonnay.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 94

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Stefanie Juelsgaard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Stefanie Juelsgaard, click here to join Stefanie Juelsgaard's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($39.99)