Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2017 Chateau de Chemilly Chablis
Review Date: 12-07-2019
Distinctively mineral style of Chablis with fabulous chalky notes shining on the palate. This is a pure and bright wine, with clean, mouthwatering acidity and crunchy citrus fruit. Beautifully crafted, it carries on seamlessly on the palate and leaves a long, juicy finish. Great match for any given seafood, and, personally for me, just delicious on its own.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Bonny Doon Vineyard "Le Cigare Volant - Cuvee Oumuamua" Monterey County Rhône Blend
Review Date: 10-30-2019
This is excellent example of classic Côtes-du-Rhône style made by one of the best wineries in California. It's a medium weight wine with a whirlwind of flavors! Bright, spicy, balanced to perfection; the fruit is vibrant and juicy but not heavy or sweet. flavor profile includes wild forest berries and muddled cherries with notes of raspberry coulis. Superb!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-25-2019
Another delicious wine from Helen's Hill! This Chardonnay has always been one of my favorites. Supple, medium bodied, juicy, and fresh, with lemon meringue pie-like notes, lemon curd and Meyer lemon zest. Easy to approach, yet with plenty of nuances. Great on its own as well as an accompaniment to Dungeness crab.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-24-2019
This Pinot Noir can definitely rival many Bourgogne Rouge wines! Bright, crunchy flavors of red cherries, cranberries, juicy red plums and red currants burst on the palate. It's fresh and vibrant Pinot Noir with lots of lively and zesty personality.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
I think this is the best Cote-du-Rhone I have tasted in the past 3 months. It comes from one of the best Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers and you can see its pedigree even in the simple Cote-du-Rhone designation. Aromas and flavors of strawberry rhubarb pie, pink peppercorns and freshly made strawberry preserve emerge from the glass and linger on the palate for quite some time, the texture is silky and wine is smooth and approachable yet spicy and charming . I am always in awe when I see great value wines of such complexity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
What a unique and intriguing wine! It magically combines rich exotic fruit with brisk mouthwatering acidity and finishes with crisp citrus note. At first site it appears like it might be heavy - it has such deep golden color, but then, palate surprises you with lovely bright and vivid flavors and rounded texture! I think this arrived just in time for cooler autumn days and nights that are ahead of us - when you wish for something fuller bodied but still refreshing. This wine just hits the spot.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-18-2017
None of the 2014 Chablis wines from La Chablisienne have disappointed me so far. They are all fantastic! But considering price of this 1er Cru I would say it's by far the best value and my favorite Chablis. It's practically perfect. If you love juicy bright citrus, crunchy minerality and fresh acidity that wakes up your whole palate, this Chablis is for you.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

1989 Joel Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This wine is showing classic aged Cab Franc characteristic. It’s all earthiness and subtle savory “sous bois”. Bright red fruit that is so typical for younger Bourgueil is gone, and palate is heavily dominated by mushrooms, slight herbaceous flavors and soft tannins with light cherry notes. It’s a great example of perfectly aged Cabernet Franc - elegant and serene.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart