Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Rachel Alcarraz

Rachel Alcarraz
Rachel Alcarraz  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-13-2019
Vintage to Vintage this is one of the staff's favorite Sauvignon Blancs and it is not hard to see why. This stellar wine is sourced from three vineyards all fermented in stainless steel with a small amount finished in neutral french oak for texture and spice. The warmer 2018 vintage brought more depth to the elegant nose and more ripe tropical fruits on the palate. However, the fresh lime and citrus fruit character and generous acidity are not hidden by the warm vintage, but enhances the wines complexities.

2016 Viña Olartia Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 02-05-2019
A new Crianza to challenge our Direct Import favorites! From the same winemaker as our star, Senor de Lesmos, the enticing wine starts off with notes of eucalyptus and Balaton cherry. It is fruit forward while still have the savory, spicy notes you find a great Tempranillo! Not only is it full bodied, and it is the first of the incredible 2016 vintages to hit the shelves!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Laurent Perrier has been one of my favorite Grand Marquee producers since I had the pleasure of writing about their La Cuvee when it first appeared on the scene. Their rose is impressive with a combination of vineyards all given Grand Cru status. The 100% Pinot Noir is more feminine with lovely notes of sweet summer berries that bounce along a richly texture palate.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
One of the best priced Grand Marque Champagnes we have on the shelf, especially when taking account the quality of the wine. More than one third of the wine is barrel fermented and more than one third is reserve wine aged for a minimum of 10 years in magnums before blending creating possibly one of the most complex champagnes I have tasted yet. Some cracker or fresh brioche aromas mixed with fresh yellow apples draw you into a textured yet lively palate that doesn't stand still!

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
I was surprised to see that I didn't already have a review for this wine since it is one of my favorite champagnes in the store! The first time I had this champagne was at a dinner with my coworkers. I was blown away by not only the story of the wine, but its concentration and complexity. I guess that is what happens when you have the best juice from over a decades worth of vintages in one barrel! While the texture screams aged champagne and some of the savory notes agree, there is a freshness that is describable.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
There is a reason the Billecart Salmon rose is one of the top selling rose's in the store. The darker pink color comes from the Premier Cru Pinot Noir grapes that also impart the wonderful aromas and flavors of sweet cherry and strawberry. A polished style champagne with a long finish filled with summer berries!

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
One of the great things about Grande Marque Champagnes is the consistency of house style. You know that the Billecart Salmon Brut you are opening tonight will have the same fresh and focused character you remember from before. Billecart has had a long, cold fermentation practice since the late 1950's aiding in their bright and lively personality. Over two years on the lees gives some texture to the tart apple and dry stone finish.

2011 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
The first aromas of the wine brought me back to my childhood eating apples with cinnamon. While many people snub their nose at the 2011 vintage, the Egrot finds its beauty. The round, fullness of the wine shows on the fruity driven mid palate. Notes of yellow and red apples steer you into spicy undertones.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Based on the impeccable 2008 vintage with reserves of 2006 and 2007 as well, the Egrot has a pretty weighted mid palate with a richness of toasted brioche and cinnamon. Like their extra brut, all notes about this wine will say it is aged for 3 years on the lees (already twice the legal minimum), but it is usually much more- sometimes up to 8! The textural palate is still focused with a long, mineral driven finish which to me, shows the power of the 2008 vintage.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
While this wine is wonderfully lean and dry, my first thought on the aromas was cinnamon toast. This is the result of the extended lees aging. Although it is noted the wine is aged for three years on the lees (already double the minimum) it is normally much more (sometimes as much as 8 years!). The lower sugar level on the dosage allows for the fruit to show its pure cherry beauty while the lovely textured and concentrated toasted qualities add depth before reaching the long balanced finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Last year I reviewed the 2011 Memoire De Vignes and wrote how it was the wine of the line up that stopped me in its track. With a stronger vintage, I had the same experience today with the 2012.While drinking in the nuances of this new vintage, notes of red apple and cherries appeared on the nose and palate. The wine is concentrated and powerful from the rich, brioche filled start to the long, lemon cream finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
One of the longest running Direct Import champagnes at K&L is Michel Arnould. Their reserve is a beautifully composed, rich style champagne that is bold with toasted brioche matched by a beautiful, lengthy, citrus driven acidity. The ripeness of Pinot Noir comes from the Northern facing hills of Verzenay and is balanced with just 25% Chardonnay. A round, textural palate with a long lasting finish.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
The Esprit is Baron Fuente's next step from their top-selling "Grand Reserve." The 100% estate fruit spends 7 years on the lees, much like their esteemed "7" and is equal parts Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Meunier. The toasty nose has notes of fresh lemon leaves that leads into a medium bodied wine the depth and texture. The brioche character broadens the flavor of the wines while the hints of lemon peak up every now and then keeping the longevity of the wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 92

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
With twice as much aging on the lees then required, the Grand Reserve has a rich toasted nose with scents of brioche and broad inviting earthiness. Mostly Meunier brings soft elegance and fineness along side deep fruit characters by adding depth and complexity to the wine. A bit of red apple fruit and fresh sweet citrus carry the warm palate from start to finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90 W&S 90

Nicolas Maillart Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-30-2019
To me, extra brut Champagne always have a sense of purity on the nose. While the Maillart also has a beautifully perfumed nose, a sense of tropical fruit, a zip of lime, and a slight toasted oak character, the wine is clean and focused. The palate mimics the complex nose with full intensity, high toned citrus acidity and medium texture.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Nicolas Maillart Vintage Champagne
Review Date: 01-30-2019
With more than half Pinot Noir, the star of the 2012 vintage, this Champagne is driven with minerality, focused with lemon zest, and textured by toasted oak. The nose and palate are filled with toasted baking spice and yellow apple that lean on the bright acidity for length. It is absolutely delicious and will be the new competition for our staple DI vintage Champagnes.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 Fuligni Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 01-30-2019
The Fuligni Riserva was recently opened at a staff dinner. It was standing next to Bordeaux from the 70s and 80s, but boy did it stand out. It starts off delicate and elegant on the palate while it slowly slides into its full power with silky tannins and perfect acidity. While I was enjoying duck, my neighbors were enjoying lamb, and both paired beyond our expectation. The gaminess of both dishes added to the beautiful herbaceous, savory notes of the wine. While the sweet cherries from my sauce intermingled with the cherry and floral characters on the palate. Beautiful now, but extremely ageable.

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-30-2019
The deepest, toastiest wine in the Maillart lineup. This rich Champagne is not without its complexities of dry, chalky minerality, delicate florals, Meyer lemon (like its counterparts) and wonderful acidity. Each sip makes you feel like freshly baked bread just came out of the oven. It is textural, deep, and filled to the brim with lovely brioche notes. I'd pair a bottle of this wine with a roasted chicken, creamy tortellini, or roasted mushrooms any day of the week!

Nicolas Maillart Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 01-30-2019
Imagine taking a big whiff of a freshly baked raspberry tart on a summer's day and when it cools down, adding fresh whipped cream to take a big bite. The bite is creamy and toasty with loads of baking spices from the crust and cream. The raspberries are sweet but tart in the middle, making all the flavors pop. That is how I experienced my first sip of the Maillart rosé. A rich, creamy, spice filled nose and palate is heightened by tart red summer berry flavors. Brambly, but rich with hints of orange zest and classic chalky minerality.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JG 93 WS 92

2015 Poggerino Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-29-2019
From one of the highest elevated vineyards in Chianti Classico, Poggerino always offers us a more beautiful, elegant style Sangiovese. Mixed with the fullness of the 2015 vintage, the wine has a depth of cocoa and spice with a gentle rose character and red cherry. It is full bodied and very smooth from the ripeness of the vintage while the tannins gently grip the back of the palate.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 90

2012 Baricci "Nello" Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 10-30-2018
All Baricci wines come from the famed Montosoli Vineyard and a small selection of grapes is separated for the Nello Riserva bottling. It has a beautiful plum nose that rises off the glass. While it is still showing the brut strength of a young wine, it has a subtle gentleness in the glass associated with pretty Asian plum and leather.

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
I have special memories of the Roederer Brut Champagne. Two years ago on New Years Eve, my friends and I opened a Jeroboam of this lovely wine. We enjoyed the bottle during our flavorful dinner and poured the final glasses out of the bottle just in time to ring in 2017. The richer, toasted brioche character went well with our winter dinner menu but it is also well balanced enough to easily drink on its own.

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
From only two rows of vines, Alexandre Le Brun has created a deep and toasty Blanc de Blanc that is entirely barrel aged. The first breath in will send aromas of freshly baked broche into your senses. The gentle spice from the oak plays heavenly with the breath and power of wine while the subtle minerality is not lost but gives the wine backbone and direction.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
One of my favorite (and there are many) things about a Champagne made from entirely Menieur is the finesse and character the grape will bring to the wine. It will bring a depth of red fruits into the racey acidity Champagne is known for. The Cuvee Revelation has all those wonderful characteristics plus the depth and breadth of being aged in small barrels. I found notes of bosque pears and soft baking spices. It is balanced, layered and beautiful as ever.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
I;ve rewritten this review a few times because I felt like I wasn't doing the wine justice. This is only the second time I have had the pleasure to try Le Brun's Dilection rose and both times I was saw how special this wine is. Coming from a small plot of vines that are over 100 years old, the depth and terroir of the wine is unmatched by anything else I've had. There is a slight savory element to the wine, similar to dried raspberries and cherries. The nose is elegant with aromas of rose and raspberries. It is pretty and finessed with the perfect touch of gentle citrus acidity for balance.
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
If I could think of a perfect textbook definition of Champange, I think this 2012 Roederer would be it. All vintages Roederer wines come from vineyards own by the estate since the 1770's. The original property in Verzenay makes the Pinot Noir that dominates this vintage Grand Marque. It is classic in every way- toasted brioche fills the nose and mimics on the palate while the long, focused acidity keeps it lively and defined.

2016 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-04-2018
I stocked as many 2015 Rossos as I could get thinking that the 2016 vintage would let me down. Luckily I was completely wrong. As the new vintage has trickled into the store, not a single bottle has been less than outstanding. The La Fortuna rosso is perfumed with dried violets, soft spice and ripe raspberries. It is perfectly balanced with long, lean acidity and integrated tannins.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 09-17-2018
One of my favorite wines for anyone looking for a merited food pairing. A blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc aged in stainless steel that just sees a touch of barrel. The Pinot Bianco gives backbone to the wine. It is filled with savory, herbal characters while the Chardonnay adds deep orchard fruit notes and the Sauvignon chimes in with fresh lemon citrus. It is balanced, textured, fresh and easily pairs with all types of food!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2018
Emblematis, which can translate as "symbolic", to Trudon expresses the house's "historical style" while featuring 70% Meunier that thrives from the Festigny soils. 60% of the wine is from the difficult yet concentrated vintage of 2012 while the rest of the wine is a reserve blend. The wine is driven with mouthwatering acidity mixed with a finesse of floral undertones and is held on the back palate with chalky minerality. An award winning champagne at an award winning price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina "Colonia" Gran Selezione Chianti Classico
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A powerful Chianti with characteristics that remind me of a high end Super Tuscan. It is bold with deep and concentrated red fruits. The dusty French oak tannins mingle with the almost chewy grape tannins. A gentle acidity delicately holds the wine together while really showcasing those other bold flavors.

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Finding a sub $20 Pinot Noir worth any merit is difficult these days, but finding a sub $15 that is undoubtedly enjoyable is near impossible. Torti has taken a grape uncommon in Italy and made it worth while. We took their motto "No Torti, no party" to heart the other night at our staff BBQ and cracked open a bottle or two. It was fresh, lively and great with all the foods and fixings we had before us. It is smooth with juicy red plums and a hidden bit of spice from time in barrique. Easy to enjoy as your next bargain red!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Torti Barbera Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 07-16-2018
I take the Torti Family's motto to heart- "no Torti, no party!" It speaks to its Barbera which is a go-to if you are looking for a fun, fresh, and food friendly red! The full body and integrated structure make it easy to pair with anything from grilled veggies to a rustic grilled chicken dish. The ripe red plum and cherry character intermix with fresh acidity and a finish that is layered with gentle spice. The bottle will be gone before you know it!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Biondi "Outis" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 06-19-2018
From the South East corner of Mt. Etna comes a concentrated and textured white from Biondi. It is ripe and full of flavor with a bit of skin contact for color, texture and character. The nose is filled with honeycomb and green apple skins. It is matched on the palate with great acidity from only seeing stainless steel. It is complex but graceful.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pra "Morandina" Valpolicella Superiore
Review Date: 06-06-2018
Not your average Valpolicella. The Pra starts off with a spicy, smokey nose influenced by notes of crushed red cherries. It is lighter and fresher than most wines in the area, almost relating to a Beaujolais. The crunchy red fruit on the palate balances the black pepper spice while the freshness makes this a perfect red for summer.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
In my review for the last bottling of the Clos du Mont, I mentioned that it was emailed before I was able to try it. A customer came to ask me questions about the wine and when I read the description Gary had written I fell in love with it before even trying. The last bottle was based on two great vintages, 1999 and 2002, this time is solely 2004. A fantastic vintage that was characterized by the dry winter and spring that brought ripeness and concentration to the grapes. The high amount of chardonnay has kept this wine vibrant, fresh and long on the finish. The barrel fermentation gives the wine it's spice and complexity while the outstanding 13 years on the lees gives nuance and texture you can't imagine. The nose is filled with limestone and each time I try this wine I am blown away by its subtle characters of this unique wine.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
There are many delicious Champagnes at $49, but there are very few in magnum at $49! Baron Fuente ages their magnum over a year longer than their 750s--which are aged twice as long as required--so you are getting a solid 4+ years of lees contact in the bottling. It has the same great richness and toasted brioche that we love from the 750, but being a larger format, that oxygen aging has been delayed. This brings a beautiful freshness and longevity to the wine and really makes the magnums ready for aging!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JG 90 W&S 90

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
From one of our best-priced Champagne producers come a bit of a higher-end bottling. The "7" is aptly named for the 7th generation of family winemakers, 7g/l of sugar at the dosage (which is nice and dry!) and 7 years on the lees! (just a reminder, the minimum is only 18 months). The 7 is made with 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Meunier - all estate fruit. The portion of Chardonnay is barrel fermented for a richer mid-palate with a beautiful acidity giving characteristics of lemon preserves spread on warm brioche buns. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
The Franck Bonville Blanc de Blanc was the first Champagne I bought on the first night I worked at K&L, and it will always have a special spot in my heart. What makes it so special is the care and quality Olivier Bonville pours into his wines. Based on 2015, the Blanc de Blanc is half reserve wine from all estate fruit. Some time in barrel gives this Chardonnay a creamy, sweet citrus character, like that of a Meyer lemon or pink grapefruit. The chalky soil is not lost in this wine, either. A soft structure of dry white chalk elongates the palate and adds an extra level of complexity. It is a wine that never disappoints.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
As I mentioned in my review for the Jacquesson Blanc de Noir, one of my one of my favorite things about Meunier-dominant Champagnes is the depth, fullness and polish it adds to a wine (and there are a lot of things I LOVE about Meunier-dominant Champagnes!). This rosé is 100% estate-grown Meunier that is specifically pressed for rosé with skin contact for flavor and color. Abundant aromas of white and red cherries, fresh raspberries and flowers are repeated on the palate with elegant balance in this medium-bodied wine. The finish of the wine is unexpectedly flavorful and never-ending.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
All of LP's vintage Champagnes are 50% Chardonnay, 50% Pinot Noir and always all Grand Cru fruit. 2007 had a lot of Champagne houses pacing with an extremely warm spring and early bud break, but luckily enough, the season was frost free! Early harvest kept the grapes nice and acidic while having a creamy suppleness on the nose. A chalky base to the wine adds contrast to the softness on palate and touch of savory earth for dynamics brings this wine up another notch.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne Magnum (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Literally 10 minutes after trying the Billecart Salmon BdB from 750, I purchased one of the magnums we have in store. I was blown away with this wine, as I've often skipped over the any of the Billecart Salmon Champagnes that weren't their Brut Rose, thinking they were a one trick pony. However, this Blanc de Blanc really stood out to me. ​A richer style for the house, this 100% Chardonnay goes through partial malolactic fermentation to bring a creamy citrus character, almost like lemon meringue pie (just without the nutty, pastry aspect you may find in oaked Blanc de Blanc as this doesn't see any oak). A balanced acidity keeps the wine elegant and active from start to finish. I decided to purchase the magnum since the vintage blend is often a few years older than that of the 750 and currently the base vintage is 2008! Grab them before the staff buys them up!

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
I've often skipped over the any of the Billecart Salmon Champagnes that weren't their Brut Rose, thinking they were a one trick pony. Today I was proven wrong. We tried five of their bottlings that we carry in store and each one was elegant and complex in its own right. However, this Blanc de Blanc really stood out to me. ​A richer style for the house, this 100% Chardonnay goes through partial malolactic fermentation to bring a creamy citrus character, almost like lemon meringue pie (just without the nutty, pastry aspect you may find in oaked Blanc de Blanc as this doesn't see any oak). That richness is elegantly balanced with long lived acidity that keeps each sip active on the palate. An undertone of chalky minerality from the Grand Cru soils adds just the right amount of depth needed to complete the wine. 10 minutes after tasting, I bought myself the magnum!

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Our best value Barbaresco is back! At $20 this ruby color wine starts with a perfect blend of fresh fruit and earth aromatics while hints of anise intensify the savory aspect of the wine. A bright acidity meets the medium body and medium tannin structure on the palate. A touch of toasted oak spice keep the wine fragrant with coriander and fennel seeds while the dense red fruit keep the mid-palate gently weighted.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2018
What intrigued me most about this Italian gin is the elegance and soft sense of presence it has from nose to palate. This not due to lack of flavor by any means! The gin is boosting with Italian botanicals- 10 in total, that create a unique and unmatched flavorful gin, but it is not overwhelming in its presence. It is clean, clear and comforting in it's perfect approachability. The use of bergamot gives you the freshness of lemon but the sweetness of orange while the addition of sage gives a slight savory herbal note. A wonderful gin to sip on it's own, mix with tonic, or create a wonderfully aromatic cocktail!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
The time in new French and American oak brings a beautiful richness and baking spice to this superb Rioja. A touch of Graciano in the wine adds graceful aromatics and the bit of Mazuelo brings a beautiful deep color and texture to the wine. A great vintage with mellow, integrated tannins and long lasting acidity makes this a wine easily enjoyed now with the expectation of a great tomorrow.

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2017
One of my favorite characteristics of great rosé Champagne is the complementing flavors of sweet red berries and minerality. The Canard-Duchene Rosé beautifully encompasses those classic qualities with a mixture of fresh strawberries and raspberries intertwined with limestone structure while keeping its personality with texture and floral character. Absolutely delicious.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2017
One of my favorite things about working at K&L is hanging out after close and drinking great champagne. The other night I had the pleasure of sharing a bottle of the Authentic Brut with my coworkers. It is fresh and textured with flavors of sweet meyer lemon and brioche. An undertone of dry stone and earth makes this a great (stinky) cheese or mushroom dish pairing (in my world, the stinkier the cheese the better!); and a long, refreshing finish keeps you going back for more!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Rosephile" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
If you've read some of my other reviews, you may have noticed my slight obsession with Meunier dominant champagne. I think the grape adds a little depth and suppleness to such high acid wines, but by no means has the driven, mouthwatering acidity been lost in the fineness of the Rosephile. More than half of the wine is from the tough, yet highly valued 2012 vintage mixed with reserve wine. It is concentrated and complex with an undertone of floral elements that interact ceremoniously with a chalky minerality that sticks to the back palate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
All of LP's vintage champagnes are 50% Chardonnay. 50% Pinot Noir and always all Grand Cru fruit. 2007 had a lot of champagne houses pacing with an extremely warm spring and early bud break, but luckily enough, the season was frost free! Early harvest kept the grapes nice and acidic while having a creamy suppleness on the nose. A chalky base to the wine adds contrast to the softness on palate and touch of savory earth for dynamics brings this wine up another notch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Sometimes change it difficult, sometimes it is good, very good. The change we see from Laurent Perrier as their Brut label moves into their La Cuvee comes from the addition of Cote de Blanc vineyard sites to their already impressive holdings. The Cote de Blanc, located in the Marne, is known for growing almost exclusively Chardonnay and doing it well (as seen by the 6 Grand Cru villages!) With many options at their fingertips, LP decided to create the La Cuvee as their new entry level label with more, higher quality Chardonnay than the Brut and an extra six months on the lees to keep the texture we know and love. Elegant aromas of yellow apple and baking spice mirror that of the Brut while notes of sweet meyer lemon and hints of anise show this new label's complex nature. The grace and softness of palate from both the lees aging and blend of Pinot Noir and Muenier is not lost from the additional Chardonnay but a soft acidity lifts it slightly while carrying the wine to a long, delicate finish. And as always, Laurent Perrier is bringing all this at an incredible price!

Page: 1 2 next