Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Flint & Steel Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-24-2019
The heady nose of this wine is loaded with mango, papaya and pineapple, while the body is crisp and light, with zesty acidity and continued tropical fruits. The finish is clean, and the overall impression is light and easy drinking. One of the best choices for an afternoon outside, and I hope it will continue as a favorite throughout the summer.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99
WE 90

2016 Eric Kent "Atoosa's Vineyard" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 07-24-2019
This Syrah is deep purple, with concentrated cassis aromas and a rich, full-bodied palate that is full and fruity, while remaining crisp and light on its feet. The fruit is youthful and boisterous, with plenty of bright berry notes, and also betrays a mild pepper spice and an intriguing layer of savory meaty notes. This is a more polished version of Syrah, and highlights the concentration and depth that this varietal is capable of.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2014 WillaKenzie "Pierre Leon" Yamhill-Carlton District Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2019
This wine is a beautiful expression of one aspect of Oregon Pinot Noir that is often underrated: Power. The 2014 vintage was perfect in the Willamette Valley. No major problems from hail, rain or undue heat. I’ve had many Pinots from this vintage, and one of the aspects of the wines that most impressed me was their power. I think the Pierre Leon bottling from WillaKenzie is a perfect picture of this. The wine is full bodied, dense and rich for Pinot Noir, and it has perfectly balanced acidity and tannin. The winemaker recommends pairing this with ribeye, roasted duck, or venison, and I couldn’t agree more.

2017 Daniel Landi "Las Uvas de la Ira" Garnacha Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 07-24-2019
This lovely Grenache is quite light in color, something more common to this varietal than one would think. In this case it represents the style of the winemaker, Daniel Landi. Daniel farms some of the highest altitude, rockiest, and oldest vineyard sites in Castilla y Leon. His wines are more delicate in style and lean more towards the aromatic side than is typical in his area. Perhaps that’s part of the reason why he doesn’t mind the light color in his wines. The expectation it lends isn’t entirely off. It creates the opportunity to shake any prejudices regarding the region and the grape he’s chosen to work with, and introduce a more feminine aspect of Grenache.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
RP 92

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 07-14-2019
The wine is medium bodied, with glorious aromas of smoked meats,black pepper and wild huckleberry. On the palate it shows a perfect marriage of classic structure and fresh, accessible fruit.

2018 Chêne Bleu Vaucluse Rosé
Review Date: 07-14-2019
Vibrant and racy on the palate, the wine yet has a softness and aromatic delicacy that portrays the beautiful old-vine Grenache fruit used for this blend. The minerality here is off the charts, as is the finesse and balance of the finished product. Many properties will use their best fruit for their top red wine, but Chêne Bleu gets all the fruit for their Rosé from one of their best sites: the La Verriere vineyard. Composed mostly of old-vine Grenache, the wine also incorporates some of the other classic Rhône varietals: Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault and Rolle. Perhaps the most surprising element here is thatthe winemaker chose to finish 25% of the wine in French oak, some new and some old. This adds to the wine a very subtle creaminess that balances nicely against the racy acidity and minerality that so naturally dominate.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$32.99

2017 Vietti Roero Arneis
Review Date: 05-31-2019
I'm a big fan of Italian whites, and this is no exception. My first taste of Arneis several years ago was eye-opening, and I continue to love the varietal. It's quite stony and mineral driven, with refreshing citrus fruit, lemongrass and wild herb notes. Vietti does a lovely job with this wine, presenting all the best of the varietal from this classic region.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Chardonnay produces some of the greatest wines of the world, yet it's often ridiculed by drinkers and professionals alike. What is difficult to find these days in Chardonnay is a well-balanced approach which incorporates a touch of oak while maintaining freshness and character. That is exactly what we have here. This classic Chardonnay from one of Napa's great producers, is stunning, and incidentally a great price right now!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2018 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 05-31-2019
If you aren't familiar with Txakoli wines, now is the time to learn. We have this lovely, light spritzy wine in stock just in time for summer, and believe me it is the perfect summer pick. Zudugarai Amats is a small winery we've been importing directly for several vintages now, and the quality here is phenomenal. Crisp with a slight sea-tang, this wine has a slightly effervescent texture, and is loaded with fresh granny smith apple notes. It's the perfect accompaniment to cured meats, salted almonds and hard nutty cheeses. Enjoy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This very intriguing new edition from Glenmorangie is exactly the type of Scotch to garner my attention. It's not outspoken or overdone, but is more complex and subtle than most. The premise here is that Scotch, like beer or wine, can be made with native yeast strands, which more truly express the place from which this spirit hails. Glenmorangie has done an excellent job crafting an a native yeast Scotch that still has the classic Glenmorangie house style, but also features subtle autolytic characteristics.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 92

2017 Laventura Viura Rioja
Review Date: 04-05-2019
We came across the Laventura wines a couple of years ago, and they are some of the most exciting Rioja wines in our inventory. Bryan does an excellent job understanding the region, but making the expression his own. The whites are no exception. I had little interest in white Rioja until I tasted his wines, and my eyes were opened to the incredible richness in this category. This little Viura is a great starting place: fresh, floral and clean, it retains incredible texture, minerality and depth. If you like this wine, don't hesitate to try all of the Laventura wines. They are well worth it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2016 Foxen "Bien Nacido Vineyard - Block UU" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Bien Nacido is one of the iconic vineyards for California, and for good reason. When tasting in the central coast, I'm always drawn to wines with fruit from this vineyard, and Foxen has done a great job with their Chardonnay from the UU block. It's a classic California Chardonnay, meaning you will encounter oak, but it's done very well, and highlights the incredible fruit from UU, rather than overpowering it. Creamy and full of expressive orchard fruit, this is a great example of the unique power of Chardonnay grown in Bien Nacido.

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-05-2019
I had the pleasure of visiting Cristom a couple of years ago, and tasting several wines from the barrel alongside the finished products. Not only do they have a beautiful estate, but the wines are fabulous. This 2014 Estate Pinot Noir is a perfect introduction to Cristom. 2014 brought rich fruit, though the Cristom style is more restrained and structured than most, so the combination was dynamite. A few years down the road, and this wine has integrated beautifully.

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-05-2019
One of the oldest wineries in Rioja, La Rioja Alta's beautiful wines are well known and it's difficult to add to the praise that precedes mine. This 2009 vintage bottling of the Reserva is one of my favorite in recent years (they always release wines late). It shows beautiful richness and earthy, spice-laden depth. The palate is weighty but balanced, and the oak is well integrated into the fruit profile. I'd highly recommend this classic wine to anyone looking for a great Rioja. It will also age incredibly well.

2017 Kathryn Kennedy "Small Lot" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-05-2019
This is one of my favorite wines from the Santa Cruz Mountains, vintage after vintage. The idea behind this wine is fascinating: Kathryn Kennedy winery leases and farms small parcels of Cabernet dotted across the Sana Cruz Mountain range, some as tiny as a few rows in a backyard. The wine is blended from these tiny parcels to create the final project--a masterful Cabernet painting a great overview of Santa Cruz.
Price: $36.95 Add To Cart

2016 Ramos Pinto "Duas Quintas" Douro
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Ramos Pinto is one of my favorite port houses, so when we brought in this wine from them, I was quite excited to taste it. As one would expect from this region, the wine is dark fruited and bold, with depth, earthiness and spice. The tannin is present, but not abrasive, and hints strongly that this would be a great wine for grilled meats. I find this a wonderful value, and a great introduction to those looking to learn about the Douro region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joan d'Anguera "Altaroses" Montsant
Review Date: 04-05-2019
I'm a big fan of Grenache in many forms, but this lovely Montsant holds a special place in my book. I've enjoyed this producer's wines for a few vintages now, and the new 2017 release is just as delicious! Subtle, more floral aromatics lead to bright red fruits that burst on the palate. Very light tannin and fresh acidity make this wine an excellent choice for sipping solo, though it is also friendly to a variety of dishes.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2015 Aaron Paso Robles Petite Sirah
Review Date: 03-15-2019
One of my favorite experiences in tasting wine, is when I find a wine that is close to the opposite of my personal palate preference, but is so well made that I just can't argue. Here is that wine. I like my reds light and delicate, and Petite Sirah is anything but that. This masterful blend of Petite Sirah from Westside Paso doesn't pretend to be delicate, but still strikes a beautiful symmetry with a great integration of tannin, new oak and bountiful cassis, plum and huckleberry fruit. The trick with this grape is to manage the tannin and keep it in check--Aaron does an excellent job of that and everything else here.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
VN 93 JD 92

2015 La Ca' Nova "Montefico Vigna Bric Mentina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This lovely Barbaresco is already showing signs of maturity and development. savory mushroom and forest floor aromas combine with wild sweet cherry and pretty red berry fruit. On the palate the tannins are somewhat softened, though the wine is still quite structured. This would be a great choice to open now if you are serving it with food that can handle a bit of tannin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "I Have a Dream" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-01-2019
This is a phenomenal wine. Full bodied, and more modern in style, this wine is rich and luscious on the palate, yet keeps everything in balance. Without being overly fruity, the wine manages to coat your palate with black cherry, red plum and cocoa nibs. The tannin structure is fairly soft, which makes this wine approachable and easy to drink right now.

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St. Aubin
Review Date: 03-01-2019
For those looking for a great white Burgundy value at the village level, look no further! Many a Burgundy lover will tell you that St. Aubin is a great value, since it is right next to Chassagne Montrachet, but does not command those prices. Unfortunately in the last few years the prices of St. Aubin have crept up as well. But this is a stellar deal--the wine has everything you want in a great white Burgundy from the area: stony, flinty minerality, pretty, creamy texture and clean orchard fruit. Very well done!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault 1er Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 02-16-2019
This is always one of my favorite Meursault crus, and I was happy to finally taste Pernot Belicard's version. Like their other wines, this is made in a lean, refreshing style without too much oak influence. I believe that this stylistic choice allows the inherent richness of Meursault fruit to shine through. On the nose it is quite stony, with flinty mineral notes and hazelnut skins, but this gives way to a nice rounded palate showing creamy pear, honey crisp apple and quite subtle nutty notes. The oak is quite light, and adds to the textural element more so than the flavor.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Another great vintage from this little producer in Savigny-les-Beaune! The 2016 is likely the best-yet vintage we've received from Jean Michel Giboulot. With a fuller body and soft black fruit, this is a great Pinot to open for those just beginning to drink Burgundy. And yet, it is utterly classic. The fuller body is balanced well with fresh acidity, fine grained tannin, and unparalleled aromatics. Excellent poise and balance here!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Charrière Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard"
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Lovely white Burgundy! This little wine has the characteristic flinty aromas associated with Puligny-Montrachet, though in fact it hails from Santenay. On the palate the texture is perfect: fresh, citrus-laden acidity combines with a lees-driven weight and complements the rich orchard fruits of yellow pear and Honeycrisp apple.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-28-2018
If you are looking for one of the best values in Oregon Pinot, this is your wine. We have been big fans of the Banshee project in Sonoma over the last decade, and were more than thrilled to bring in the Oregon side of the business when the Averaen label was introduced a few years back. Vintage after vintage, the wines have continued to charm K&L staffers and customers alike. If you haven't yet tasted Averaen, now is the time.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-28-2018
Averaen is one of the best value labels coming out of Oregon. While their Pinot Noir is perhaps more popular, this little Chardonnay is one of the best deals for domestic Chardonnay currently in stock. Style wise, it adopts a middle road, with good fresh acidity and bright orchard fruits, rounded out by a touch of creamy texture and oak spice.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Domaine de la Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Review Date: 12-28-2018
This delightful Cotes du Rousillon Blanc is a great combination of texture, fruit and herbal notes. With a bright, citrus-dominated nose, and a mixture of honeydew, quince and lemongrass on the palate, the wine combines a crisp, fresh acidity with an excellent creamy texture that makes for a fascinating whole.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 90 RP 90

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 12-28-2018
While Washington state undeniably has a great name for Cabernet and Bordeaux blends, this is perhaps one of the very best examples I've tasted in the last couple of years. With rich aromas of blackberry, currant, red cherry and plum, the wine transitions to a medium bodied palate with a touch of graphite and menthol to round out the silky black fruit. The tannin and acidity are seamlessly integrated already and the wine is ready to enjoy now. I'd highly recommend this Cabernet as a great alternative to Sonoma or Napa.

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
Medium bodied, with open and full blueberry and cassis aromas, this wine transitions seamlessly into a palate that combines elegance, texture, and just the right amount of bright, exuberant fruit. On the close the finish lingers with soft blackberry, licorice, and baking spices. Very well made, and drinking far above it's humble Cotes du Rhone designation, this wine is a must for bargain hunters and those looking to stock up for dinners and parties.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Domaine la Garrigue "Cuvée Romaine" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-12-2018
One of the best Cotes-du-Rhones I've tried this fall! What a lovely surprise. This wine is far more weighty than its modest price point suggests. Supple and rich on the palate, it has intensely layered aromatics of cedar, blueberry, bramble, clove and light black pepper spice. The palate is silky, but with enough structure to bolster the exuberant fruit, and make it a great match for grilled meats. I'd highly recommend trying a bottle of this, as it could easily become a new house red!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-02-2018
I've always thought the Clos Henri wines were well-made and quite polished, but upon tasting their more recent releases I was really stunned with how elegant the wines have become. The aromatics in this "petit clos" Pinot are stunning, and the fruit/acidity/tannin balance on the palate is flawless. I'd definitely recommend this Pinot to anyone looking for a seamlessly elegant wine under $20.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2016 Casa Castillo Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 11-02-2018
This is truly one of my favorite little wines from out Spanish portfolio. Full bodied, dark and rich, as is only right in a Monastrell from Jumilla, the wine still is very well balanced, with rounded tannin, fresh acidity and good poise. A great crossover wine for the California palate, but also just a very good example of the best of Jumilla.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 10-26-2018
What a beautiful wine! Before you dismiss the 2017 vintage, you must try some of the excellent wines made from Grand Cru sites such as Julien Schaal's Sommerberg "Granite". The aromatics are youthful and exuberant, with white peach, nectarine, and passionfruit, on the palate the wine is clean and crisp, but with a beautiful added weight on the mid palate that speaks of its Grand Cru origin. The finish is persistent with lingering fruit. This has all the bones to develop well if you have the ability to lay it down, but it drinks beautifully now as well.

2015 Mt. Brave Mt. Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-26-2018
I knew this wine was selling well, but I finally got a chance to taste it for myself, and now I'm just surprised that we aren't sold out. What a beautiful Cabernet! This strikes a great balance between power and delicacy. It's full and rich with plenty of depth, but without being overly sweet or syrupy. Rather, the fruit is cool and balanced, with excellent structure, subtle eucalyptus and savory olive notes. The finish is quite long, and the wine is built to age. I'd love to try this again in about 10 years, as I'm sure the development will be stunning.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Much as I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine, the 2016 is even better! A little more classically structured, with more restrained red fruit on the palate, this wine is a gorgeous example of the quality that Chateau d'Arce maintains, despite the inexpensive pricing. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great Bordeaux in the $20 range.

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It’s traditional in this area to use some Slavonian oak casks for aging, and that’s what they did here. That oak adds a pungent sweet spice but doesn’t overwhelm the wine, which is so vibrant and charming on its own that the end result is stunning. The nose is loaded with black cherry, plum and baking spice. On the palate a sweet berry fruit emerges, contrasted beautifully with light tannin and soft velvety texture. The finish is dry and laden with perfumed clove and nutmeg notes. I would highly recommend pairing this with roasted beef or lamb. It could also be paired with red sauce dishes, which are somewhat difficult due to the natural acidity of tomato.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 10-08-2018
An absolutely beautiful wine. For those of you who have never had a white priorat, now is the time. This lovely wine is perfumed with white flower, peach and nectarine. On the palate it is bone dry, but has a fuller, softer body and layers of stone fruit and mineral components. I'd highly recommend this wine to anyone looking for an exciting new white to add to their repertoire.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2009 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It's difficult to be original in a review on such an excellent wine from such an excellent vintage, but I did want to say that this wine is all that you'd expect and more. Tasted recently, the wine is just beginning to evolve some lovely savory components. The fruit is still luscious and the tannin silky. Although it certainly has more in store for its life, it was drinking beautifully after being open for several hours. The finish is endless.

2016 Aurore Dezat "Les Chasseignes" Sancerre
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is an excellent new discovery in the Sancerre category. Anyone with an affinity for Sancerre or Loire valley wines generally should absolutely try a bottle. It's focused, taught and mineral, this is quintessential Sancerre, yet the edges are rounded out nicely on the palate and the texture of the body is a bit broader than expected, lingering on with a nice savory quality on the finish. It is everything Sancerre should be, and a little bit more.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2016 El Lugar "Hilliard Bruce Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Another great bottling from El Lugar! This lovely Pinot has very pretty red berry fruit in the nose that continues on into the palate. It's medium bodied with well integrated tannin, and a good marriage of fruit and acidity levels. The sweeter baking spice notes are what set this Pinot apart, but it also has some lovely savory undertones.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2015 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-03-2018
The aromas of this wine are gorgeous, with deep blue fruit layered in subtle earth and spice notes. On the palate the wine is silky with a fuller body, classic structure and just enough of a savory character showing through the primary fruit to give a hint to it's full potential. I'd say that this wine is one to lay down for a couple years, but will definitely reward a patient collector.

2015 Zorzal "Eggo - Tinto de Tiza" Mendoza
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Always one of my favorite wines on the shelf in our South America section! Every year the wine is slightly different, but this vintage is a sheer delight! Not only does it exhibit many of the charming characteristics that draw so many people to Malbec, but it avoids the overly ripe fruit and finds pefect balance in the blend with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. A lovely savory element combines with classic acidity and nicely integrated tannin. But the element that captures my attention every time is the texture.Aged in egg-shaped concrete, the wine develops a great mid palate with plenty of smooth texture that is ready for food pairing.

2013 Robert Goyette Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-21-2018
You may know that at K&L we have a bit of a bias towards Bordeaux when it comes to Cabernet, but when Clyde and I tasted this wine together, I saw the expression on his face. It was unmistakable. When someone like Clyde, who has tasted Bordeaux professionally for decades, is this excited about a Cabernet, you know you’ve struck gold.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Ann Albert Wines "Zotovich Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by Eric, the winemaker at Talley Vineyards. It's his private label, and reflects both his vast experience making Chardonnay in the area as well as his own stylistic preferences. I love this wine because its a bit more mineral driven and crisp, while still retaining excellent balance and poise. It represents more of the coastal influence in the region. The Zotovich bottling in particular has stunning aromatics.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-07-2018
When I tasted this wine in a lineup of other Rhones, I was immediately impressed by how this stood out in the group. Famille Perrin is one of the top producers for a reason! The wine is fairly firm and structured right now, but it has all the elements you should look for to age into an absolutely phenomenal bottle. Grenache is the dominate grape in the blend, and the wine has plenty of that lovely red plum and black cherry character, but it also has a savory quality underlying it from the Cinsault and Mourvedre, as well as the classic pepper spice of Syrah. If you do drink this now, make sure to decant it for a few hours, but I'd advise you to hide it in your cellar for a decade. I can't wait to taste it down the line.

2016 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands"
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Faiveley's Mercurey bottlings have always done well at K&L because of the value for price quality. This vintage of "Clos des Myglands" is no exception! I am beginning to appreciate the high quality of the 2016 vintage. Despite the lower yeilds this year, the fruit quality is of the highest, and Domaine Faiveley know how to showcase the fruit beautifully. This wine has elegant wild strawberry, cherry and clove aromas up front and follows through on the palate with soft, fine grained tannin and fresh acidity to keep things lively. I've no doubt this wine is set to age for the long haul, but it's pretty tempting to drink it right now, it is showing so well!

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-06-2018
You may know by my reviews that I love white Burgundy, and tend to look only there for my favorite Chardonnay. However, when I tasted this lovely little wine from the Yarra Valley, I was thoroughly impressed. This is well-balanced, Burgundian style Chardonnay, with lovely nutty notes that remind me of Meursault. It also has a unique flinty quality that is often only found in the Puligny area. Needless to say, this is one of my new favorite finds in the white wine world.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2016 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-06-2018
At K&L we are always looking for new wines to import, particularly from smaller wineries with no presence in the US. This is one such wine from Coralie Onde, which I had the pleasure to taste recently. Its a very elegant expression from Vacqueyras, with elegant red berry aromatics, medium body, fresh acidity and fine grained tannin and a long, elegant finish. I was impressed how well this stood up in a lineup of other Rhones twice the price. This would have to be one of my top five picks in the store currently.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
Review Date: 06-02-2018
Another great vintage from Tongue In Groove's Cabal Vineyard bottling of Pinot Noir. This is a brooding and savory Pinot with luscious dark fruit and earthy clay notes. Already developing beautifully, this wine has fine boned but firm tannin, good acidity cut, and an excellent medium weight on the palate. It shows an intriguing savory olive quality that marries seamlessly with the black plum and cherry notes. Well-integrated and showing perfectly at the moment!

2017 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Folks, it's summer time, and hence it's Txakoli time. One of the very best hot weather wines in my opinion, Txakolina is very lightly sparkling, briny, salty and low in acidity. It's grown right on the Basque coastline, and is built for seafood. Ameztoi is one of the top producers, and they never disappoint. Don't hesitate to try their fabulous rose as well!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Yering Station Estate Chardonnay Yarra Valley ($24.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($19.99)

2016 Ata Rangi Pinot Noir Martinborough ($54.99)

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago ($29.99)

2015 Leeuwin Estate "Prelude" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($19.99)

2018 Le Vigne di Eli Etna Bianco ($24.99)

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli ($15.99)

2016 Musso "Pora" Barbaresco ($44.99)

2015 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero ($20.99)

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Chassagne Montrachet 1er Cru "Chenevottes" ($59.99)

2016 Domaine Hubert Lamy Bourgogne Blanc "Les Chataigners" ($34.99)

2016 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc ($19.99)

2018 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc ($9.99)

2016 Xavier Vignon "Cuvée Anonyme" Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($49.99)

2017 Domaine Marcel Lapierre Morgon ($34.99)

2017 Guy Farge "Terroir de Granit" Saint-Joseph Rouge ($29.99)

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica) ($13.99)

2016 Clos Renon, Bordeaux Supérieur ($9.99)

2016 DeLille "Chaleur Blanc" Columbia Valley White Bordeaux Blend ($29.95)

2015 Matias Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay ($14.99)

2018 Pine Ridge Napa Valley Chenin Blanc-Viognier ($11.95)

2016 Turnbull Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($44.95)

2016 Aequorea "Seafarer" San Luis Obispo County Pinot Noir ($32.95)

2015 Samsara Santa Rita Hills Pinot Noir ($29.95)

2016 Taken Wine Co. "Complicated" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($14.95)

2017 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($14.95)

2014 Greywacke Chardonnay Marlborough ($29.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($19.99)

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($24.99)

2016 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige ($39.99)

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige ($23.99)

2018 Edetaria "Via Terra" Garnacha Blanca Terra Alta ($13.99)

2017 Flor de Vetus Verdejo ($9.99)

2015 Massolino Barolo ($39.99)

2016 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino ($23.99)

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana ($16.99)

2017 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet ($54.99)

2017 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Fourchaume" ($32.99)

2017 Château de la Charrière Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches" ($34.99)

2017 Château de la Charrière Santenay "Les Charmes Dessus" Rouge ($23.99)

2017 Domaine Jean-Michel Dupre "Cote du Py" Morgon ($17.99)

2015 Rhys Anderson Valley Chardonnay ($49.95)

2018 Rombauer Carneros Chardonnay ($36.99)

2018 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay ($29.95)

2016 Pine Ridge Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($49.95)

2016 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($49.95)

2015 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir ($27.95)

2017 Four Graces Willamette Valley Pinot Noir ($19.95)

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($19.99)

2017 Giesen Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($9.99)

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($39.99)

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia ($19.99)

2017 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria ($54.99)

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio ($13.99)

2015 Ca' del Baio "Asili" Barbaresco ($38.99)

2017 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana ($37.95)

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino ($16.99)

2017 Domaine William Fèvre Chablis 1er Cru "Montmains" ($49.99)

2017 Etienne Sauzet Bourgogne Blanc ($34.99)

2016 Charles Baur Riesling Grand Cru "Eichberg" Alsace ($24.99)

2017 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay ($24.99)

2018 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc ($17.99)

2017 Château Vitallis Macon-Fuissé ($16.99)

2017 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire ($8.99)

2016 Domaine La Barroche "Signature" Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($54.99)

2012 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion ($26.99)

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2015 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon ($13.99)

2015 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur ($11.99)

2015 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux ($9.99)

2016 Beringer "Private Reserve" Napa Valley Chardonnay ($32.99)

2014 Jonata "Todos" Ballard Canyon Santa Ynez Valley Red Blend ($39.95)

2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($39.99)

2017 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($44.95)

2015 Substance (K Vintners) "Jack's Vineyard" Walla Walla Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($29.95)

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir ($29.95)

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel ($19.95)

2017 Alain Corcia Mâcon-Villages ($13.99)

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland ($14.99)

2017 Fromm Pinot Noir Marlborough ($17.99)

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir ($19.99)

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco ($49.99)

2016 Guido Rivella Langhe Nebbiolo ($34.99)

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi ($11.99)

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2017 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes ($24.99)

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc ($15.99)

2015 Gloria, St-Julien ($49.99)

2013 Roger Sabon ''Prestige'' Châteaneuf-du-Pape ($39.99)

2015 E. Guigal Saint-Joseph Rouge ($27.99)

2016 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion ($16.99)

2016 Baron de Malleret, Haut-Médoc ($13.99)

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge ($9.99)

2017 Far Niente Napa Valley Chardonnay ($59.95)

2016 Flowers Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($44.95)

2014 Ramey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($52.99)

2016 Titus Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($49.95)

2016 Grand Napa "Master Red" Napa Valley Red Blend ($29.95)

2016 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($22.95)

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend ($14.95)

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir ($17.99)

2016 Leese-Fitch California Cabernet Sauvignon ($9.99)

2017 Mount Edward Riesling Lowburn Central Otago ($12.99)

2018 Radley & Finch Pinotage, South Africa ($9.99)

2016 Edi Keber Collio Bianco ($29.99)

2017 Verdeal "Ayre" Verdejo Rueda ($9.99)

2014 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja ($44.99)

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy" ($26.99)

2017 Julien Schaal "Schoenenbourg Gypse" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace ($19.99)

2015 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion ($44.99)

2016 Grand Pontet, St-Emilion ($37.99)

2016 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge ($13.99)

2015 Labadie, Médoc ($16.99)

2017 Cicada by Chante Cigale Vin de France ($7.99)

2016 DuMol "Wester Reach" Russian River Valley Chardonnay ($54.95)

2016 Hilliard Bruce "Venus" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay ($24.95)

2018 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($16.99)

2016 Mount Eden Edna Valley Chardonnay ($19.99)

2016 Stag's Leap Wine Cellars "Artemis" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($49.99)

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($29.95)

2016 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($24.99)

2017 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon ($14.95)

2016 The Crusher California Pinot Noir ($9.99)

2016 Domaine Paul Jaboulet Aîné "Domaine de Thalabert" Crozes-Hermitage ($39.99)

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2013 Rivetto Langhe Nebbiolo ($19.99)

2018 Mount Edward Gamay Central Otago ($17.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2017 Domaine des Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($34.99)

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre ($23.99)

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero ($34.99)

2015 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi ($17.99)

2016 Deovlet Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($21.99)

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay ($14.99)

2006 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan ($26.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($16.99)

2015 Guiraud "Le G" Blanc Bordeaux ($16.99)

2014 Tercero "Camp 4 Vineyard" Santa Ynez Valley Marsanne ($24.99)

2015 Helen's Hill "Hill Top" Syrah Yarra Valley Victoria ($19.99)

2016 Eric Kent "Appellation Series" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2012 du Glana, St-Julien ($32.99)