Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 next
2014 Paolo Caciorgna "N'Anticchia" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 06-23-2019
One of the best wines I’ve ever tasted from Mount Etna. The nose is sublime, redolent of a compote of wild cherry and wild raspberries. Just heavenly, yet this is no fruit bomb— this is Etna, and the smoky minerality of the wine comes through on the nose. Etna Rosso on the palate always shows earth, leather, and Middle Eastern spice. Texturally, it seems more like Barolo, with a veil of tannin cupping the middle fruit. This is a sensational wine—you must try it.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 90

2014 Valle dell'Acate Cerasuolo di Vittoria
Review Date: 06-23-2019
I have always liked the wines from Vittoria. The southeastern corner of Sicily offers wine with more open fruit, deeper body, and a richer palate presence. But one wine in particular has always caught my attention: the Cerasuolo di Vittoria. OK, it’s a mouthful for many folks, but let’s try it: Chair-uh-swolo. See, not that hard. The DOCG requires the blending of two grapes, Nero d’Avola and Frappato. The Nero d’Avola can get fairly full-bodied sometimes, but its weight and density is offset by the vibrant freshness of the Frappato. Frappato is the same grape that in Tuscany they call Ciliegiolo, which takes its name from the Italian word for cherry. And for me, that fruit character is what gives the balance and center to this wine. The 2014 Valle dell’Acate Cerasuolo di Vittoria is a superb wine. The subtle richness on the palate coupled with the aromatic lift make it a sensational wine to drink.

2017 Raul Perez "Ultreia St-Jacques" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-28-2019
My previous experiences with Mencia Bierzo had always been filled with over-ripe and sweetish wines...I really was not looking forward to tasting this, but WOW was I surprised. The nose of this wine is filled with complex fruit, earth and spices not enough to list separately but as one they are wonderful. This wine shows incredible depth, spine and layers of character. You're getting I think this wine is really good? Well developed palate presence, long, long finish…this is a superb wine for the price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 93

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose if full of heather and honey and if I didn't know better I'd think it was a Highland Malt. On the palate you get a very high toned, central focus that makes this spirit seem very elegant. It has a long finish, fresh and uplifting.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera Rosso Veronese
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine is spicy, full of complex aromatics green olive, coffee, chocolate, red berries and hints of leather, tobacco and porcini abound. On the palate you can feel a distinct weight yet it is so lively it seems to lift the back end of the palate with excellent acidity and balance. A long finish really displays the flavors again and again. The wine is a blend of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon along with Rondinella, Corvina and Molinara, the Valpolicella grapes have been dried for 8 weeks to concentrate the flavors and then the two are blended together after a year in barrel. This is a truly impressive wine and even more so for the price!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine shows lots of focused fruit, vibrant, dark and spicy. On the palate it is full of clean, crunchy fruit, cranberry texture with raspberry flavors, some tannin but mostly you feel the limestone origins, that central, focused acid. A very complex wine for the price and while drinkable now I’d put some away to watch its’ evolution. Excellent value from one of Oregon’s best vineyards.

2015 Casa Castillo "Las Gravas" Jumilla
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine displays a sense of depth and breadth with swirls of chocolaty ripeness. On the palate I was surprised, I was expecting something that was out of balance but au contraire the wine has good acidity balancing out the broad base. The same flavors resonate through the wine but are less chocolaty and full of roasted meats and garrigue. A broad, full finish with balance and a bit of freshness. A perfect cocktail red for those that are looking for easy drinking but fresh.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 93

2016 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I have to say I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine for its’ sweet fruit purity, it was ripe yet focused, and all around a fantastic wine. Yet the 2016 vintage for me is insanely good, fruit concentration yet so much focus, drive and palate lift, no jiggle just supple, smooth power. If you’ve never experienced this wine it isn’t a classic Napa fruit bomb (no offense Napa) it shows more wild herb, Tuscan brush, earth, spice, leather ….and then gobs of fruit, but linear fruit, such intense focus and length…this wine is intense and stunningly good. Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast a short drive south of Bolgheri and compared to prices in that neighborhood it’s a giveaway.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Cantina Andrian Trentino-Alto Adige Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I love this wine’s nose, it is a complex blend of apple blossoms and nutmeg, some stone fruits and wisps of crushed stone. On the palate shows richness but not without a superb central acidity. Slowly the flavors grow more complex cooked apple and nutmeg are the predominant flavors. The finish really seems to show size and depth with a truly persistent character. Generally, and it might seem strange coming from the Italian Buyer, I’m rarely impressed by Pinot Grigio and rarely ever buy one personally, but this wine is an eye opener, you should let it open your eyes as well!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 05-01-2019
I love the nose of this wine is fascinating, it’s full of white flowers, and a creamy vanilla custard like aromatic spiced with bits of Bartlett pear, it initially seems somewhat like stone fruits but it’s beyond that there’s almost a texture in the nose. The Catullo vineyard’s 55year old vines give this wine a bold, richly textured body that plays out across your palate yet a strong mineral presence gives the wine real verve and direction. The flavors combine to give a creamy texture and although there is a leesy, vanilla custardy character the wine is fermented and aged in stainless steel, so it is all coming from the old vines. Harvested in early October the wine has complete physiological ripeness and even though this wine is really rich the vibrant acidity and minerality give it super clean finish. Surprisingly long lived as well, the acidity and minerality give this wine exceptional balance.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco
Review Date: 04-16-2019
Full disclosure up front, Rabaja’ is my favorite vineyard in Barbaresco, I’m pre-disposed to its character, that soaring fruit, the power but elegant balance and long finish. This wine is a classic, it’s old school made from 50 year old vines aged for 20 months in large, old Slavonian oak casks. The nose is brooding, yet is full of vibrant aromatics, the classic rose petal, orange peel but in a more savory setting. On the palate you see this wine is dynamic, powerful and full-bodied and has tannins, but the are fine grained not harsh. The finish is a misnomer because it doesn’t seem to finish just and endless replay of the earth, spice, fruit, herbs and leather, one for the cellar but a sensational wine.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2014 Château Haute-Serre Cahors
Review Date: 04-02-2019
The nose of this was different from most Cahors I’ve smelled, it was less the wild, cantankerously bold and earthy and showed much more refinement, it was still full of earth, spice and a touch of fruit yet in a more civilized manner. On the palate the wine seemed more Bordeaux like, with excellent balance, focus and a good balance of earth and fruit with a supple, rounded feel to the restrained and fine-grained tannins. The finish was long, balanced and framed by the tannins, lively and showed an easy 5-6 year more life expectancy. All in all a very solid wine, I’d recommend it for those who haven’t tried Cahors in a while, this is an excellent example and a wonderful meal accompaniment.

2015 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 03-19-2019
You’ve probably heard that the 2015 vintage in Barolo is special and with the Vietti “Castiglione” it goes even a little further. The heralded ripeness of the vintage does not play out in a “fruit bomb” concept the wine carries its added weight as muscle and structure, but it has no fat, its focused. The nose shows more herb and rose petal and bitter orange blossom initially and then drops into earth, leather hints of truffle and smoke. On the palate the wine shows considerable lift and elegance for such a powerful wine it has textural richness but more as an underpinning than the principal feeling. The flavors are much like the nose with a more savory character and less floral at the moment. The finish is balanced, long, and shows depth, tannins are there but are supple and not harsh. Truly an excellent representation of the vintage from one of the regions best producers.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 94

2015 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-19-2019
The 2015 vintage shows some ripeness on the nose but is still definitive Monsanto. The nose has the classic earth, leather, spice nose with layers of wild brush, hints of smoke and wild cherry that the Castello di Monsanto historically shows. On the palate the Sangiovese’s length shows immediately and adds lots of structure and balance to this richer vintage. I love Monsanto they’re always a power and precision wine and this vintage is that, the flavors are a mix of earth, spice, this wine is always more savory than fruity but, in this vintage, the wild cherry shows a little more and texturally there is an extra cushion adding to the depth. The finish shows the intertwining of tannin and acids over a long and balanced structure, you can drink this wine now, I’d decant 2-3 hours first but Monsanto’s real power rests in its ability to age. This wine will last 20+ years without any problems and at 10 years from the vintage you’ll be able to get an evolved and mature wine that will lose most of its youthful sassiness. I’m putting this into my cellar you should too.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2013 Les Bêtes Curieuses (Jérémie Huchet & Jérémie Mourat) • Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Monnières-Saint-Fiacre
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose of this wine is so pure, filled with fresh, Bartlett pears that just flow from your glass. On the palate the wine has a razor edged acidity, which is good because it has a weight to it but the combination is scintillating. The finish just begs for food but even as a cocktail wine I would love to drink this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Château de L'Ou Côtes du Roussillon Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose is seductive, simple yet so real, swirling aromatics of fresh fruit, but fresh fruit not candied or cooked. On the palate this wine is just amazingly rejuvenating, so easy, so balanced, so full of flavor it's a pleasure to drink. The finish is balanced, shows lots of bright red fruit....I just noticed this wine is $11.99, OMG, this is way too good for this price point, such a pleasurable experience to drink.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Florent Cosme "Utopie" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose of this wine is exotic, perfumed, wild and full of intrigue. On the palate the wine shows breadth, there is a bit of residual sugar but I don't find it sweet it just gives a broader texture to the feel. The flavors are multiple types of spiced apples, full of baking spices, caramelized and extraordinarily aromatic. There is a long finish and I mean long, it does show a bit of residual sugar but paired with the right cheese or dish, this wine is dynamite!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 93 WS 92

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is full of dense, ripe, chocolaty currant aromatics that burst out of your glass. On the palate the textural presence is dominant there's just a wave of ripe, dark fruit that fills your mouth with its boldness. The finish is more of the same, bold, dramatic, ripe fruit that shows its supple, smooth richness.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Tensley "Colson Canyon Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is subtle, it isn't a fruit bomb Syrah but a wine that shows more place than wine-making. On the palate the flavors are more savory, wild herbs, mesquite and a grilled meat character but with hints of a plumy character in the back. Hints of black pepper and the savory herbs and wild brush character highlight the finish. Compared to many California Syrah that are bursting out of your glass this wine shows more restraint and more breeding.

2012 Glenelly "Estate Reserve" Bordeaux Blend Stellenbosch
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is full of barrel spice backed up by earth, tobacco and gravel. On the palate the wine shows a supple weight, very smooth but with a linear axis that gives the wine some length and freshness. The finish is more of the earth and spice but the overall character comes across as smooth and supple
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Tenuta Sette Ponti "Oreno" Toscana
Review Date: 03-05-2019
The nose is this wine is profound, I've had it several times now over the course of years but it has gone from an effusively if not ebullient fruity wine in its primary years to a more focused, savory and complex wine. The nose has layers of earth, spice and density and while it has lots of fruit underneath it doesn't smell new worldish. On the palate the wine has density, ultra fine tannins that show an exquisite balance between suppleness and muscle. The upfront Merlot gives texture to balance out the Cabernet Sauvignon's structure and the Petit Verdot with a bit of muscle and color. Long, long powerful finish a wine of tremendous aging potential, truly outstanding.

2017 Routestock "Route 121" Carneros Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
The nose is full of complex apple aromatics with hints of barrel spice. On the palate the wine has good weight but still comes in at 13.9 abv. The apple flavors become a little more baked apple and add to the complexity. There is lots of textural richness to this wine but it has a sprightly acidity that seems to lift the richness into a brighter finish than I first expected. A solid wine at the price point
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose if full of wet stone, earth and stem with hints of spicy fruit coming in behind. On the palate the wine shows a medium structure and is a bit tart, but eventually opens and shows some weight. A long coiled finish shows lots of savory flavors.

2014 Site Wines "Larner Vineyard" Red Blend Ballard Canyon Santa Barbara
Review Date: 02-19-2019
In the glass this wine is dark, brooding and made me think it was going to be monolithic, that's why color is so misleading this wine is super fresh and balanced! In the nose aromas are fresh, lots of dark fruit without being over-ripe. On the palate a freshness of fruit dominates, focus intrigue and spice add to the dark fruit. The finish shows lots of lift at the back end that gather the wine together and make it a really intriguing blend. Very solid wine.

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose is very expressive, it says Pinot Noir in a more savory, earthy way that's more complex than a tutti frutti version. On the palate the wine shows good weight and structure coupled with a more Old World fruit, not over-ripe or under-ripe and flavors more akin to stem contact. Very good balance with some real lift in the finish an excellent bottle of wine for the price point.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose of this wine is filled with a delicate stone fruit with hints of sweet vanilla that gracefully frame the wine. On the palate it shows mid weight but has a supple textural richness accented by a nice acidic balance. The finish is standard but perhaps very good for $15 California Chardonnay, all in all an excellent value that shows character beyond a dose of toasty oak.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2016 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-12-2019
The nose of this wine is complex, layered and shows a slightly more savory character rather than a bowl full of ripe berries. While this is not ebulliently fruity it doesn't show the green olive/tomato leaf under ripe character, this is fully ripe and you can see that on its palate presence. The wine has a weight and density to it but it shows great length and lift, characteristics I usually don't find in California Cabernet in this price range. The finish is long, balanced and shows a bit of an umami earthiness, a great deal at the price range.

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-12-2019
The nose is full of nutmeg and alspice with delicate hints of vanilla. On the palate I was truly surprised by the weight and dimension of this wine at the price point, very well made with a great balance not too much sweet fruit or oak presence. The supple texture and good acidic balance give the wine weight but makes it light on the palate a pleasure to drink.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 JS 91

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Review Date: 12-10-2018
The nose of this wine was captivating from the get go, I had expected a innocuous flow of overripe fruit but this wine has an incredible nose full of vibrant, focused fruit character, you can smell the Sangiovese’s cherry like brilliance, the warm cassis of the Merlot and Petit Verdot and the spice from the Syrah. On the palate I was once again a surprised, excellent balance with a lifting acidity that freshens and focuses the fruit array. The flavors are bold yet restrained and the wine has a supple feel across your tongue. The finish is long and persistent, it really holds the flavors for a long time, an excellent wine at a steal of a price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 92

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-27-2018
This is classic Champagne, the nose is tight, clean focused with an apply tartness softened with a bit of brioche while remaining super clean it's a delight. On the palate the wine is very dry, really tart and shows levels of complexity you generally don’t find in Champagne in this price range. It’s really long, focused and that acidity holds your interest as the complex apple and brioche emerges and gently softens. The finish is remarkably long, direct and boldly lets you know there is no hint of sweetness while spotlighting the complex apple character. Line up your Oysters, this is the wine for them!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is seductive, enticing it isn’t one of those candied fruit Pinots this is a wine of distinction, breeding and obviously comes from great vineyards. The fruit character is spicy, shows a bit of earth, stem, leather but enough sweet fruit behind it that you wouldn’t call it earthy. It effortlessly balances on your tongue, just a bit of tannin frames it on the palate and allows the smoky fruit opens up to another level. Lots of lift and brightness in the finish and excellent wine at this unbelievable price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-02-2018
I first tasted this wine last April at Vinitaly and was sold immediately just by the nose. It is full of crunchy cranberry, savory, smoky, black pepper, fresh herbs, layer after layer it just seems to go on and on. Yet this is a 12.5% abv wine, there’s no big, muscular density it just seems to float while still being vibrantly flavorful. On your palate the wine is supple, yet has a bit of tannin just to frame the flavors but oh is this wine gorgeous, just flavor after flavor of savory, spicy while still being elegant. Great lift in the finish the wine is fresh and easy, ready to be drunk now but you should drink it cellar temperature with a plate of speck or prosciutto!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Substance "Sunset Vineyard" Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine was a complex blend of savory herbs coupled with fig, it’s not grassy at all and I find it quite intriguing and truthfully caught me a bit by surprise I was expecting something simpler. On the palate the wine has weight, depth and sorry, substance, showing a truly powerful presence, the flavor is once again more savory than fruity but a touch of Bergamot peel gives the wine even more intrigue. The finish is very lively; the wine has excellent acidity and great lift on the finish. The wine seems to show more terroir, more vineyard site than winemaking and I find it a remarkable wine, it really surprised me with its quality, complexity and balance for its weight.

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-09-2018
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2013 Banfi "Poggio alle Mura" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The nose is full of pure, elegant wild cherry backed up by a flow of umami like flavors dominated by salted plums. On the palate the wine is warmer, suppler, with rounded edges but also a core of Sangiovese purity that holds the center together and bonds the flavor. The finish shows a bit of tannin, a sign of the vintage and an intriguing, savory finish, excellent wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this wine is full of strawberry compote, laced with a bit of spice and leather. On that palate this wine has a lushness that just flows across your palate but it is sparked by a balanced acidity and hints of tannin, it’s supple but with a backbone. The flavors carry on the strawberry flavors but the wine begins to show more savory character, hints of leather, and the tannins focus and lift. The wine has an eminent drinkability that immediately makes you want to just sit down drink the entire bottle by yourself, but you should resist and share, it will make your friends happy and think you’re a Sommelier!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Capanna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose is dark and brooding, showing more mahogany than fruit, and bits of earth and spice. On the palate the wine explodes, full, rich, a comples blend of wild cherry, earth, leather and hints of soy. The finish is incredible, powerfully structured but so well balanced it’s extraordindary. Capanna sits on one of the best portions of the Montosoli hill, Montalcino’s most famous vineyard site, and produces wines of power, displaying powerful structure, incredible depth of fruit yet superb balance. Consistently one of Montalcino’s best wines.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The nose is full of earth, smoke and intrigue backed by hints of menthol and touches of wood. On the palate the wine shows lots of structure, more earth, spice and a bit of grit while the fruit slowly develops. This is a complex, dry and earthy wine that is more savory than fruit driven, I like it’s grit and intrigue but this isn’t a cocktail Pinot this is made for food, for some reason or another I’m thinking venison stew, but any sort of a gamey stew would work. Good finish, nice balance.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The nose is full of ripe, melony fruit with more behind it than simple fruit, it has complexity there’s depth to the aromatics. On the palate the wine is broad, supple and for fans of rich California Chardonnay you’ll be thrilled, but for folks like me who want more balance and freshness the wine has that as well, it’s really well done and there’s no obvious remaining oak signature. The Viognier, Roussane and Grenache Blanc is not your everyday blend and for me and I had trouble at first categorizing the wine so that I could professionally think about it. The key to this wine is not to think about it, it will come to you after a while and it is just a real pleasure to drink. Easy enough to cocktail or if you have a fish dish that has a spicy vegetable medley to go with it this is your wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2015 Martin Ray Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-10-2018
Nose is full of a melange of cocoa powder, cassis and very ripe plums highlighted with some barrel spice. This wine reminds me stylistically of Caymus, it has that weight, ripeness and sweetness of fruit that is their hallmark, the Martin Ray perhaps doesn't have quite the weight but it's $40 cheaper! On the palate the richly textured fruit rolls across your tongue leaving a wake of chocolaty cassis. The finish is clean but highlights the toasty sweetness. Have with a plate of BBQ'ed ribs!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Review Date: 06-19-2018
The nose of this wine is bold and gives you a sense of ripeness but at the same time it’s not over the top. I was a little surprised by its balance, I’m not a fan of thick, heavy lifeless Syrah but this wine has some verve and snap to it. Don’t misunderstand this is still a highly polished, supple, warm and round wine it’s just that it does have some lift and energy to it. I was surprised that the alcohol was only 13.8%, not that it seemed higher but it would be hard to get a California wine to that level these days. Excellent wine-making and good fruit, bold grilled meat would be a nice accompaniment.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Caprili Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-03-2018
The nose of this wine is full of a wild, gamey intrigue, whispers of garrigue, leather and spice flow from the glass. On the palate it’s broad, rich and supple while still retaining a taut freshness, a savory expression of Sangiovese with soy, umami and Tuscan dust. The wine finishes a bit more delicately than the richness of the palate would predict but it’s long, complex and decidedly focused. I really like this wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Mederfil Lambrusco Reggiano Rosso Dolce
Review Date: 05-01-2018
A wonderfully expressive nose of dark fruits and hints of clove; on the palate this wine isn't sweet at all but just a little broader and richer than other "dry" Lambrusco; the bubbles make it feel drier. THE perfect accompaniment to your pizza or barbecue chicken.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
I must admit that these bubbles puzzled me at first, it was obviously Champagne, I read the label, it came in a Champagne bottle but there was something different. It took me about 10 minutes to figure it out, this wine just has a more vinous complexity to it, and the 7 years on the lees really changed the dynamic of the wine. Yes there were bubbles and it seemed like a regular Champagne on your tongue but the flavors were not so simple. I really liked this wine the more I tried it, the super dryness almost flinty on your palate then slowly the layers of brioche, spice and mineral emerge. The more I tasted it the more it seemed like Chablis with bubbles, so strident, focused and lemony tartness with bits of baking spice complexity, all it needed was the right dish to pair with it. Oysters immediately came to mind but I’m thinking lobster and butter is what this bubbly needs, the richness of the lobster and the vibrant focus of the Baron Fuente 7, wow, a perfect match.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-09-2018
The nose is full of leather, earth, cedar, cinnamon and hints of red fruit, although this is a subtle wine, more classically Piemontese it isn’t ebullient fruity, it’s subtle, hidden and above all shy. On the palate you see this is Nebbiolo, and old school Nebbiolo at that, gritty, astringent, did I say shy? Yet the wine has a center that shows a bit more weight, it is balanced, has depth but is inherently reticent. Once on the palate this wine begins to expand shows a bit of that earthy, gritty, leathery character comes out with hints of smoke and mushroom. The more time this wine spends in a decanter or a glass it opens exponentially, adding little twists and turns, more grit and then wafts of violet and rose. This isn’t a Gaja Barbaresco at $20 a bottle, it’s a $20 Barbaresco but it has real intrigue and character and for me would be great with a wild mushroom risotto.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I've always been a fan of this wine since we started bringing it in way back in 2001. It's always been the top price performer for the price point, but when I tasted the latest batch I did a double take. I had to ask Gary Westby if he had poured me the right wine, and he nodded at me and said ya, you figured it out, this batch is out of this world! There isn't a Champagne around that can compete at this price point with the Carte Blanche, layers of complex brioche, wonderful aromatics...wow.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 09-05-2017
I’m tasting this wine as it is just arriving in the country and the nose wine shows some juvenile character of simple apple, this happens with wines just arriving and shortly thereafter they usually blossom, just as this wine does, it quickly shows a more savory complexity, tarragon, star jasmine and quince. On the palate you immediately see this is a wine that has amazing depth. There is a dense viscosity that is palate coating yet in the same moment this wine is so light, so elegant it doesn’t seem possible to have that concentration. Then the minerality begins to crystallize on your palate, a textural phenomenon that seems gritty like I imagine quartz dust would. Experiencing this wine on your palate is amazing the fruit begins to emerge and it is more spiced quince than apple, then highlighted by the focused minerality it begins to coat your palate in this viscous yet gripping finish. Amazing wine, best with richer fish dishes, Lobster, Sea Bass, Halibut or Monkfish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Old Potrero Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Impressive nose, decisive, spiced maple, hints of clove and a bit of ginger. On the palate you notice the difference between Rye and Bourbon, more focus, less sweetness and the flavors are more faceted, more of the spicy rye character then a bit of sea salt caramel, long and it softens the attack of the rye. The finish is very long, potent it stays on your mid palate for some time and carries that caramel character through accented by hints of spice.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Ca de Medici "Remigio" Sorbara Lambrusco
Review Date: 08-27-2017
The nose is full of strawberry in an easy, vinous way that jumps from your glass. On the palate the wine is vibrant, lots of fruit with excellent balance, for the most part you'll feel this wine as dry although there is a hint of sweetness. Perfect for salumi and cheese!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Page: prev 1 2 3 next