Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona "Pianrosso" Brunello di Montalcino 6-Pack
Review Date: 07-18-2020
The nose of this wine is warm, broad and flows from the glass with ease, it is filled with ripe plum, wild cherry hints of smoke, porcini mushrooms and is like a warm, gentle breeze. On the palate once again the plum and wild cherry rise to the front but deepen their power making them more intense and delineated. This wine carries powerful structure beneath the surface it is just sheathed in a supple richness that makes it a pleasure to drink now but it has a long life ahead.

2015 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona "Pianrosso" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-18-2020
The nose of this wine is warm, broad and flows from the glass with ease, it is filled with ripe plum, wild cherry hints of smoke, porcini mushrooms and is like a warm, gentle breeze. On the palate once again the plum and wild cherry rise to the front but deepen their power making them more intense and delineated. This wine carries powerful structure beneath the surface it is just sheathed in a supple richness that makes it a pleasure to drink now but it has a long life ahead.

2017 Farnetella "Lucilla" Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 07-17-2020
The nose of this wine is complex it is loaded with ripe plum accented with wild cherry and then followed by leather, porcini and Tuscan brush. On the palate you can sense this is a wine of weight and density, it has structure and will have an ability to age. I tasted this wine over the course of three days and it seemed to get better daily, the fruit expanding and the earthy notes becoming more background. The wine also showed real length, with a lively finish. If you're looking at the price of this wine you might be a bit fooled, yes this is rather inexpensive for the more expensive description I have written but this is the one you want to buy several cases of, it is a steal, and absolute steal at this price. Enjoy...
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-16-2020
The nose of this wine is intense: it speaks of the land, the savory complexity of Tuscan brush, the mineral soil, and wild cherries and salted plums. On the palate, the wine shows structure, balance, and length, while enticing you to take another sip—and another. It is just delicious: waves of earthy complexity, followed by wild fruit, umami intrigue, and bits of leather in the finish. The finish is long, superbly balanced, with one of the most lifting finishes I’ve had in a while. This is the best Castiglion del Bosco Brunello I have ever had. It’s sensational, and I would rather have this wine than the single vineyard expression. It is just delicious.

2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-12-2020
Whenever I am in Montalcino I make a stop at Costanti, as I use their wines as a guide to the vintage for all of Montalcino. The Consorzio even monitors one of their vineyards for the same reason—I’ll have to keep better secrets. Andrea Costanti is a purist, and I find that his wines are some of the most classically styled and flavored in Montalcino. When I tasted Andrea’s 2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino, I was blown away. I tasted the Riserva as well, and these wines are absolutely amazing. Just to be clear, they are over 15% abv—I only mention this because he just got 98 points from Wine Enthusiast, whose critic mentioned this was a problem in the vintage. Well, I guess it can’t be too much of a problem—or maybe it kept him from getting 100 points! Andrea’s wines are usually destined for the cellar upon release, but this vintage is so good you can drink it now. (Greg St. Clair, K&L Italian wine buyer)
Price: $94.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castelli Martinozzi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-08-2020
This is beautiful,the nose was full of dark Marasca cherry with hints of Tuscan brush (garrigue in French) and middle eastern spice, it has a long, linear feel to it, very supple, round and smooth, the same dark cherry character leads the way on the tongue with a sultry, savory character. The wine shows excellent balance, a long and an elegant finish that goes on and on. This is a super value wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lazzeretti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-22-2020
The nose of this wine is deeply scented with ripe plums, chocolate and accented with dried Mediterranean herbs. On the palate there is an explosion of fruit flavors that just jump off your tongue. Wave after wave of dense, dark flavors flow through the mouth in a supple, fleshy richness that shows lots of weight and density. The finish, for such a supple, smooth, rich wine is surprisingly long and balanced that seems to keep stretching out the finish after every sip. This is the best Lazzeretti Brunello I’ve ever tasted they are on Montalcino’s east side and not far from La Fortuna.

2015 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-18-2020
The nose of this wine is bold, saturated, bursting with savory wild cherry, salted plums, mushroom, leather that seem to say power incarnate but in a restrained, country gentleman manner. On the palate the density of the 2015 vintage takes over it is discreet power; it is full yet never heavy it just shows a subtle energy. The flavors show Poggiarellino’s trademark Marasca cherry that emerge from a pool of plumy depth. Hints of cola, leather, wild herbs segue across your tongue while the wines central backbone is always apparent gentle hints of tannin only emerge in the end. The finish replays lots of the Marasca cherry, with subtle earthy spice lingering on for some time. A long life ahead for this wine that will really begin to open in 2025 but is delicious now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fattoria dei Barbi "Vigna del Fiore" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-14-2020
The nose of this wine envelops you in a wave of deep, plum aromatics that are spiced with Marasca cherry and hints of sandalwood and sage. On the palate the density of this vintage is truly present, and while you could use the word "rich," for me, that conjures more of an amorphous, thick sweetness, none of which are present in this wine. This wine stands up on your palate, is focused, with great length, and has great lift in the finish. This is the best Vigna del Fiore that I have had to date, and it’s destined for a long life if you have the patience to wait! The first winery I ever visited in Montalcino was Fattoria dei Barbi, so I've always had a fond spot in my heart for them — not just for the nostalgia, but because they were one of Montalcino’s oldest wineries and carried that classic flavor and structure as their style. That was in 1982. A lot has happened since then, like better agricultural practices, and some slight changes in the winemaking, but all in all, Fattoria dei Barbi still stands for me as one of the classics in Montalcino — especially in this vintage.

2016 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 05-31-2020
The nose of this wine is truly classic, waves of rose, truffle, smoke and earth effortlessly drift from your glass. On the palate it immediately shows you why 2016 is such a standout vintage, the focus, depth of flavors, body and lift all say WOW this is really something. The flavors echo bits of the nose but show a plumy richness as the texture spreads across your mouth, then once again the classic tar and rose flavors develop with a deepening intensity. The finish shows balance, tannin, fruit, spice and an excellent lift. The tannins are present (this is Barolo) but so well balanced you can drink this wine now but it will age for another 10-15 years easily.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Rich, complex, with great central focus, a hint of biscuity aromatic, broad and supple on the palate this wine really gives you a sense of weight and concentration while still being light on its feet! At this price an outrageous steal!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 San Polino "Helichrysum" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-17-2020
I tasted this wine in February at the estate and I must say I was simply blown away; this is the best San Polino Helichrysum to date. The nose of this wine is penetrating, layers of wild cherry, forest strawberries, salted plums with hints of wild herbs. On the palate the wine shows the richness of this vintage a supple sweetness of flavor (I struggle writing that word because the wine has no hint of sweetness) that gives richness without fat, it is just another layer of density. The wine is extraordinarily well balanced is seems just effortlessly floating on your tongue. Yet that would infer some delicate wine and this wine is powerful, really powerful, it just has a depth and a long future. I personally bought six bottles I was sooo impressed by this wine, it’s sensational.

2017 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 05-14-2020
I love Verdicchio (Lugana it turns out is made from the same grape and yes, I love those as well), and I especially love the Matelica zone for Verdicchio. This lifted Appenine valley transforms the grape into something extraordinary. The long hang time, with late October harvesting, really allows this grape to reach its full phenolic potential. Often we think of ripeness as a sugar level, especially here in California. That’s just the alcohol potential; the flavor component comes from the phenolic ripeness and as a wine ages it’s that portion that begins to show the depth it can attain. Not too long ago I brought in a few bottles of my 2012 to taste side by side with this 2017 to show everyone what this wine could do. To see the expressions on their faces was priceless. They wouldn’t have believed me without tasting it. Trust me on this one and stock up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Altesino "Montosoli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-11-2020
This is the finest Montosoli Brunello I have ever tasted from Altesino, the nose is full of wild cherry, spice and a touch of Tuscan brush. On the palate the wine shows weight, richness but with a vertical acidic structure that stretches it out over your tongue. Outstanding balance, focus and a super long finish, if you've ever been a fan before this is the vintage to buy!

2016 Querciabella "Mongrana" Toscana
Review Date: 03-26-2020
The nose of this wine is floral, aromatic with an underlying sauvage layer. On the palate it shows extraordinary balance, depth and a structural elegance that a wine for this price you just don’t see. The flavors expand across your tongue showing wild cherry, plum, hints of cassis accented with wild herbs and lilacs. Supple, polished, sleek with a weight and a certain regal nature about it, this is an excellent wine and the product of the truly special 2016 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 02-11-2020
The nose of this wine is so inviting, it is filled with an aromatic that combines stone fruit, lavender with seemingly a textural component in the nose. It fills the air around you not with a floral component but a heady, musky almost humid richness. On the palate you see the wine is full immediately, all stainless steel but there’s a richness that gives creaminess to the wine that is ultra-pleasing to the palate. The acidic balance of this wine is perfect along with hints of minerality to lift it on the end of the palate. The flavors are a bit of peach, nectarine and pear subtle, but substantive highlighted with dried white flowers. The finish is long lasting and replays the wine’s richness, complex stone fruits all lifted to an excellent finish in a word irresistible.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Casino di Sala "Rosso dei Tatanni" Toscano
Review Date: 01-28-2020
The nose of this wine says power, it’s dense, full of cedar, graphite and spice. On the palate this wine shows great length, balance and a real depth of flavor, it has good tannin structure, but the tannins lay against the acidic structure lengthening those into supple, powerful, support. The center palate shows a sweet, rich center that is full of wild cherry compote laced with cedar, middle eastern spice and earth. The finish is long, driving and replaying the same flavors but all coiled together into a wine showing long-term potential. Awesome price to value ratio. 100% Sangiovese from Panzano, made by La Massa for their Neapolitan neighbors.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine was scintillating…and I don’t use that word for New World Syrah wines very often, in fact I think never. Waves of coffee, chocolate, cassis and combine with the subtlest of sweet oak (and I’m very sensitive to oak) while still showing hints of spice and earth. On the palate the wine is so well balanced, rich, polished and ultrafine tannins to give it an extraordinarily smooth presence. The wine has so many different flavors but seem to combine into one, so it is its own flavor rather than a combination and it is delicious. Long, lifting finish, richly textured so supple and easy yet a certain tensile strength to it…it is really wonderful.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Bonneveau" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-21-2020
There's so much elegance in this nose, it just says balance from the get go, it's got an overall savory character, more umami than outright fruit. On the palate once again it's balance, elegance and then what I really appreciate in Syrah based wines is lift, that buoyant character that makes the wine stand-up and standout. It's almost as if you can feel the sunlight, the purity of the flavors more flavor facets than roundness that add to the complexity. Certainly my favorite of the Ferraton's I tried, I look forward to drinking this in the coming years.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Les Picheres" Crozes-Hermitage Rouge
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine tells you it is Syrah, but it's whispered until it hits your palate, then you know it's Syrah. On the palate there's a bit of grip and grit, slightly rough and tumble. There's lots of wine lurking in the background for the patient.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu-Dit Patou" Cornas
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine gives me the sense of darkness, it's brooding bass notes, a cauldron of boiling tar accented with hints of spice. On the palate this wine shows lots of structure, and a bit of grit. The finish boils up the dense tar and repeats the spicy notes and the tannins let you know this is a wine for your cellar...but it will reward your aging.

2018 Cantina Terlano Terlaner Cuvée Alto Adige
Review Date: 12-03-2019
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.

2015 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 12-03-2019
The nose of this wine shows lots of spice and delicate fruit. On the palate I was expecting the usual Madiran grip but this wine shows real balance and expression, and while it does have tannin it is wonderfully balanced and I fine it is one of the most inviting Madiran I've tried.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silla Il Piaggione Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-03-2019
The nose of this wine is fascinating, waves of wild cherry, Tuscan herbs and leather. On the palate the wine shows an additional range with lots of soil character, iron, spice and sweet earth. While this might sound like a real traditional styled wine it actually is sort of midway between classic and more modern. Wonderful finish, long and spicy with lots of lift and a bit of grip.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Nor'Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-03-2019
.The nose of this wine shows some serious quality fruit, bright while still showing depth. On the palate this wine shows weight and a bit of stemmy grip to give the wine some structure and resonance. The finish is a bit condensed but still shows lots of character for a wine of this price-point carrying through a lot of fruit and earth

Alvear "1927" Pedro Ximenez Solera Montilla-Moriles (375ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2019
I have to admit I generally am not a fan of Pedro Ximenez the molasses like syrupy nature is just not for me, yet I was incredibly surprised by this wine, it is sensational. The nose if full of hazelnuts and honey it shows extraordinarily well balanced just from that. On the palate the wine has real weight but it’s not like a couple of 40lb. dumbbells on your tongue it’s got focus a center that is wrapped in a luscious texture, this isn’t a “lean” wine it is bold and rich. The flavors for me are what really separate this wine instead of the prune like molasses character I’ve been used to this is toasted hazelnuts, so perfectly balanced with the sweetness I can’t stop wanting to drink this wine. Give this a try, it is a really great dessert wine.

2016 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 10-01-2019
Matelica is my favorite DOC for Verdicchio, the inland Apennine valley full of marine sediments that has a true continental climate and always gives wines with verve, bright burst and...richness. The nose of 2016 Monacesca Riserva Mirum is full of spice and ripe stone fruit, layered and flowing. On the palate the richness of the vintage is obvious, but the balance of this wine is what is so evident, focused brightness encased in a supple, texture filled body. What makes this wine so unique is that it isn’t harvested until the third week of October this allows the grapes to achieve total physiological ripeness of flavor without losing balance. That leads to the deeper aromatics, that show more complete flavors, less green and more complex fruit on the palate. A very long and vibrant finish continues and on. The amazing thing is that even with the ripeness this wine has great acidity and real aging ability. Superb drinking now, I love this wine with Halibut or Sea Bass.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-23-2019
This has the classic Sesta di Sopra nose of earth, sage, and leather, with hints of complex earth, stone, and plum notes. It is a supple, aromatic, pretty wine, lively on the palate, that has weight and persistence. If you’re in Montalcino, it’d be a perfect match for your lunch or dinner, which undoubtedly would include wild boar.

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The nose of this wine is focused, layered and shows lots of complex herb, wild brush, leather and rosemary but behind that is a core of intense fruit. On the palate the wine shows structure, balance and excellent length. The hallmark of the 2016 vintage is a concentrated center and it is readily evident here adding a real depth and intensity. The flavors show a savory aspect more than a fruit forward character adding in that umami like soy, mushroom and salty tang while the fruit comes up in the back. While this wine sounds like it’s big and bold it is exceptionally well balanced and while it does have size it is so in harmony that you can drink it now or age it for another 7-10 years. This is the best La Massa that I’ve had, powerful, supple, smooth tannins, very complex this is one to stock up on. Bravo Gianpaolo!

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-23-2019
This is a fascinating wine. The nose was wildly aromatic, full of tar, spice, igneous intrigue with wild brush and some deep, brooding, unspecified, dark fruit. I know that sounds a bit mysterious, and maybe even hard to understand, but it was really fascinating--maybe just not what you might be expecting from a Cabernet. On the palate the wine was supple and perhaps a little less mysterious, it showed good weight and savory components, definitely not a fruit bomb. The finish was long, buoyant and had submerged tannins creeping in on the end. A really fascinating wine you should try.

2017 Seabold Cellars "Olson Vineyard" Monterey Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-02-2019
The nose of this wine is full of spicy barrel toast, refreshingly not overwrought while on the palate the flavors show freshly baked apple, with a judicious amount of sweet toasty flavors. There's very crisp acidity in this wine and the body is actually fairly elegant, no extra weight or fat. Very bright finish with a refreshing lift.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose if full of wet stone, earth and stem with hints of spicy fruit coming in behind. On the palate the wine shows a medium structure and is a bit tart, but eventually opens and shows some weight. A long coiled finish shows lots of savory flavors.

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (3L)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
I’ve come to the conclusion that 2015 was truly a sensational year at Felsina, each wine from this vintage I’ve had has been if not the best of its level at least as good as the previous best. The 2015 Rancia however is the best version that I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them all. This wine is still in its infancy, yet you can already tell this is something truly special. The nose is full of violets and lilacs with hints of savory herbs and mineral elements. On the palate the tannins are polished but only evident to give the wine a framework without intruding. The flavors are bold, layers of spiced plum; dried violets, porcini and Tuscan brush meld into an extraordinary flavor. Long, persistent and just a baby this wine is destined for greatness and a long, long life but it is exceptionally well balanced so you can drink it now. Bistecca Fiorentina comes to mind when I think of this wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The nose is full of ripe, melony fruit with more behind it than simple fruit, it has complexity there’s depth to the aromatics. On the palate the wine is broad, supple and for fans of rich California Chardonnay you’ll be thrilled, but for folks like me who want more balance and freshness the wine has that as well, it’s really well done and there’s no obvious remaining oak signature. The Viognier, Roussane and Grenache Blanc is not your everyday blend and for me and I had trouble at first categorizing the wine so that I could professionally think about it. The key to this wine is not to think about it, it will come to you after a while and it is just a real pleasure to drink. Easy enough to cocktail or if you have a fish dish that has a spicy vegetable medley to go with it this is your wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-10-2018
The nose of this wine shows more earthy savory character than bold fruit. On the palate the wine has superb richness, very supple and round and I find it surprising (and refreshing) that it isn't more fruity. Powerful yet balanced this 53% Cabernet Sauvignon and 45% Merlot blend really shows power. The flavors are forest floor, and show a bit of dusty tannin but this is a drinkable wine with a good future. This is your Steak/Frites wine for a Friday night, and I'd go Belgian on the Frites....that means Mayonnaise.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Livio Sassetti "Pertimali" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-03-2018
The nose of this wine is hypnotic, savory, it seems to reach out of the glass and call me, trying to bring me in rather than flowing out. On the palate the wine is rich, but so well balanced you don’t notice it’s rich if you’re not paying attention, layers of spice and wild cherry couple with a sweet earth and fresh leather. I had this wine several times this year and am super impressed every time, it will go in my cellar, drinkable now and over the next two decades.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I've always been a fan of this wine since we started bringing it in way back in 2001. It's always been the top price performer for the price point, but when I tasted the latest batch I did a double take. I had to ask Gary Westby if he had poured me the right wine, and he nodded at me and said ya, you figured it out, this batch is out of this world! There isn't a Champagne around that can compete at this price point with the Carte Blanche, layers of complex brioche, wonderful aromatics...wow.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 09-05-2017
The nose of this wine says depth, structure, not verbiage I normally include for the nose, but in this case you can really smell the power. The aromatics are an array of cocoa powder, black currant, wild cherry hints of tobacco and leather. On the palate the wine shows depth and concentration but never heavy, you can sense this is a wine made in barrique there is that slight torque one gets from small barrels yet they barrique doesn’t flavor the wine. The flavors are still, dark cocoa powder, cassis, blackberry with hints of leather and bits of heather and truffle. The finish is long, focused and tense, this is a wine that will benefit greatly from a longer aging but even in just 6 months to a year it will blossom tremendously. Complex, powerful Bordeaux styled Super Tuscan that shows the Panzano terroir.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Amara Sicilian Amaro d'Arancia Rossa (750ml)
Review Date: 08-27-2017
A confession, I love Amaro, there’s a huge trend toward Amaro, vermouth and bitters but this one is really unique. The Sicilian orange peel just dominates not only in the aromatics but it is the signature flavor throughout. I frequently find Southern Italian Amaro too sweet for my taste this one is impeccably balanced. I love it over ice with a sprig of rosemary, sometime I add a splash of soda.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Joven Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 06-15-2016
It’s not often I review Tequila but this one is I have to. This is a really unique product, the color makes you think that is an inexpensive, simple, un-aged spirit, but the nose immediately ends that train of thought. The nose is not one of those explosive, overpowering bolts of aroma that singe your nostrils the aromatics are really pure, intense and penetrating. It was enough for me to just smell this Tequila for a couple of minutes it was so fascinating while totally engaging and easily accessible. On the palate the depth of the aged flavors comes forward, wave after wave of cured Agave sweep across your tongue, no bite, no burn yet not fat just perfectly balanced. The finish….I can still taste it as I write this 10 minutes later, long, intense yet lifting. Superb spirit, not often you get to taste something like this.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $274.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 04-20-2016
You can't find a better Extra Dry Prosecco at this price point, clean, richly textured, fresh, crisp so easy to drink with a wonderfully balanced mousse! This is the perfect afternoon refresher, just as you finished gardening or if you love Aperol Spritz this will be your companion mixer! Friends coming over before dinner aperitif, everyone loves a little Prosecchino!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I love the smooth nature of this Champagne, that subtle richness of the mousse, just a creamy texture yet backed up by an excellent acidity, crisp, light and refreshing--the best of both sides. Such a deal, buy two!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Do I really have to encourage you to buy this? Wow... one of the few barrel fermented Champagnes left. So good, focus, texture, etc., etc. Damn, that's good.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I absolutely love this wine, the best thing they've done... that I can remember. The nose is full of earth, spice, leather, dried wild cherries and is a powerful statement from the nose. On the palate a classic, long, slightly leathery character is in the middle of a broad, rich and luxurious follow through. Layers of spice, plum, wild cherry, wild herbs in a long procession of flavors marching to the finish. In the finish a long, persistent and so satisfying end, Super wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 05-13-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image
Valdobbiadene is the heart of Prosecco for me, perhaps not geographically but certainly stylistically. Here the wines have more soul; they vineyards are extraordinary, splattered over a maze of steeply sloping hills, not one big mass but a conglomeration of hundreds of small growers. It is here that the Bronca Sisters (Sorelle Bronca) make their Extra Dry Prosecco DOCG, theirs is an excellent expression of soil, sun and fruit, superb balance and incredibly refreshing, the hallmarks of great Prosecco.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Luca Currado is making wines at his family estate that are incredible, the most delicate hand, not intervention but gentle guidance. He would tell you his vineyards produce the wines and they are exceptional. 2011 is a more forward, richer and more drinkable at an early age wine. It will still last for 20+ years but if you're looking for a Barolo now its primary fruit character and supple balance make it an ideal choice!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Valdicava Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-08-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The bold nose shows so much wild cherry, sweet earth, dried flowers coupled with a fuller plumier breadth. On the palate the wine has deep, saturated flavors of spiced plum, along with a pool of savory, porcini, dried meat and leather flavors. The wine is full of power, incredible depth and its richly textured palate presence is awesome. The finish is powerful, full and shows incredible length and layer after layer of spice, fruit, herbs, leather and earth. A truly spectacular wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
2005 La Gerla Brunello di Montalcino ($59.99)